We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tke782
Slidell, Louisiana

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jun 2024via mobile
Just BOOK IT! Royal Davui is the most amazing place we’ve ever visited by a mile! My wife and I travel very often and nothing compares. People always talk about how amazing Fiji is. Of course Fiji is awesome, but we were much more amazed by the resort.

The level of service and attention to detail is incredible. They have literally thought of everything!! The entire time I felt like if I thought of something I needed and put my hand out, it was already there. We were absolutely amazed how such a tiny island could have every amenity imaginable. Umbrellas, beach bags, flash lights, clean drinking water in the room, towels, bug spray, sun screen, aloe, etc.

Owner was there to greet us when we arrived by boat and already knew our names. ALL of the staff were incredible the whole time we were there. Knew our drinks, food, and requests almost before we ordered. They made sure to keep us hydrated with water the whole time, wouldn’t let me get up with empty glasses to get a new drink. Everyone just made sure we were comfortable and relaxed and brought us everything we needed. The second you get close to the pool, someone came to bring towels, made sure the loungers were clean and had pads, checked on us constantly.

Food was far beyond what we expected! I still can’t believe how amazing every single meal was. Plenty enough food, even for me. You certainly won’t go hungry here. Drinks were outstanding as well. We are from New Orleans and I would put these bartenders and chefs right next to any fancy restaurant around. As for the drink prices, it’s no different than a reasonable price at a decent restaurant. I read some reviews about the drink prices being too high. I totally disagree. To have the huge variety and unbelievable quality of drinks, I thought the prices were very fair.

Excursions are a must! Sunset cruise and sandbar picnic were both amazing. Snorkeling just 20 yards off the island provided everything you can possibly see underwater. Our guide was great and made sure to point out everything to be seen.

Last but not least……The owners and staff were some of the nicest and hardest working people we’ve ever met. By just the 2nd day we truly felt like family. By the time we left, we were all hugging and tearing up because we had to leave. Too many names to mention but we remember every single person we met and will never forget how great we were treated.

Coming from the U.S., the travel was very long but absolutely worth it! We were jet lagged very badly and fell asleep early afternoon. The staff even called our room to check on us and made sure we got dinner that night.

We will 100% be visiting again. We can’t wait to see all our new friends again and enjoy this beautiful place! I wish it was closer to us so we could visit more often.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review! We're thrilled to hear that you and your wife had such an amazing experience at Royal Davui. It's wonderful to know that our level of service, attention to detail, and amenities exceeded your expectations.

Your kind words about our staff and their efforts to ensure your comfort and satisfaction are truly appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed the food, drinks, and excursions, and that you felt like part of our family by the time you left.

Traveling from the U.S. can be a long journey, so we're especially pleased that you found it worth the trip.
Fiji Airways just announced they will be flying out of Dallas, so we're even easier to get to now!
We can't wait to welcome you back and look forward to seeing our new friends again.

Vinaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$1,211
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    $1,216
  • Hotels.com
    $1,029
  • Agoda.com
    $1,163
19.0 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$352
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $331
  • Vio.com
    $260
  • Booking.com
    $315
19.7 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$136
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • Vio.com
    $92
  • StayForLong
    $155
  • travelup.com
    $156
20.4 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Breakfast included
$1,043
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $937
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
20.9 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Beqa Adv Divers boat leaving the dock
$211
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
    21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    Pool
    Restaurant
    $209
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $209
    • Hotels.com
      $188
    • Expedia.com
      $209
    21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    • Agoda.com
      $83
    • Expedia.com
      $91
    • Hotels.com
      $95
    23.8 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    $346
    • Expedia.com
      $419
    • Agoda.com
      $316
    • Hotels.com
      $376
    32.2 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    Free parking
    Pool
    $145
    • Agoda.com
      $160
    • StayForLong
    • Trip.com
    32.7 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    Free parking
    Pool
    $424
    • Trip.com
    • StayForLong
    • Expedia.com
    37.4 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Royal Davui Island
    Reviews (649)
    Filter reviews
    649 results
    Traveller rating
    559
    49
    19
    14
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    559
    49
    19
    14
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews royal davui plunge pool fish our honeymoon lunch and dinner other guests sand cay the managers shark dive pacific harbour welcome song nadi airport boat ride crab kava ceremony village visit low tide
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 649 reviews
    Reviewed 4 June 2024

    I've traveled a lot and this is one of my favorite properties. Christopher and Grant, the owners, have put in beautiful, artful touches throughout and are excellent managers and hosts. With just 16 bungalows it feels a bit like your own private island, but with lovely guests when you want to be with other folks. The food and service is 5-star. Each meal was delectable with dining on a large deck looking out at the ocean under a massive tree, as if you're in a treehouse. The bungalows are lovely with living room and bedroom each opening up onto decks with a plunge pool. The bathrooms are open and huge. The beds are comfortable, but the pillows are to die for - they've been specially made for the Royal Davui! I had a massage which was very nice in a quiet space looking out on the ocean. And we had an amazing experience where we were taken by boat to a private caye about 15 minutes away. The staff brought an umbrella, beach towels, lounge chairs and table along with coolers filled with champagne and breakfast goodies. We were left for 3 hours to have the caye completely to ourselves. What a dream!

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank kaydalton
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you for your fantastic review!
    We’re glad you enjoyed the intimate atmosphere, touches that we have been working very hard on achviving. It's great to hear you appreciated the food and service, treehouse-like dining, and well-appointed bungalows with comfortable beds and custom-made pillows.

    We're pleased you had a relaxing massage and a memorable cay experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for more unforgettable moments.

    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 May 2024

    We just checked out from our weeklong stay and it was exceptional! The staff truly cares about your experience and gets to know you! The resort owners are very hands on and kind, and made sure that we were taken care of when there was an issue in our room that needed attention. In fact, instead of having us wait for maintenance, we were upgraded to a Sunset Villa!

    The jetskiing and shark dives were the stars of our stay! The sand cat is also a must!

    The food is always amazing and made to order, with a breakfast menu that is truly one of the best I’ve ever had and with lunch and dinner rotating every day to offer you something new. The Komodo is a must try!

    We were so sad that the weather wasn’t our friend and forced an early check out on our departure day, but the staff made sure we made it to Nadi well ahead of our flight and avoiding the extremely rough seas forecasted in the afternoon. We would have loved more days with the sun, but everyone made it so wonderful!

    Room tip: Book the sand cay excursion well in advance to ensure you get your desired day and time!
    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Brittany H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you for your wonderful review! It's great to know you had an exceptional stay with us. Our team truly cares about making your experience special, and we're glad you felt well taken care of, especially with the upgrade to the Sunset Villa.

    We're happy that you enjoyed the jetskiing, shark dives, and the sand cay. It's also fantastic to hear you loved the food, especially the breakfast menu and the Komodo dish.

    We appreciate your understanding regarding the weather and are glad we could ensure you made it to Nadi safely. We look forward to welcoming you back for more sunny days and wonderful memories.

    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 May 2024

    If you, like me, read these reviews as part of deep dive obsessive research into the best possible choice for your holiday, hi. I see you. I've been you. And I want to tell you you can stop looking, you have found the right choice.

    I thought I was booking my honeymoon, 7 nights in a gorgeous resort, but I didn't know I was drawing a line through my life. My life before Royal Davui and my life afterwards. My stay here has set the standard of holiday I will spend the rest of my life attempting to recreate. Since the second I left I have been mentally calculating how soon I can return.

    The Royal Davui experience is true luxury. It's the kind of luxury that doesn't need snobbery or flashiness to impress.
    The villas have everything you could need for your comfort and privacy. The beds are so comfortable, so much space to relax and enjoy the view.
    The food is incredible, fresh, diverse and extremely plentiful! We took snacks and never found a moment of hunger to eat them.
    The staff are kind, helpful and funny. From the wait staff, activity guides, maintenance and admin staff were all friendly and accommodating. Getting to know several of them over the week was a genuine pleasure.
    I was expecting to spend my week lounging by the pool and reading. I did plenty of that but I had no idea how mind blowing the reef would be. The island sits on top of a marine reserve reef and it was INCREDIBLE. We went snorkeling straight off the jetty every day and every time we discovered something new. I cannot recommend this highly enough. I swear Nemo was based on one patch of reef about 10 metres away from the jetty. The sheer diversity of life, it wasn't possible to look into the water without seeing fish of all colours, shapes and sizes.

    This resort isn't cheap, it's adults only, it's exclusive and a journey to get to (which the resort will facilitate). But trust me when I tell you, the expense of staying here is not paying for a holiday. It's an investment in your mental health. I don't only have memories of my time here, I have my mental happy place I will visit every time I close my eyes.

    To the whole team, vinaka, from the bottom of my heart.

    Room tip: Don't fill up on the bread before dinner! Take reef shoes and a rashie top for swimming Book multiple massages! They're the best!!
    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank annabellel874
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you so much for your heartfelt review and for truly "getting us" and what we do. We're honored to have been a part of such a special experience for you. It's wonderful to hear that your stay at Royal Davui has set a new standard for your holidays and created lasting memories.

    We're delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our villas, the delicious food, and the amazing marine life on our reef. Your kind words about our staff mean the world to us; they strive to make every guest's stay special.

    We can't wait to welcome you back to your mental happy place.

    Vinaka from all of us at Royal Davui Island Resort!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 May 2024

    If you are looking for 5 star Romantic luxury on a 8 acre island with only 16 Bure's then this is it. The food is equivalent to premium restaurants in Australia and the seafood is a foodies delight. The Bure's are sympathetic to Fijian culture and provide the 5 star luxury we all like. Balancing these two characteristics has been achieved with perfection. There are many activities you can participate in or just relax by the beautiful pool or read a book in the Bure with complete privacy and amazing views. The staff are amazing and happy to meet any of your needs. The Weather in the tropics can provide some surprises and haw the staff respond and support you is unbeliavable. Grant and Chris will do whatever they can to make your stay an amazing experience. The team make your wedding day something to remember and handle all the paperwork which in Fiji is worth days of your time. We have now visited the Island twice and will most certainly visit again in the future.

    Room tip: Relax and enjoy
    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank simonwM617FJ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

    We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the barefoot romantic luxury of our island and found the food to be on par with premium Australian restaurants.
    It's great to know that you appreciated the blend of Fijian culture and luxury in our bures. We're glad you found our staff to be attentive and responsive.
    We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit!
    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 May 2024

    We loved our 6 nights at the Royal Davui Island Resort. All the staff are amazing: so friendly and helpful, making you feel like nothing is too much trouble from check-in to check-out.

    We were booked to do the shark encounter dive the day after we arrived, but I was having issues with my ears, and they were able to move the dive to our last day which worked out perfectly. The weather the day we were supposed to do the sand cay picnic wasn’t great, but they were able to re-schedule that and our massage appointments so that we could still do everything on our itinerary. The shark dive was a phenomenal thrill and the sand cay picnic was truly special.

    Be sure to take in as much as you can - the crab races, kava ceremony, cooking class, cocktail tasting, Sunday hymns – all were great!

    Our Sunset Plunge Pool Villa was gorgeous. With only 16 villas, the resort feels very romantic and exclusive.

    Then why only a 4-star rating? We wished we could give 4.5 stars, but the food kept this from being a 5-star review. Most of the time, the food was very good, but there were a few big “misses”. The Royal Davui was the first place we stayed in Fiji, and we left thinking Fijian food was salty: there were a few courses over our time there that I couldn’t even eat as they were so salty, and that my husband who loves salt also even found too salty. One night both of our main courses (one beef and one chicken) were overdone and dry (again, we didn’t finish). Tip: if you like your beef medium rare, order it rare.

    With that all said, we still HIGHLY recommend this resort!

    Room tip: This did NOT apply to us, but if you have any mobility or physical fitness issues, request a villa close to the restaurant.
    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Rick O
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you for your review! We're delighted you loved your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the shark dive, sand cay picnic, and various activities.
    We appreciate your feedback on the food and will work on improving it. We're glad you still highly recommend our resort and hope to welcome you back soon.
    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews