We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
156
168
45
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
168
45
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean coastal route excellent buffet nice bar very helpful staff breakfast buffet walking distance hotel is located swimming pool town square this wonderful hotel praia camino pilgrims
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Quiet location off the main, excellent room, quality furniture, wonderful bedding, good front desk staff, our luggage was waiting. After slogging 20 km on the coastal Camino, this was heaven. They had a half price happy hour in the bar starting at 5:30. And the breakfast buffet was 5 star - beautifully folded scrambled eggs, 4 types of buns, cold cuts including smoked ham, sausages, country ham, cheeses, yogurts, fresh fruit, 4 different juices, various milks, and a sophisticated espresso/coffee machine. Was I impressed by breakfast? Yes. But I was depressed by the low capacity, dis functional WiFi. Yes. Clearly management does not understand the importance of high capacity, reliable WiFi. Given the high quality of every other aspect of this wonderful hotel, I would think this would be an easy correction.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 8Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ema F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Meira, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hello, Peter!
Thank for your feedback and suggestion. It was our pleasure to have you in our Hotel and we hope you visit us again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Whilst this hotel is nicely placed, and close proximity to the square - after a full day of walking, our rooms were not ready until 4.45pm and 5.30pm. Some single people in our group were placed in suites whilst couples were left in smaller rooms which were significantly delayed.

Poor customer service. I would not rate this hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Chloé K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 May 2018

Hello, Chloé. We're sorry that your stay in our Hotel wasn't as positive as you expected. We thank and consider your opinion, which is very important for us to continually improve our service and provide the best experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

I hope this review proves useful to those doing the Camino Portuguese Coastal Route. This hotel is located very close to a beautiful beach, about 5-10 minute walking distance. It is conveniently located as there is a small grocery close by as well as a laundry facility just around the block. It is also close the the town center and the train stop for Praia de Ancora. Most places are within 5-10 minute walking distance. The room was also very clean and the staff friendly, especially for weary travelers. Breakfast was also excellent with lots of choices of pastries.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank qshineq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 December 2017

Hello! Thank you for your comment. We are very happy to know you had a pleasant stay and that you liked our breakfast and the beautiful Praia de Âncora beach. We look forward for your next visit, aiming to give you an even better experience than your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

The room was big and clean with a kingsize bed. There was also a big balcony, for rooms in the 1st foor.
Big and new towels in the bathroom.
However, the room has a double (false) ceiling and it clicks frequently. During the night it is frightning, sounding like the ceiling is going to crack and fall down on you. Therefore, it is not easy to sleep.
The buffet is excellent. However, there were these two employees putting the table speaking loudly with each other and making a lot of noise with the dishes and forks, without any respect towards the guests, who just wished to take a nice and calm breakfast.
The restaurant of the hotel was not very good: the fish was not fresh, although they told it was "the fish of the day".

Room Tip: If you may see the room, don't choose a false ceiling one.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel Meira, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hello, Cina!
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your experience with our Hotel wasn't as positive as you wished. Since we are always trying to improve the experiences of our guests, we value and take into consideration your opinion. We would also like to inform you that our facilities will soon be renovated, which includes the bedrooms as well. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope you will visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

A very nice hotel with a good pool and sun deck. Our room was clean and spacious.
Dinner was buffet but quite good and breakfast was fine also. The staff are all very good. Location is central which we like.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeira, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Meira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Good afternoon,

We would like to thank you for your comment on your recent stay at the Hotel Meira.

We are pleased to know that we provided a pleasant and comfortable stay and that our facilities met your total approval.

We certainly look forward to your visit, during your next stay in Vila Praia de Âncora.

Kind regards,
Hotel Meira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews