We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a little gem in an amazing location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Arca de Noe

Entrance and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and garden
Roof terrace and view Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Entrance and garden
Roof terrace and view
Bedroom
Lounge and kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Seating and BBQ area
Patio
Haria
Local beach in Arrieta
Roof terrace and views
Local beach bar
View to Punta Mujeres
Seating area
Overhead photo of garden
Puerta Verde, local restaurant
Local village
Punta Mujeres
Orzola
Local beach
Harbour at Orzola
View over Orzola
Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Haria, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alan T
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a little gem in an amazing location”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

While the resorts of Lanzarote have their place – we’ve enjoyed a couple of holidays there before – Arca de Noe gives you a completely different experience of this amazing island.

Haria and the local villages are traditional, agrarian and remote. It’s fascinating to meet local people, enjoy the great food, and get an insight into a way of life that harks back to simpler times. In contrast, this is also where you find the amazing work of Cesar Manrique – Jameos del Agua, the Cactus Garden and the Mirador del Rio are only a few minutes away by car – and a particular must is his house in Haria, which has newly opened (late 2013). It’s amazing, and only fifteen minutes walk away!

Staying in this neat little apartment offered us exactly what we needed. Peace, privacy and a completely chilled fortnight. We had everything we needed, and the traditional Canarian kitchen was efficiently planned, so that we could rustle up meals – it is small, but has everything close at hand. The bathroom gave us some ideas on how to make great use of small spaces, too!

We stayed over the New Year, and were also lucky enough to see the celebrations for Los Tres Reyes (epiphany) – when the three kings, and their assistants, ride on camels through the streets of Haria throwing sweets for all the children and adults, before a pageant in the centre of the town. Fabulous!

Lesley, the owner, was really helpful, and set us up with wifi and gave us loads of information about the local culture, and people. She even introduced us to a few locals, which challenged our basic grasp of Spanish, but Lesley was at hand to help out.

Yes, it’s rural, there are dogs barking – it’s a feature of the whole area which becomes clear if you walk around – and it’s NOT a villa in a resort. But it’s so much more than that! We were totally fascinated by the volcanic landscape; the relics of cochineal production – prickly pears and terracing on the steep slopes; Manrique’s powerful influence preserving fascinating indigenous architecture; and we got a real insight into Canarian life. We’re hooked!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views! And being in the REAL Lanzarote, not the resorts.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copley M
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this apartment in the North of the island as it looked to meet our needs exactly. We were drawn by the hot tub, the garden and roof terrance, the wi-fi and the washing machine (sad I know- but true!)
The village is very interesting and certainly worth visiting, there are a number of bars, and restaurants, a supermarket and a couple of other shops. There is a craft market on Saturdays and Cesar Manrique's house is in the village and something worth seeing.
The apartment was somewhat 'quirky'. There was a main room with sofa bed, TV (free sat channels only), small kitchenette with fridge, two burner gas hob (take a lighter - the matches go damp), multi function microwave that worked well and some under surface storage covered by a small curtain. A set of drawers, some curtaining and the TV separated the lounge from the bedroom. The bed was a full sized double but the mattress was ready for replacement. There were two bedside tables & lights. There was a ceiling fan in the lounge. There was no heating in the property. (It can get cool at this altitude in winter). The bathroom was more than adequate; toilet, sink and shower with plenty of hot water (the boiler tripped out twice while we were there but was reset by the owner within 24hrs) The owner is next door and has an additional entrance from the apartments garden which she didn't use while we were there.
The shower was rather uncontrollable as the water pressure was high and the shower head often flew off its holder. The shower rail was adrift from the wall but still usable.
There was no washing machine - but we 'think' the owner would have done washing for us if asked.
There was no wi-fi in the property (or on the terrace) fortunately there is free wi-fi at the library in the village which is about 15 mins walk. The wi-fi at the library is on all the while which is very useful - and there is a seat outside the library!
The 'inflatable' hot tub on the roof terrace was not on when we arrived and despite being switched on as soon as we arrived it unfortunately never made it to a comfortable temperature. (We were staying in November when the outside temp does fall and this probably affected it)
The outside furniture is best describe as 'random'. The loungers were rusty but worked and there were some old cushions stored in a downstairs 'glory hole' There was also a rusty table, some plastic chairs and a very very used sun umbrella (see picture) (There was a newer one in the outside store) The roof terrace was totally overlooked by the next door neighbours - luckily they didn't seem to spend much time on their veranda. There was some old bamboo fencing that afforded a bit of protection from the wind. The view from the roof terrace, if you ignored the derelict hovel and dog just below, was excellent as you could see all the way to the coast. (take your binoculars)
The small garden/path was also overlooked and overgrown and didn't get much sun at this time of the year but might be fine in summer. There was a concrete bench, a large parasol, a table and some more chairs.
We realised that this was rural Lanzarote and so barking/howling dogs, flies, lots of pigeons and bleating sheep are perhaps to be expected.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rural location
Liked least: the roof terrace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joukje10
Wijchen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real disaster”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Very small housing, poor living room, bad mattress, no tv other than arabic senders.
Bad smell when entering, non-cleaned jacuzzi on roof terrace with rusty chairs.Almost every night several dogs, including the ones of the owner, were barking. So bad that we decided to leave and we rented an apartment in Puerto de la Cruz. On top of that, in winter it is in hilly Haria approx. 4 degrees Celsius colder than on coast level.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great stay....”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A charming, rustic cottage on the edge of the lovely village of Haria - was just perfect for us. Great views of the countryside and sea from the roof terrace ( private and good for sunbathing) and lovely private outdoor space. The interior is small but homely, well laid out and has a lot of charm - it is much better than in the pictures. It is about a 5 minute + walk into the village, where there is a supermarket, a couple of bars in the square and a couple of places to eat - virtually no tourists and very friendly. Nice walks and views. I would say you need a car as there are lots of really nice beaches etc to explore. Having never been to Lanzarote before, I was dubious, but Haria and the North of the Island were beautiful. The owner Lesley was helpful but respected our privacy. I would recommend for a simple, relaxing break... I wanted to stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: oudoor space and views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exceptionally kind hospitality from host
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing