We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
12
50
42
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
50
42
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk ochanomizu university station lobby tokyo
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Poor wifi, almost no English is spoken by staff, horrible AC (the room was like a dry sauna), no iron available (quite basic).

Details: Late October, we had 2 nights booked for us by the organization that invited me, and had some issues with that, which the manager solved eventually, but was possible only due to my girlfriend that can speak Japanese. Otherwise, they barely speak English.

We then got into the room which was hot and dry, AC is only heating, and you cannot open the window! only on the second day, we found a solution, someone suggested to unlock the window (only staff can open the window).

I was speaking at a university the next day, and wanted to use an iron after taking my formal clothes out of my luggage. It's quite basic, and it's the first time I encounter an accommodation (hotel/hostel/B&B/Airbnb) that doesn't have an iron for the guests! I tried to find a solution, asking maybe the cleaning ladies have an iron but received a laugh at the front desk. Eventually, I found a solution outside the hotel, which was very inconvenient.

The wifi was so weak and slow, that you can't really use it for work (sending out emails). The desk was also built in an uncomfortable way...

Maybe all these are fine and normal for Japanese businessmen, but very different from my expectations.

Room Tip: The AC is only on heating mode, and you can't open the window. Ask at the front desk to have someone unlock the window so you can breathe.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

The Tokyo garden palace hotel has clean rooms, professional and accommodating staff, and an enjoyable breakfast. I am currently staying here for 2 weeks from the United States for a conference/academic course. Unfortunately, right when you walk into the hotel the lobby smells of cigarette smoke, so it may be unpleasant to people who are especially sensitive. The odor is not too strong though, and you stop noticing it after a few minutes. It is similar to the smell of a casino hotel in Las Vegas.

The most inconvenient aspect of the hotel is the wifi--it is so slow that it is virtually unusable. I have opted to use my expensive international cell phone data plan instead.

The bathroom is nice, but there is almost no clothing storage (no closet, no drawers) in the non-smoking rooms. Also, oddly there is only one key available per room, so the easiest thing to do with a roommate is to leave it with the front desk staff when you are not in the room.

Overall, nice enough place to stay but there are definitely a few aspects that could be improved, especially the wifi for international travelers.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Good restaurant (thought pricey, as one may expect). The room was small and somewhat outdated, but clean. The location is rather industrial-looking, but there is a convenient train station nearby. It was somewhat noisy with the medical school across the street. The reception staff were attentive and great, though.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015

just 5mins from Ocyanomizu stn.
you can come from Akihabara stn but i don't recommend that simply up-hill-route. inverse case is fine.

오차노미즈에서 도보로 5분정도 걸립니다.
조금 걸으면 아키하바라 역에서도 호텔로 올 수 있습니다만, 오르막 길이기 때문에
짐이 많다면 추천하지 않습니다. 반대의 경우라면 내리막이기 때문에 괜찮습니다.

정확히 언제 오픈한 호텔인지는 모르겠지만 매우 오래된 역사가 느껴집니다.
로비의 분위기, 프론트의 시설 등 에서 시간이 흐른 느낌이 나네요

물론 리뉴얼도 하고 있습니다. 특히 엘리베이터와 객실 화장실은 전면적으로 보수한 느낌이 나네요. 특이한점은 카드키가 아닌 메탈키 (진짜 말 그대로 열쇠) 를 이용한 객실키 시스템인데 일부러 바꾸지 않는건지는 모르겠습니다만 오히려 그것이 운치가 있어 마음에 들었습니다. 매우 좋네요.

일본분들이 많고, 덕분에 중국 단체관광객 등이 없어 좋았습니다. 일본분들 눈에는 오히려 제가 눈엣가시 였을수도 있겠네요.

조식은 기본적인 것을 다 가지고 있습니다

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
Thank kim558888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Stayed one night for hospital check up nearby. Friendly and effizient staff. Restaurant good. Lounge cosy. A little off the center of town located. Used mainly by employees of the private schools' association.

Room Tip: Front side room
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews