We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place for a Peak District break”
other travellers have booked this property
View from Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Front
Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
View from Front
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Front Bedroom
Front Bedroom
View of Middle moor in full glory from Lantern Pike
Rear Bedroom
Rear Bedroom
View from rear bedroom
River Sett through Village
Clough End
Village Pub
Road to Kinder
Hayfield
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
David H
Orebro, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a Peak District break”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A pleasant little cottage, found everything we needed, the hosts were easily accessible and helpful with everything, left some little snacks. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. The village is delightful and the location of the cottage is within walking distance of everything. No big supermarkets close by but a village store with the essentials. Some pubs and a chippy. Village very central for Peak District excursions. The only criticism - the toilet flush was particularly difficult to operate though we got the knack after a few days. We would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The toilet flushing mechanism
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgette...
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location but accommodation rather average”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I'll be honest and say I was disappointed with the cottage given the description. The location is absolutely excellent and this has been well covered by other reviewers - it is literally down the road to great pubs and fantastic walks/ runs/ cycles. However, the kitchen is very small and given there were only 2 of us I would not fancy trying to cook for 4, never mind 6. The saucepans in particular wouldn't hold enough food for more than 4 max! The lounge is also rather sparse with seating, again only having seating for 4 and the sofa not being very comfortable. And again the kitchen table has hard seats so is not very comfortable. Some of the description is frankly misleading. While the photo of the landscape is taken from the house, it is taken from a very particular angle and most of the view is over the (shared and very small) garden or other houses. I think it was good value for money, but our experience doesn't seem to match with other peoples. It was immaculately clean however.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of comfortable furniture/ proper saucepans!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well appointed, clean and comfortable in a great location. Great base for travelling around the north of the Peak District. We had a wonderful time. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property
Liked least: Weather on first day!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srcb
north wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely cosy holiday cottage with lots of baby friendly amenities”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This cottage was spot on. Doug the owner very helpful. Loads of information and leaflets of the local area. Handy wifi, beautifully clean and tidy. Very handy baby equipment although a fire guard wouldn't have gone a miss with a giddy toddler! Hayfield on a whole is a beautiful village but parking has always been a problem. I found as we had a big vehicle we parked more up the road. Only parked outside once to pack car up neighbour wasn't overly amused. A note to this rather than a criticism as its out of the owners hands. A small car wouldn't have an issue. Highly recommended for a stay!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have just arrived home from a fantastic 2 night stay at Fairy Bank cottage. Excellent accommodation. Everything we could have wanted , a real home away from home. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Great location. 2 minute walk to the nearest pub and the centre of the village.Doug met us on arrival and was a wealth of knowledge on the local area. We enjoyed an amazing walk taking in the sights of Kinder Scout, the waterfall and much more. The village has several pubs and hotels which all seem to welcome muddy walkers, cyclists and children. We particularly enjoyed the The Packhorse where the owner was exceptionally welcoming. Would strongly recommend as a base to anyone who wants to explore this beautiful area of the Peak District. Our only negative is that we didn't stay longer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable accommodation and great location
Liked least: The fact that we didn't stay longer!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing