We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely lovely in every way”
other travellers have booked this property
The building itself is grade 2 listed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The building itself is grade 2 listed
The living room with the fire roaring The kitchen is one of the main features of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The building itself is grade 2 listed
The living room with the fire roaring
The kitchen is one of the main features of the property
The kitchen has everything you will need
The pond and the cottage
The master bedroom is spacious and comfortable
The second bedroom all ready for your stay
Newly renovated bathroom
The bathroom has a bath/shower
The living room has a luxury double sofa bed
Open plan landing area
Simply decorated livingroom/diner to relax in
Lovely views to the front of the property
There are dozens of waling routes metres from the door
The cottage is based at the foot of Kinder
Welcome to the Gamekeepers cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Manchego1...
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely in every way”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked this cottage at really short notice for a weekend break with our new baby son. The cottage is in a beautiful setting, the middle of the woods, with baby ducklings and a resident peacock. The cottage is really well appointed and immaculately clean; it was much more spacious than we imagined and really cosy. It was excellent value for money.

There are lots of great walks from the cottage door; a fabulous place to get away from it all!

Thank you very much!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaGre...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed here with friends for the weekend and couldnt fault the accommodation. location-wise we could go for a days walk straight from the cottage and the pub at the end of the driveway was lovely.
The kitchen had everything that we needed, and the fire was ready for us to use. lots of lovely touches to make the stay feel special.
Peaceful location and set in a beautiful area.
Wifi is available but for a small fee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review and I am genuinely glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay. Thanks also for the feedback and as a result wifi is now a free courtesy for guests at the Gamekeepers cottage. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“May Bank Holiday stay with 6”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an absolute find! We booked this cottage before it had been stayed in so were a little wary but with absolutely no reason. We were a group of six ladies up from London looking for a good priced country getaway, and this was perfect.

It's in a great location - secluded and quiet (apart from the resident peacock strutting his stuff), only 20 mins leisurely walk into the village, 5 minutes from the nearest pub and about 30 seconds to the nearest walking trail.

The finish inside the cottage is to a great standard, with both character and luxury well combined.

The owners are great too - I think his parents own another of the cottages in the crescent so are on hand if you need them but are also incredibly friendly lovely people!


Cannot sing it's praises enough, we all absolutely loved it and we're most sad to have to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megster10...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a weekend with a group of friends, for rest, laughs and lots of walking. The cottage was easy to find, down a long lane, very secluded but with a few friendly and helpful neighbours. The cottage itself exceeded our expectations in every way. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully renovated with many original features. There was plenty of hot water for 5 people and loads of walks from the door, short ones or longer ones up and over kinder scout. The place was kitted out with everything we needed and we had kindly been left some basics in the fridge which was a nice touch. There is a pub within walking distance, the lantern pike, that serves very nice food. Christian was great to deal with and made sure I had everything I needed for a smooth visit. We will certainly be back again. The only downside is that once people know this cottage is here, I will struggle to find a space to book next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size
Liked least: It's not pet friendly :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne C
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peak District bliss”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We were the first people to stay at Gamekeepers Cottage and when I discovered that I was a bit nervous about what to expect when we stepped through the door. Relief and pleasure the place is a gem. Unique kitchen, lounge/diner with log burner and two large comfortable sofas. Nice bedrooms and big bath for soaking in after a few hours walking. The property has been tastefully redeveloped and decorated.Really good location just off Kinder Scout and literally 100 yards from access on to the moors. Quiet location in trees yet only a 5/10 minute walk to the nearest pub. Buxton is 15 minutes with good restaurants and good pubs are within easy reach. We will definitely be looking to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the property/location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing