We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”

Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden
Ranked #1 of 387 things to do in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Within walking distance of a couple of train stations. It is a nice "green" break from the busy city. Do not miss out on the greenhouse situated at one end of the park. Will take you around three hours to go around at a relaxed pace, but you can easily spend a whole afternoon there.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cherry blossoms"
in 396 reviews
"japanese garden"
in 226 reviews
"beautiful garden"
in 232 reviews
"green house"
in 99 reviews
"tea house"
in 92 reviews
"sakura season"
in 85 reviews
"english garden"
in 67 reviews
"full bloom"
in 100 reviews
"sakura trees"
in 37 reviews
"busy city"
in 92 reviews
"small entrance fee"
in 39 reviews
"an oasis"
in 61 reviews
"central park"
in 43 reviews
"autumn leaves"
in 33 reviews
"huge park"
in 40 reviews
"the hustle and bustle"
in 70 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 69 reviews
Filter

263 - 267 of 5,578 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

I walked to the park from Shinjuku station, but there is a closer station (I forget the name) if you're not into walking. I was in Tokyo at the beginning of the cherry blossom viewing season, so the sakura weren't yet "mankai" but there are so many lovely plants and serene spaces at the Shinjuku Gyoen that I spent quite a few hours strolling, relaxing and enjoying the weather. I highly recommend you visit if you're in the area and desire a respite from the bustle of the city.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank anthonyrogerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

I wish I had know how pretty this place was and I would have packed a lunch and spent more time. I went during Cherry Blossom season but you can see that it is beautiful all year around. Something is always blooming. Something you should not miss. Nice reprieve after visiting busy Shunjuku.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Texasstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Amazing place, beautiful to have a pic nic, green area in the middle of the city. Really clean and beautiful for pictures

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Carolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Stunning park, lovely way to spend an hour or two. There are plenty of facilities onsite (cafes and toilets).

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kaybar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden also viewed

 

Been to Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing