We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
FrequentFlier673833

A slice of paradise

Review of Naqalia Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Dec 2023
We wanted somewhere for Xmas and fancy resorts aren't really our style. Naqalia Lodge is simple with four bures and a bunkhouse. One extended family services the visitors. The food is excellent (included in the price) but you get what is cooked for that meal. If you have dietary requirement's you might need to talk before booking. You are welcomed and soon become part of the family. There is fine snorkelling off the beach and a range of activities can be arranged. Overall an excellent small scale stay with friendly Fijian hospitality. Be aware the cost of the ferry can be a shock. It is very expensive.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
    1.1 km from Naqalia Lodge
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    Vio.com
    $210
      0.0 km from Naqalia Lodge
      If you are looking for that local Fijian experience. Wayalailai is the place!  Beautiful island, beautiful people and amazing local Fijian food. 🫶  Out of all the islands I visited it also had the BEST hike where you can see sunrise & sunset. Great for solo travellers and also perfect for family’s. There is limited phone reception giving you that perfect escape to enjoy the island vibes. You can dive, snorkel, learn weaving, local village tour & more. Highly recommend!!
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
        $52
      • Booking.com
      1.1 km from Naqalia Lodge
      Arieal view with the majestic mountain tops providing one of the most scenic backdrops. Waya Island Resort, Yasawa Islands, Fiji
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Priceline
      • Expedia.com
        $960
      • Trip.com
      7.3 km from Naqalia Lodge
      Pool
      Beachfront
      Hotels.com
      $1,333
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
        $1,223
      • Agoda.com
        $1,085
      • Expedia.com
        $1,384
      17.3 km from Naqalia Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Beachfront
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
        $714
      • Priceline
      19.4 km from Naqalia Lodge
      Beachfront
      Restaurant
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $409
      • Priceline
      20.5 km from Naqalia Lodge
      Pool
      Beachfront
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
        $414
      • Priceline
      20.5 km from Naqalia Lodge
      Beachfront
      Restaurant
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Priceline
        $331
      • Vio.com
        $280
      • Booking.com
      35.9 km from Naqalia Lodge
      Beachfront
      Pool
      Trip.com
      $280
        35.9 km from Naqalia Lodge
        View more hotels in Waya Lailai
        Reviews (245)
        Filter reviews
        245 results
        Traveller rating
        165
        56
        11
        5
        8
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        165
        56
        11
        5
        8
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews shark feeding fijian family kava ceremony fish no hot water yasawa islands traditional lovo authentic experience island stay authentic fiji bracelet making fijian culture feel like family we loved our stay last stop very special place sunrise hike
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        2 - 7 of 245 reviews
        Reviewed 26 November 2023

        My daughter and I had a perfect time in Naqalia Lodge ! It’s a happy place and you would be showered with love and kindness. There is nothing more that we can ask - beach, food and hospitality - just superb! Great experience to share with my daughter who is western raised with a mother who long to share what Pacific values is like! Thank you Naqalia family for everything !

        Room tip: Back to basics and real life values! The Fijan way!
        Date of stay: October 2023
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        1  Thank Rosalud d
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 18 July 2023

        Really lovely place. The family really appreciate you joining them their family. The food was very tasty, much nicer than what we had in another stay.
        The accomodation is very basic so be prepared for this. But we felt the family made up for it with their very welcoming energy.

        Date of stay: June 2023
        • Trip type: Travelled with friends
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank Dreamer25066658414
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 29 June 2023

        This is a super special and beautiful place to stay as long as you are not expecting a 4* resort. This is a Fijian family run place where they treat you like family. It is basic and in need of some updating but is clean, we felt that adds to its uniqueness as the staff were quite simply some of the most kind, loving, content and happy people we have encountered travelling.
        All home cooked food - plentiful and fresh. Reef out front the best we have seen in Fiji and Asia. Diving available through the dive master in the village and this was amazing he took us to some very good reef dives where other tourist trips don’t go, he’s lived here all his life. Spear fished fish during the dive and then pulled up ona beach lit a fire, cut some coconuts and fruit from nearby trees and had lunch before further dives. He took our daughters out and one was a bit nervous and he held her hand all through the dive and gave her a personalised guide of the reef.
        Island is beautiful. Go to the church service. Hike the summit. They sing each night to you and then had family dance time where I have never seen so many smiles!
        We felt sad to leave but grateful for a warm shower. A very special holiday with two teenage girls who were absolutely captivated by the place came off their screens and relaxed with the Fijians and nature.

        Room tip: They will arrange a village boat to collect you from main land which is much cheaper than the tourist adventure boat that travels each day
        Date of stay: May 2023
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank loisoliver
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 31 March 2023

        We (2 adults) stayed at Naqalia for 4 nights in February. Our first visit to Fijian Islands and wanted a more 'traditional' experience. We certainly found that here. Very welcoming (singing to us from beach on arrival and departure), good variety and quantity of typical Indo-Fijian food, friendly family-owned and run business. Solar powered bures so not always electricity in them when cloudy (main lodge has generator backup for charging phones etc if needed). The bures are all similarly sized, with comfortable bed but furnishings are clearly showing their age as well as the bures need some maintenance (updated plumbing, painting, etc). Kayaks were unusable. We are certain this lodge will be brought back to a higher standard once tourism revenue picks up (difficult to perform maintenance with no cash during covid). Excellent 'house reef' for snorkelling right off the beach. Internet in main lodge was quite weak/intermittent.

        Room tip: All bures are same layout, and located next to each other, so no difference which one you get. Ensure there is an electric fan in your room
        Date of stay: February 2023
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        1  Thank Steve C
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 15 March 2023

        We loved our stay. The staff was great they made you feel like family. It was a great place to relax or snorkel.
        The rooms were just basic but clean. The beds were comfortable.
        The food was great and abundant.

        Date of stay: March 2023
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank Amina G
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews