We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfortable, well equipped cottage in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Main bedroom
Front garden from cottage
Twin bedroom
Kitchen looking towards dining room
Bathroom - shower over bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Archie1
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable, well equipped cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week at the cottage. It was very comfortable and well appointed for visiting all areas in Hampshire and Dorset, and it's only 10 miles from Salisbury. It's very comfortable and has good off-road parking. Plenty of hostelries in the area providing good food and a decent pint, and best of all some good fishing not too far away. We'll hopefully be returning in the future.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage has everything you need. It is cosy and comfortable with a fabulous garden. We stayed in the May half term with our two children and dog. We visited the Roman Villa in the village, visited Salisbury, walked in the beautiful countryside and hired bikes. We had a fabulous week and would definitely recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. It is a pleasure to have guests like you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fined4tim...
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Million times better than we hoped”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage because it was near the New Forest but much less expensive than similar properties in the New Forest.
I would rate everything about it 100%. Location, comfort, contents, owners and beauty it has the lot.
Sarah was there to welcome us and Adele and Sarah both saw us off at the end of the week. They are lovely and available only if you need them.
I was sorry to leave but we were off to Cornwall on the 2nd leg of our 2-centre holiday.
This has to be the best equipped cottage I have ever stayed in. It has everything - nothing has been overlooked.
The photos don't do it justice either it is absolutely beautiful.
Close to Fordingbridge (about 4 miles)for shopping carry-outs etc.
This was a great base for travelling from. We were able to catch the ferry to the Isle of Wight. We also went to the tennis at Wimbledon. We enjoyed going to see all the pretty villages in the New Forest.
And finally a very important note for dog owners - your pet is very welcome. Our bullmastiff Tess had a wonderful time in the beautiful garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and gardens were absolutely beautiful.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. We aim to please and have many returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn793
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous holiday cottage”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful cottage. Adele & Sarah were there to greet us and then to say goodbye. We were made to feel very welcome The cottage had everything you could ask for when self catering. Spotlessly clean with fresh flowers. The beds were very comfy. Central heating and the use of a log fire. Our dog enjoyed the very well kept gardens. Plenty of places to visit. We went to Poole, Bournemouth, Salisbury and of course, The New Forest. I also managed to get to fly a two sweater plane at Compton Abbas, which was a treat from my husband. So thank you to the gardener who advised we should go to see the light aircraft fly past. We would love to go back, in fact I didn't want to leave. Thank you so much Adele & Sarah

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the facilities available to us and the comfort of the beds
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Great review thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentishtr...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Garden Cottage - A perfect New Forest retreat.”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From the minute we arrived at Garden Cottage, the owners made us feel very welcome.
The cottage is very clean and well equipped, and set in beautiful and peaceful rural surroundings, in a lovely village with easy access to new forest walks.
There is generous parking to the front, and both the front and rear gardens are wonderful to relax in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location.l
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$126
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing