We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
119
36
17
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
36
17
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kelly family beef brilliant food amazing setting melt in the mouth lovely bar bank holiday cooked to perfection irish charm quaint hotel four poster bed sea view chowder fantastic hotel mash following morning wedding reception
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Went here with my sister for dinner and ordered the queen size steak,not the king size. I asked for chips and onion rings instead of potatoes and vegetables and there was no problem at all with that. The staff could not have been nicer and very attentive. The steak was cooked to perfection and everything was just delicious. Looking forward to returning

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank teresa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

I love this hotel the views are amazing..... the food is even better ... the staff really make u feel at home.. great prices on food and drink.... the entertainment is brilliant ... go and see for yourself...

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sharon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. We like our guests to feel that The Haven is their home while they are here. Watch our website for some fantastic live bands and events coming soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

A great place to enjoy a drink. The garden area was beautiful and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Easy to lose yourself for a few hours enjoying the sun. Wide variety of whiskey and served with a smile!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 163bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! We hope you'll be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

A wedding at the Haven Hotel, where to start. Words really can't describe just how brilliant our special day was and this was all down to the staff and management at the Haven Hotel. We had obviously looked at a number of venues but from the second we met with Paul and Judy we just knew this was it. Totally relaxed and professional and any questions, queries or requests we had were handled promptly (and there were many!) Nothing was a problem! We never got the impression that anything was being sold to us, the Haven really bought into our Wedding day and wanted it to be perfect just as much as we did. We had our ceremony on the grounds, the weather was perfect and the entire seating arrangement was lovely - our guests had a gorgeous view of the sea while they watched us get married. We even did the majority of our photos on the grounds and they were amazing! Little touches like all the staff lining at the bottom of the stairs to greet my wife before she walked up the aisle was fantastic.
The table plan in the marquee worked really well. We had over 150 guests with 16 tables and there was plenty of space. The food was EXCEPTIONAL!!! Especially the beef, people are still telling us how much they enjoyed their meal!
The one thing that sticks in our mind is how much our guests enjoyed the day in particular the views. We are locals from the area and take Dunmore East for granted but we had people travel from far and wide who felt they were actually at a wedding abroad. If you get the weather that we had for our Wedding you will not find a better venue. But obviously you can't rely on Irish weather!!! Either way you can't go wrong with the Haven Hotel - unbelievable staff, food, service, rooms, views, grounds and definitely the best value for money wedding venue in, I would say, the whole country. Thanks to all at the Haven for a brilliant day that neither we or our guests will ever forget!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Connor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to have you, your family and friends here to celebrate your special day. We hope you'll have many more special occasions with us in the years to come.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The Haven Hotel is located in the village of Dunmore East, Co. Waterford, set on a height, with green lawns and a lovely outdoor seating area. We found the service to be friendly and attentive. 25 years ago, we had our wedding reception in The Haven and we returned to the hotel for an overnight stay. Our room ( the bridal suite)was beautiful, with a view out to the bay, boasting a four poster bed and a spacious en-suite complete with bath tub and separate shower.

We had booked the set dinner menu for our evening meal. Unfortunately, this meal was a disappointment. My partner had garlic mushrooms for starters and they were served with bitter, burnt garlic. I chose the Caesar salad. This was also disappointing, with 4 big pieces of chicken, covered in too many large croutons all served in a cereal/ soup bowl. I asked for a salad with my fish main course as it came with mashed potatoes, but not with vegetables. This salad was an extra order . Large chunks of red onion and a few pieces of roughly cut peppers were on top of a handful of lettuce. My hake , which was delicious and cooked to perfection was served on top of two large slices of cold tomato and two large slices of cucumber and iceberg lettuce. The hake would have been better served directly on to the plate. Finally, the trio of desert, was stale and very poor. We both received large pieces of chocolate fudge cake, a meringue nest filled with cream and a triangle of stale cheesecake. My fudge cake was hard and dry, as though it had been stored, uncovered. The cheesecake tasted stale as if it been open to the air for too long.

The breakfast the following morning was good.

As we were celebrating our anniversary, we did not complain, however, we did leave our comments on the comment card from our room and handed it in when we were checking out.

Perhaps the other menus at The Haven are better, we won't be trying them out. We would stay at the hotel again , however, we would eat in one of the other restaurants in the village.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Breda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at The Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments about The Haven, and our staff.

However, if only you had just said while you were eating that you were not enjoying the choices you had made, we would have been delighted to have changed them.

We can assure you that we only use the freshest of ingredients and the cheesecake was most definitely fresh. Your choice to have salad, rather than vegetables, were also not an extra.

It really dismays us when the first we know of a grievance is on social media, (or also, in your case, on a note left to be found after your departure). We want our guests to enjoy their experience here at The Haven, no matter what the occasion, and it's such a pity you didn't give us the chance whilst you were here.

We'd be delighted to welcome you back, and also hope that you will choose to eat with us again. Perhaps we could suggest that you allow us to look after you, and suggest dishes to suit your taste, while you are here, rather than us having to have this "conversation" after the event online?!

Regards
Paul Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews