We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarah M

Costco Travel Honeymooners

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 May 2024via mobile
Costco Traveler Review- Honeymooners - Lagoon Plunge Pool with Romance Package for 7 Nights - April 23-April 30th 2024
The Royal Davui exceeded all of our high expectations! The resort is a perfect place for a romantic getaway. We were here for our honeymoon and we cannot express enough how happy we are that we chose this resort.

TRANSPORT: ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE. I admit, I was nervous the transport to the hotel would be unbearable after such a long flight from the United States but it was incredibly easy. (Before you go through customs, I recommend getting a bottle of liquor if you have room in your luggage, to enjoy at the resort since alcohol is not included). Since we booked with Costco, when we landed we were met by a Rosie Holidays rep right outside the customs door with a sign with our name on it. We were taken to their AC office with cold fiji water bottles, cold scented oil hand towels, and a traditional fijian necklace. The rep also transferred the fiji airways lounge vouchers to us for our return flight at this time. Since we had two hours to kill before our next flight, our rep pointed us to a great breakfast spot that had wonderful lattes and a killer breakfast burrito. After we wrapped up breakfast we walked over to the domestic terminal at the airport. We waited for our check-in stand to open (remember you are on island time so do not panic if they are 15-20 minutes late). Our pilot arrived, weighed our bags, weighed us, and walked us out to a small cessna plane. The plane ride was absolutely beautiful, really smooth, and felt like a very quick trip. I believe the actual time was 40 minutes, but the views make it feel like 20 minutes. Once we landed there was a car ready to drive us to the boat, it was about a 3-5 minute drive. The boat ride was very quick, about 20 minutes. I get sea-sick easily and it was no problem. Just sit in the front. It was like a rough Lake. Once we arrived, the managers and the staff met us on the dock to greet us, gave us a fijian necklace, and then we were serenaded by the staff. Absolutely beautiful way to be welcomed. They had glasses of water, cold towels, and itinerary/menus waiting for us. The concierge was very helpful. She then walked us to our room and showed us all the amenities in our room. We had lunch delivered to our room the first day so we could relax off the jet lag. DEPARTURE DAY: Our flight out of fiji to LAX was at 9:40pm, the resort arranged for us to check out at 10am, and for us to depart the resort at 3:00pm. Our concierge booked a spa shower for us at noon so we could enjoy the beach/pool one last time and still get on the flight clean. Lunch was still included even though we checked out. Then we were serenaded one last time before we got on the boat to go back to the air strip. We took the cessna back with the same pilot. We then checked our bags, went through TSA, and went to the Fiji Airways Lounge, DO NOT SKIP THIS! Everything is free from wine to desserts to fried rice, not to mention cozy chairs and good wifi connection. If you need a souvenir, there are TONS of shops after the TSA.

Food: The food was fabulous, a unique culinary experience everyday for lunch and dinner. Food is typically nothing special at all inclusive resorts and I assure you this is not the case at the Royal Davui. We loved everything. The breakfast menu is always the same, but it is extensive and you can order more than one item for breakfast at no extra charge. Lunch always included a more american style item, example of Fried Chicken Sandwich, Cuban Sandwich, Burger, etc. All their fish dishes are wonderful, and I do NOT like fish usually. I kept saying I would pay big money for a royal davui cook book, everything was fabulous.

Snorkeling around the island: Royal Davui has incredible snorkeling, but you will need to swim out further to see it, I recommend booking the guided snorkel on one of your first days to learn the reef and where to go. The hotel will give free flippers, masks, and snorkel to you for the entire trip, they will even give you a bag to carry it around so you don't have to go back to the rental shak each day.

Diving: We did not do diving excursions, but I heard from other couples who did, they loved it. One couple did all their Padi online course work before they arrived and got certified while they were staying at the resort. Something I would recommend looking into!

Kava Tastings: the resort hosts cava tastings and highly recommend you go! They do an incredible job at involving everyone and breaking the ice amongst the travelers.

Hermit Crab Races: This was our favorite event! Everyone would get to pick out a hermit crab to race for free drinks, it was so much fun and was a great way to get everyone together.

Privacy: I cannot speak for the island room or the sunset rooms, but the lagoon view rooms were extremely private. We may have seen 2 snorkelers the entire time from our deck. The sunset rooms face the dock so it is not as private from Guests if you wanted total seclusion.

Spa: The spa was fabulous! The massages were great and so was the hydrating facial. I highly recommend them both.

Boutique - The hotel does have a small boutique in the concierge office where you can buy sunglasses, caps, reef shirts, sunscreen, aloe vera, medicine, etc.

Room- The room was exactly like the pictures, ONLY BETTER! We were in villa 13. There isn't anything we would change about the room. We had a bar the had a filtered water tap so we always had drinking water and a mini fridge that the resort would restock daily with whatever you wanted. They provided mini sample sizes of sunscreen, aloe, hand sanitizer, etc. There were two closets that came equipped with a safe for your valuables, a very large cute beach tote, 2 umbrellas and even a flashlight. The shower came stocked with full size luxury shampoo and conditioner with a large bar of soap. You also have a large portable bluetooth speaker in the room for your use. Bring this on the sand cay picnic day! Also, learn how to use a French press before you get there for the coffee in the room in the morning! There is milk and sugar in the bar!

Amenities: The hotel DOES have a fitness center, I have provided photos so you can see all that they have.

BEST DAY: Sand Cay picnic - THIS WAS THE BEST DAY OF OUR LIVES. You are dropped off on a remote island with a Bora Bora Type view with a great picnic . They leave you with a sturdy nokia phone in a water proof bag. It was the most beautiful place I have ever been. We wanted to pay to go another day but it was fully booked, and we understand why.

Sunset Cruise - we booked this for our last day and it was great - We had a great little charcuterie board style snack with champagne as they took us around Beqa island. Seeing the island up close was beautiful. We highly recommend this.

ONLY CON: MOSQUITOS! I wasn't bit often but my husband was swarmed with mosquitos. The boutique has a natural repellent but it didn't work as well as he needed. Please add a deet bug spay to your packing list.

Packing List:
Things I wish I brought: Deet Bug Repellent and Fan. Whether it be a paper hand fan, portable battery hand fan, or little USB portable fan, I wish I had a little breeze every now and then while at lunch/dinner. Liquor from customs is great for making drinks in your room, we got vodka and wished we would have gotten rum to mix with fruit juices.
Things I didn't need: Heels - just wear cute sandals to dinner, the heels are not worth bringing with the luggage requirements. Shampoo/Conditioner - didn't need to bring it because they already had it.

The staff was polite, friendly and wonderful. I really cannot say enough good things about this resort. I promise you will be singing royal davui praises! BOOK THE TRIP AND DON"T LOOK BACK!

You won't get bored! We laid by the pool and beach in between snorkeling, massages, and then had 2 excursions to break up the days. You can also kayak or even stand up paddle board if you want extras to do. They also have a room next to the concierge that contains tons of games and books (pictured) . We hung out here after lunch before departure since it was the only AC space.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: See review - I go into packing lists, etc.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your incredibly detailed review! We're thrilled to hear that Royal Davui exceeded your high expectations and provided a perfect honeymoon experience.
It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the transport, food, snorkeling, and all the amenities our resort offers. We appreciate your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay.
Vinaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$918
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $938
  • Vio.com
    $891
  • Official Site
    $1,047
19.0 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$356
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $324
  • Agoda.com
    $252
  • Hotels.com
    $357
19.7 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $380
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
20.4 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $952
  • ZenHotels.com
20.9 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Beqa Adv Divers boat leaving the dock
$186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
    21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    Pool
    Restaurant
    $185
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
      $186
    • Hotels.com
      $168
    • Priceline
      $185
    21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    $89
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
    • Agoda.com
      $88
    • Expedia.com
      $123
    23.8 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    $258
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
      $261
    • Vio.com
      $225
    • Hotels.com
      $261
    32.2 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    Free parking
    Pool
    $126
    • Expedia.com
      $161
    • Agoda.com
      $106
    • Hotels.com
      $161
    32.7 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Royal Davui Island
    Reviews (650)
    Filter reviews
    650 results
    Traveller rating
    559
    50
    19
    14
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    559
    50
    19
    14
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews royal davui plunge pool fish our honeymoon lunch and dinner other guests sand cay the managers shark dive pacific harbour welcome song nadi airport boat ride crab kava ceremony village visit low tide
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 18 of 650 reviews
    Reviewed 5 May 2024

    Royal Davui is a truly excellent destination. The best that we've been to in Fiji.
    Lovely secluded, intimate island. Very comfortable burés, elevated on the island with great views. Excellent inclusive meals, a great bar and dining area overlooking the Pacific with a wide variety of cocktails and an impressive wine list.
    The best house reef for snorkelling in Fiji, and a circumnavigable island, free swimming or snorkelling. Good accessible diving. Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Anita S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you for your fantastic review! We're honored to hear that you consider Royal Davui to be the best destination in Fiji. It's a privilege to share our secluded and intimate island with you.

    We're especially proud of our house reef and the amazing snorkeling opportunities right off the island.

    We appreciate your high recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.
    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 March 2024

    This resort honestly makes you feel like royalty! Beautiful accommodations, and excellent dining. The snorkeling here is not to be missed. The staff could not be more attentive. They were exceptional. Thank you to Jenn, Abby, La, Matthew,Latiti? , Saki , Joe and Georgy. Georgy your recipe for Kokoda has been added to our family cookbook. Honestly so easy and good!
    I would be remiss not to mention the excellent tropical massage we indulged in also. Thank you ladies! I apologize for names missed or misspelled. This resort is tops on our list to visit again.
    Vinaka Vakalevu and Sota Tale

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Debra B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're delighted that you felt like royalty during your stay and enjoyed your time with us. The team will be thrilled to read your kind words, especially Joji once he sees that his Kokoda recipe has found a place in your family cookbook.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to our little slice of paradise.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 March 2024

    We have been fortunate to spend many holidays in Fiji with our kids and also as a couple celebrating special occasions. Our first time to Royal Davui and we will be back! Absolutely, without doubt the most beautiful island resort with the most amazing community of staff. We've been to a number of the adult only resorts and this one is our favourite so far.

    The resort is in the process of a bit of an overhaul of it's interiors with new furniture and they have done a beautiful job! Retains all the Fijian charm with a modern twist. Very nice job!

    The Villas
    Very large and VERY private. Way more private than any other resort, plenty of space between the villa's, you can't see or hear anyone else. We had a Sunset Villa, which was beautiful to see the sunset from our deck, enjoying a glass of bubbles. The pool was great, not cold like some have said. It was perfect and we used it often! Beautifully clean, serviced twice a day. Very comfy bed and pillows and high quality linens.

    The Food
    Exceptional. Lots of healthy options. Accommodated GF well. Lots of variety. Probably too much food for us, but we just skipped an entree or two.

    The Marine Life
    Amazing. Beqa Island Lagoon provides an awesome reef with beautiful marine life literally right off the beach of the resort. It appears more colourful and alive, perhaps not as damaged as some of the more popular resorts further North that see more traffic.

    The Activities
    Really great quality paddle boards. I'm a massive fan, and enjoyed lapping the Island multiple times. Thank you for the free cocktails for my efforts!! Sand cay picnic definitely worth it. Jetski tour very fun, loved it. Night snorkelling a must. Outer reef tour awesome.We didn't do the sunset cruise but all the guests loved that too. We loved the evening actives, cocktail making, Kava night and crab races. They strike a fine balance of social interaction with group activities whilst retaining privacy for guests.

    The Spa
    We signed up for the Indulgence package and it was well worth it. We thoroughly enjoyed our 45 minute treatment each day. Excellent massages, a beautiful set up.

    The Pool
    Loved the pool area, really well maintained. Always very quiet, beautiful views and an opportunity to have a drink poolside (just raise the flag) and relax and read a book.

    The island attracts a lovely group of guests, with just the perfect mix of social activities and privacy. The Fijians make every resort special, they are just so engaging, personable and connect in a very special way. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a wonderful stay. Chris and Grant and your team, you're amazing. See you soon!

    Room tip: Sunset Villa worth it.
    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank LucyJ5
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you so much for your heartfelt review! We are truly grateful for your kind words and delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at Royal Davui Island Resort.

    It warms our hearts to know that our island has become your favorite among the many beautiful places in Fiji. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the privacy and comfort of our Sunset Villa, the delicious and accommodating food options, and the vibrant marine life right off our beach.

    We’re also thrilled that our activities, from paddle boarding to night snorkeling, added to your enjoyment. Your appreciation for our spa treatments, pool area, and the overall atmosphere of the resort means a lot to us.

    Our team takes great pride in making every guest’s stay special, and it’s fantastic to hear that you felt connected and welcomed by everyone here. Your gratitude inspires us to continue providing exceptional service and unforgettable experiences.

    The entire team can’t wait to welcome you back for another wonderful stay. Thank you again for your kind words and for choosing Royal Davui Island Resort.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 November 2023

    My husband and I chose Royal Davui Island Resort for our two-week Fiji honeymoon, and it surpassed every dream we had for the perfect romantic getaway. From the moment we arrived, we were captivated by the sheer beauty of this intimate adult-only paradise, with its mere 16 villas offering a luxurious and exclusive experience.

    The staff at Royal Davui were not just attentive, but they truly cared about ensuring our stay was beyond exceptional. Their warmth and friendliness added an extra layer of delight to every moment. And speaking of moments, the food! It was not just excellent but delightfully varied and fresh.

    Our first week in a sunset villa was stunning. The view of the sunset was breathtaking and the villa itself was luxurious. It felt like stepping into a dream every time we opened the door.

    For our second week in the lagoon villa, while it was equally stunning with its view of Beqa Island and the lagoon, it was slightly more windy. It offered a different perspective and equally stole our hearts.

    The activities at Royal Davui were absolute gems. We highly recommend indulging in them all. From the romantic sand cay picnic and the sunset cruise, each experience was a highlight. Visiting the village school was heartwarming, and activities like fishing and jet-skiing injected a dose of excitement into our days.

    And let's not forget the spa! A sanctuary of relaxation and rejuvenation. The personalized massages were a divine treat, leaving us feeling pampered and relaxed.

    Our Fiji honeymoon couldn't have been more perfect, thanks to everyone at Royal Davui Island Resort. It's an experience that will forever be remembered in our hearts. Vinaka for creating memories that will last a lifetime. <3

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Clarence G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're thrilled to hear that Royal Davui Island Resort made your honeymoon so special. It’s fantastic that you enjoyed everything from the stunning villas and delicious food to the activities and spa treatments.

    Your kind words about our team’s care and friendliness mean a lot to us. We’re so happy that we could help make your time here memorable and fun.

    We can't wait to welcome you both back someday!

    Vinaka vakalevu,

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 November 2023 via mobile

    We are actually stayed a bit earlier in the year than this but this is the earliest I can date the review to. I have been meaning to do this for so long. We are going to hopefully rebook and felt they certainly deserved a great review given we are going to come there again!

    It is such an amazing place. The attention to detail is amazing. The food is incredible and it is in the most beautiful beautiful spot. We really can’t wait to come back

    Date of stay: December 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank bluedigby1066
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you for your kind words! We're so glad to hear that you had an amazing time at Royal Davui Island Resort. Your compliments about our attention to detail, the food, and the beautiful location mean a lot to us. We can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible stay!
    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews