We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt Fuji&Hakone return by Shinkansen”
Review of Hato Bus

Hato Bus
Ranked #9 of 36 Tours in Minato
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tokyo's tour bus company. Hato bus operats many English guided tour not only in Tokyo but also such as Mt.Fuji & Hakone, World heritage Nikko, and also some seasonal tours. Hato bus is ther best way to enjoy Tokyo and tours from Tokyo.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you have the JR Pass just book the cheaper Mt Fuji&Hakone, and then take the bullet train at no extra cost on your way back. To be honest, we were pressed for time, and we would not have been able to fit so many places in one day on our own, so booking the tour was a must in our case.
However, prepare to be disappointed - we took a bus, a boat and a cable car to climb a mountain to be able to see Mt Fuji, but the climate conditions were so bad that we could barely see each other in the mist! And the timing is so tight that we only had 20 minutes up there anyway.
However, we did get a good look at Mt Fuji from a restaurant where we stopped for lunch. So although you might see the lunch stop as unnecessary, it might be the only opportunity to get a good photo of Mt Fuji.
The tour guide was informative, however, she was rude to people of colour to an extent that I, who was treated nicely, felt uncomfortable and could not wait to get off the bus.

Thank SarahOCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HATO B, Manager at Hato Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sarahpawley-san
Thank you very much for choosing Hato Bus tour for your trip to Mt Fuji.
But I am so sorry that you could not see Mt Fuji very well due to the weather condition.
Mt Fuji is very shy, so sometime the tourist may not meet her in case of she is not happy.
In that case, she is hiding in the cloud.
But in case of the weather clear, you can see beautiful Mt Fuji.
Its Japanese beauty.
This time I am so sad that you could not meet her, but for your next trip to Japan, please go to meet her by our tour again.
Regarding your comment our tour guide, I cannot check who it was, due to your tour date could not find from the comment, but I will reeducate all of our tour guide and keep all of our participants to enjoy and relax and memorable tour.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hato Bus tour and we look forward to serving you.
Thank you



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dynamic tokyo"
in 12 reviews
"bus tour"
in 13 reviews
"mt fuji"
in 14 reviews
"tea ceremony"
in 10 reviews
"nice tour"
in 5 reviews
"hot lava"
in 2 reviews
"imperial palace gardens"
in 3 reviews
"japanese wedding"
in 4 reviews
"various parts"
in 2 reviews
"tokyo tour"
in 6 reviews
"extra information"
in 2 reviews
"sensoji temple"
in 4 reviews
"sumida river cruise"
in 4 reviews
"taking the train"
in 2 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 3 reviews
"bonsai trees"
in 4 reviews
"great overview"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely relaxing, easy on the body and Joyful in the mind, an experience worthy of Japan. We had an absolutely Enterprising and Enthusiastic Guide in *Aki*. (Yaaaay)
An Osaka Lady, fluent in English and filled with Light Hearted Humour and an All caring attitude. A safe bus driver, forgot his name.
Highly recommended for anyone who has a Day to fill in Tokyo. 8 to 6pm day (approx)
Tokyo Tower. Imperial Palace Plaza/Bridge. Sumida River Cruise-through.

Meditative-Zen Tea experience in
Happo-en garden. Scrumptious fantastic Japanese Lunch. (Wife says: not the ususal tour food nonsense).
おいしい Oishī. Delicious!

Strolled Shopping extravaganza at Asakusa-Nakamise Shopping Street (tourist market) and topped with a Thankful Senso-ji Temple tour.

Wow.. so awesome. Grateful
Aki-San! Arigato
Driver-San! Arigato! Sorry forgot your name.

Thank Fuzzy_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HATO B, Manager at Hato Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Fuzzy_shah san

Thank you very much for choosing Hato bus tour during your trip to Tokyo and your review to Tripdvisor..
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our Dynamic Tokyo tour with our tour charming guide Aki. I will inform to Aki and our driver about great compliment from you.
As you mentioned in the review, yes, we believe as our bus tour is very suitable for first comer to Tokyo. Tokyo is the huge city, very complicating transportation system, so its easiest wat to use our tour to enjoy Tokyo.
Beside Tokyo tour, we operate such as Mt Fuji Tour, World heritage Nikko tour and also some seasonal tour to enjoy Japan’s beautiful four seasons.
So for your next trip to Tokyo, please enjoy Hato Bus tour again and we look forward to serving you soon.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

This was a good way for us to get an overview and see key areas of Tokyo. it's just one hour and about $20 per person. very reasonable. well managed and good explanations. good bus--- we were on top level with open roof (and sides, to minimize the cold air).

1  Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HATO B, Manager at Hato Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jenabaintheworld-san

Thank you very much for choosing Hato Bus “ ‘O Sola mio” and your review to trip advisor.
As you mentioned , our open top bus is the best way to know overview of Tokyo.
You can feel the Dynamic breeze of Tokyo from our Open Top Bus.
Beside this tour, we, Hato Bus operate also operate half day and full day tour with English speaking guide not only inside the Tokyo but also such as Mt Fuji and Nikko.
So please enjoy Tokyo with Hato bus again for your next trip.
We sincerely look forward to serving you again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Our hotel concierge recommended this “O Sola Mio” tour of Tokyo. Very reasonable price (about $18 per person) for a one-hour tour of Tokyo in an open-air bus. Quite good English-language tape over headphones. Well-run, on-time, clean, courteous staff.

Thank Boyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HATO B, Manager at Hato Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Boyed W -san

Thank you for using Hato Bus and review to tripadvisor..
Yes, our Open Top bus called “O sola Mio” is just one hour driving tour in Tokyo.
It’s short tour but I think you could enjoy dynamic Tokyo’s view and beautiful scenery of Tokyo bay Area.
Normally the open top bus is used as Hop on Hop Off bus in other major cities, but Tokyo’s public transportation is well organized, so we are operating the bus as driving tour, then tourist can enjoy beautiful scenery and can feel the breeze of Tokyo.
The Bus equipped 8 language audio system such as Spanish, French, Thai, Bahasa Indonesia, Korean, Chinese, Vietnamese and English.
The bus depart every 30 Minutes from Tokyo station, near Marunouchi South exit,
So you can enjoy the tour anytime.

We have also city tours with English speaking guide, so for your next trip to Tokyo, we are happy to serve you again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

First things first. It is a bus tour and you will be on the bus for long periods so be prepared. I'm 6,4 and it was a little tight on the knees.
We booked this at his tourist info in harajuku, easy and hassle free.
We did not do hotel pick up as we we're staying only a few stops away from Hamamatsucho bus terminal and it was super easy to find the bus ticket desk. Bus left on time as expected in Japan and they ask you to pick your lunch option before you get on if you have lunch in the tour. Chicken, fish or vegetarian which was a pasta dish. We hit the highway and about half way we stopped for a rest/drink/toilet stop. We went straight to lunch which a very large hotel/resort, the meal was average but the dining room we were in had a fantastic view of fuji.
After lunch we headed to fuji first station we couldn't go any farther as the road was closed. This is very common in winter so probably don't expect to get to the fifth station if you do it's a bonus. First station is a car park and toilet with a view of fuji. We stayed here over half an hour which was a waste needed 10-15 Max. Next we headed to the lake cruise, traffic was heavy and it took a long time so when we arrived we were rushed onto the boat, it was the normal ferry not the pirate ship as that was a different company, a non issue just so you know. Ferry took about 15 minutes to get to the Komagatake Ropeway stop. If it's clear go to the back of the ferry and look a little to the left you will get the top of fuji poking over the hills for some great photos. Ropeway is the standard large car packed in like sardines experience, left hand side going up looks towards fuji for pics. Once up top large paths with uneven rocks or dirt make a track around from Ropeway station to temple to viewing areas, be smart with the footwear. Because of traffic we were rushed at this spot but it was the best views all day needed more time here. After this we headed to odawara station to get the bullet train. Huge traffic volumes as its single lane most of the way and took a long time again rushing once arriving at the station. 30 Min back to Tokyo on the train or another 3 hours in the bus. If you have JR rail pass use it or even buy a ticket on the spot if you want.
Our guide spoke quite good English and was fun and informative and did his best making sure we were all on time.
Overall we ticked alot of boxes on one day. A super long day on the bus and maybe some flexibility with time at certain spots is needed to make it more enjoyable. If you only have a day or don't want do it all yourself it's great. Just be prepared.

1  Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HATO B, Manager at Hato Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear daniel p san
Thank you very much for choosing Hato Bus tour for your Mt Fuji trip.
And also thank you for your review and uploading very beautiful photos of Mt Fuji.
Those are very very nice photos.
I hope you had a good time with Hato Bus tour.

As you mentioned, the trip to Mt Fuji takes around 2 hours by bus, but during the journey, you can learn many Japanese history, culture and more from our professional tour guide due to all of our tour guides has English speaking national license.
Anyway once again thank you for your review and using Hato Bus tour.
We look forward to serving you for your next trip to Tokyo.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hato Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing