We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best of Sushi”
Review of Sushi Yoshitake

Sushi Yoshitake
Ranked #8 of 9,579 Restaurants in Chuo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ginza, Tokyo Nihonbashi
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Our guide is surprised how we could get a booking at the Chef Table. Well, A Very Big "Thank You" to Peninsula Hotel for make this exceptional culinary experience possible.

We were there 15 minutes before our appointed time. Be on time not earlier or later. There is no waiting area, so we need to explore the surrounding area until the appointed time.

That night, only 7 diners.

Chef Masahiro Yoshitake is quite friendly. He can only speaks very simple English.

Warning, do not place your mobile phone on the table and no Video. Photo is ok.

No menu, just Omakase but we were provide with simple list in english of what to expect that night.

Its always enjoy watching the chef preparing your food and hand it to you immediately he finished preparing it.

The food, is undoubtedly, fresh and delicious. I was too engrossed in the food to take much photos. Observing the skills in preparations, the knife skills in slicing, the mastery in making the sushi makes the dinner more enjoyable. It will be better if I could understand and speaks Japanese to converse with the chef.

A must do if you have the opportunity. Book months ahead.

Highly recommend it.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RobertChew-MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018

We had dinner at Yoshitake on our second night in Tokyo while staying at the Prince Gallery. It was sublime. Despite the chef and his team speaking little English, they still made attempts to communicate, even using Google translate. Everyone was super friendly and even a few of the other Japanese patrons (we were the only Anglos) engaged us a bit.

The food was spectacular. Some of the best sushi we've ever had, including some that I normally despise. I ate a raw oyster for the first time in almost 35 years--and loved it. I usually despise oysters in any form. I wanted more, it was so good. Even the uni was delicious, and I normally despise that. Everything was beautifully presented and spectacularly good. Oi-shi, indeed! Su-goi, too!

We highly recommend Yoshitake if you can get the booking. Don't ask--just go. This was one of our 4 most memorable meals in Japan--which is saying something, as we had a total of 21 Michelin stars in our 2 weeks! Our other faves included Narisawa in Tokyo, Kitcho in Kyoto, and the food/presentation (but not the service) at Hajime in Osaka.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank BillR2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Continuing to win six Michelin stars, the master sushi chef Mr Yoshitake is a legendary! So many appetizers makes one so happy. Better to book thru hotel concierge. Definitely the best is Ginza, Tokyo, Japan and this planet!!
ミシュラン6つ星シェフの吉武さんの寿司は芸術の域を越えてます。握り前に頂く品々でノックダウン。最高の職人技に誰もが満足することでしょう。

Date of visit: June 2017
5  Thank HarryS2863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

After a friend got us a reservation which you have to do long in advance, we were in for a treat.
The whole experience was nothing short of amazing and all the details were thought of. Service was great on all fronts and Yoshitake is a true culinary wizard. Not cheap but worth the expense

Date of visit: November 2017
2  Thank HarryHaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

If you want a super special sushi, don’t miss Yoshitake. The menu is exquisite, the service is fantastic and the food does not require a review. I would go back a thousand times!

Date of visit: January 2018
3  Thank Leo79t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sushi Yoshitake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing