We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
31
41
44
16
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
41
44
16
26
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

With my roots firmly placed and being a regular visitor for the past 50 years to this area of Campania, I am more than familiar with the best and the worst the region has to offer but never before have I resorted to accomodation other than that of relatives. After spending a week in a beautiful agriturismo elsewhere in the region, our party of three adults and a teenager decided to spend some time visiting relatives in Monteforte Irpino so the Grand Hotel Irpinia became our base for three nights. Big mistake. I am not sure how this establishment has retained its 4* status as it is very tired, dated, and, dare I say, scruffy and leaves an awful lot to be desired. Some attempt has been made on a shoestring do-it-yourself budget to redecorate some of the areas with sparkly silver paint effect on some of the walls and a lot of the floor tiles have been covered in cheap wood effect laminate. We booked a quadruple room and the booking site gave the impression of a double bed and two singles however, we were faced with two double beds in the room available - not an ideal situation when our adult son was forced to sleep in the same bed as his younger teenage sister. The room itself was very dim with the only illumination being from a single window and an inset wall lighting configuration, no ceiling light. The en-suite bathroom was very small with cracked tiles, dirty grouting and the shower door was so poorly fitting that water overflowed. On a slightly humourous note was the full length mirror on the back of the door affording a full view of one’s self sitting on the throne! The self-service breakfast can only be described as dreadful. Processed, supermarket quality pastries, ‘fresh’ fruit which had obviously been left over from previous days due to it’s colour and state, cereals in dispensers with no dispensing wheels attached and very watery, poor quality machine beverages/juice however, the very pleasant waiter was happy to take orders and bring the drinks from another bar to the dining gazebo around the pool area where breakfast was taken. This hotel does not reflect its star rating and really ought to undergo complete refurbishment with a serious injection of cash and the eye of a good interior designer. The only plus for me is its proximity to the Avellino-Ovest motorway exit.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Daniela Fudge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvellinoGrandhoteli, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Irpinia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thank's for the review, read your self it's been very amused, you said a lot of words and photo, but you didn't write how much you spent, I tell to the haters on tripadvisor, € 78.5 per night per room included breakfast and swimming pool in high season that means €19.25 included sheets clear the room Wii-fi tax and commission for booking per person . Now if with this price per person you judge a place without understand price-quality is a problem of you not mine. I know what I sell and if all season i'm fully a reason there is .
If you would ask to change room with two split bed there were no problems to change,
Thanks for this reportage, we understood in base of so many guests from all over the word that when they told me about bed reviwes on tripadvisor i responded them i'm very happy to read you cause you are 1 % of my guests that i don't want in my hotel , So you help me to recommend guest as you to not book my hotel .
Greeting from grand hotel irpinia & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The budget room was sold as a "special offer" on booking.com. This room is really in a miserable condition: Fridge not working, no light on the balkony and a really old (!) bathroom - not like what you see on their pictures. The shower is very musty.
In the evening, there was a very loud private (!) disco-party at the pool (not announced in advanced; until 3 in the night). All the rooms go in this direction and the guy in the night shift (probably junior director/manager) was increadibly smug and unkind, not offering us any compensation but telling us that we could just leave the next day if we didn't like it - which we did.
Finally, they told booking.com that we never had arrived in the hotel so we also had to deal with them about the cancellation fee.
We can absolutely not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilmA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvellinoGrandhoteli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Irpinia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Thank's for the review . We are very happy that you left the room for your mood , for 40€ per night it was the best price for you ,but you didn't understood ,we have a lot of banquettings and parties pool all the nights so it was impossible to change your budget room with balcony with another cause we were fully booked .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Although its appearance is a little tired, its the inside of this hotel that has truly left us with a desire to return. With its friendly and helpful staff, always ready to greet you, they always made it their priority to fulfill our needs. I stayed at this hotel for 10 days with many members of my family. The management made each and everyone of us feel very welcome and were always available to help.
From breakfast to dinner, the food was always exquisite, local and fresh. They served the most amazing buffalo mozzarellas and fish dishes to die for.
I organized a party for 100 family members and the food and service was still of a high standard. The events organizer was very good, had good taste in table dressings, chose the music to suit the occasion and did a wonderful job.
The rooms were always clean and comfortable enough, we only used them to sleep and shower. The pool and the surrounding area was always clean, tidy and tranquil. I don't think one can appreciate the positive aspects of this hotel when staying for only 1 night. It might need a lick of paint and a couple of new lamp shades but they can be changed, its the staff, the service and the food that make this hotel a true success. Many thanks to Massimiliano and his staff for making our stay truly unforgettable.

Room Tip: triple junior suite or pool view rooms
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvellinoGrandhoteli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Irpinia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Thanks for review ,
it's been an honor to accommodate your father and mother and all your relatives .
We are proud to have surprised you and your family, it's been our goal .
We know our limits and our lack ,but we work from 24 years for let a good souvenir in the mind of our guests.
Saluti da tutto lo staff.
Massimiliano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2014

This Hotel may be old, but certain amenities have been upgraded. Ask for the junior suite with a large bathroom. It is the best washroom I have seen in Europe! The food is great. The service kind and helpful. The price is very affordable. There is a gym, swimming pool, beautiful garden..

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvellinoGrandhoteli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Irpinia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Grazie Mrs Mary ,was a pleasure to accommodate you in our wonderful Hotel , we are proud of your appreciations of the new spa-bath .See you and good retourn at home. Massimiliano .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews