We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Clarence G
Dreamy Honeymoon in Fiji
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Nov 2023
My husband and I chose Royal Davui Island Resort for our two-week Fiji honeymoon, and it surpassed every dream we had for the perfect romantic getaway. From the moment we arrived, we were captivated by the sheer beauty of this intimate adult-only paradise, with its mere 16 villas offering a luxurious and exclusive experience.

The staff at Royal Davui were not just attentive, but they truly cared about ensuring our stay was beyond exceptional. Their warmth and friendliness added an extra layer of delight to every moment. And speaking of moments, the food! It was not just excellent but delightfully varied and fresh.

Our first week in a sunset villa was stunning. The view of the sunset was breathtaking and the villa itself was luxurious. It felt like stepping into a dream every time we opened the door.

For our second week in the lagoon villa, while it was equally stunning with its view of Beqa Island and the lagoon, it was slightly more windy. It offered a different perspective and equally stole our hearts.

The activities at Royal Davui were absolute gems. We highly recommend indulging in them all. From the romantic sand cay picnic and the sunset cruise, each experience was a highlight. Visiting the village school was heartwarming, and activities like fishing and jet-skiing injected a dose of excitement into our days.

And let's not forget the spa! A sanctuary of relaxation and rejuvenation. The personalized massages were a divine treat, leaving us feeling pampered and relaxed.

Our Fiji honeymoon couldn't have been more perfect, thanks to everyone at Royal Davui Island Resort. It's an experience that will forever be remembered in our hearts. Vinaka for creating memories that will last a lifetime. <3
Date of stay: October 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$805
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    $808
  • Agoda.com
    $559
  • Expedia.com
    $712
19.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$293
  • Expedia.com
    $313
  • Vio.com
    $248
  • Priceline
    $449
19.8 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Vio.com
$92
  • Trip.com
    $161
  • Agoda.com
    $149
  • travelup.com
    $162
20.4 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
$1,043
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $1,043
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,043
  • Priceline
20.9 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Beqa Adv Divers boat leaving the dock
Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
    $184
21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
$184
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $184
  • Agoda.com
    $137
21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Booking.com
$77
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $88
  • Agoda.com
    $77
  • Hotels.com
    $79
23.8 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Booking.com
$257
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $257
  • Expedia.com
    $257
  • Hotels.com
    $257
32.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$128
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • Vio.com
    $82
  • Expedia.com
    $128
32.8 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
ZenHotels.com
$272
  • StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
37.4 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Royal Davui Island
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
547
48
19
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
547
48
19
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal davui plunge pool fish our honeymoon lunch and dinner other guests sand cay the managers shark dive pacific harbour welcome song nadi airport boat ride crab kava ceremony village visit low tide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2023 via mobile

We are actually stayed a bit earlier in the year than this but this is the earliest I can date the review to. I have been meaning to do this for so long. We are going to hopefully rebook and felt they certainly deserved a great review given we are going to come there again!

It is such an amazing place. The attention to detail is amazing. The food is incredible and it is in the most beautiful beautiful spot. We really can’t wait to come back

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bluedigby1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2023

Trip of a lifetime! No regrets! It's worth every penny! Just GO! Sunset Villas are DEFINITELY worth it. Opt for Villa 5 if you can...has sunset views off the end of the deck (so the lowering sun isn't direct into the villa), and full ocean views across all the decks. Turn off the lights and go out at night to gaze at the stars. UNBELIEVABLE. The service...could NOT ask for better. Go to the bar early before dinner...you'll make friends for a lifetime. If you're up for adventure, take the day trip to raft the Upper Navau River... oh... my... heavens... never seen so many waterfalls! The Sand Cay...just WOW! We went to celebrate our 30th Anniversary and my husband's survival of a major medical crisis. We simply could not have picked a better place to celebrate! Just GO!

Room tip: The sunset villas are the best!
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023

We had the pleasure of staying here for our 1 year anniversary/honeymoon and what a stunning place and time we had!

We took a small plane from the airport and then a quick boat ride over to Davui. The grounds are beautiful and extremely well maintained. The staff sings their beautiful welcome song and we were also treated to a rocking version of Happy Birthday for Sake, a guest experiences manager. We were given our schedule for the week of scuba, massages and other activities. Sake & Nia were absolutely wonderful in accommodating our requests and schedule.

We stayed in Villa 9 which is set essentially right on the beach. We opted for a lagoon plunge pool bungalow - and honestly, I think all of the villas are gorgeous, well appointed with amazing views. We were typically at the restaurant/bar around sunset so did not feel the need to splurge on the sunset villa view. The housekeeping staff (Marica, Sera, Cathy and Uwe) did an excellent job and our mini bar and banana bread/cookies were always plentiful. The retractable roof was such a gift and wonderful feature. The plunge pool was cold but super refreshing and we had AMAZING snorkeling right outside of our door. One thing to note at least the time of year that we were there, it was quite windy at our villa but once you got back up to the main reception/bar, it was much more calm. We enjoyed it but may not be for everyone.

The restaurant/bar absolutely exceeded our expectations. The cocktail menu is quite extensive and Joe and David took excellent care of us every night! Joe made us classic Manhattans and one of the best espresso martinis we have enjoyed! Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all delicious. Definitely try the pineapple upside down cakes! It is a LOT of food - 3 courses for both lunch and dinner but we really enjoyed everything and sometimes opted to share some courses as we were getting full! A big big thank you to the front of house staff who knew your name day 1, knew your likes and dislikes quickly and were always a welcome smile to see morning, noon and night. To La, Linny, Eva, Lydia, Charley, Joe & David - thank you for making our trip so memorable! We loved getting to know all of you. To the kitchen staff, Jope, Una, Pete & Sam - thank you for all of the delicious options!

Do not skip the spa - we enjoyed 3 massages from Sharon and La in a gorgeous setting. They were so kind and wow - we left feeling so relaxed and grateful. We also did the sunset cruise which was AWESOME. So gorgeous, you are treated to traditional Fijian music played by someone from the staff, a charcuterie board and champagne on the boat. We were so happy we chose to do that.

Part of the reason why we chose Royal Davui is because we wanted to do the shark dive of the Beqa Lagoon and we were not disappointed. It was freaking epic! The diving in general was really exquisite and we saw a number of sea creatures that I didn't know I would see in a lifetime. This includes the electric clam, octopus, different types of nudibranchs, barracuda and sharks. Appy was our divemaster for the majority of the week and it was such a pleasure to dive with him and get to know him. We also dove with Fraiser who found a Flabellina nudi which thrilled me to no end! A huge thank you to the entire marine team including Kesa, Jim, KB, Simi, Bill, Ben, Seko and Mes - they assisted us with taking out the little hobie cat, supplying towels, keeping our dive gear ready and clean - and made us feel totally at home, comfortable and excited to see all that Fiji has to offer in the sea.

If you are considering visiting the Beqa Lagoon, we would absolutely recommend Royal Davui and can't wait to return for another visit. From the hospitality of the staff, the warm smiles and genuine desire for you to enjoy their country, to the absolutely gorgeous reef footsteps from your villa, the excellent food and beverage options, and the beautiful villas, you would have to work pretty hard to be disappointed here. We certainly felt like family during our stay at Royal Davui. A big thank you again to everyone who made our honeymoon so memorable! To Chris and Grant, you have created a really special place and we can't wait to come back!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 990emiliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2023

After searching for the right place for a week's escape to Fiji, our internet search couldn't go past Royal Davui. The booking was seamless over the internet with the booking process giving us a wide range of options for travel to and from the island as well as for excursions over our stay.
Pick up at Nadi was simple as. We had chosen to take the road trip to try and see a little more of Fiji on the way to our holiday island and, if you have the time, this is a good call to learn a little more about what the buzz is in Fiji. Pick up from Pacific Harbour was simple and we were soon heading across the lagoon to Royal Davui.
Our welcome was warm and inviting and we were soon happily exploring our stunningly beautiful Sunset Villa. We were suitably gobsmacked at the Villa. From then on, for the next six days, we were simply pampered beyond belief. As many have mentioned, the dining is superb. You simply had to go to breakfast each day simply to try to pick your menu items for lunch and dinner from the amazing menu which changed every day. The dining area was superb, looking out over Beqa lagoon. Of course, the staff were all amazing, with everyone greeting you by first name within the first 24 hours of your arrival. It might be a little helpful if the staff name badges were a little more obvious as it was embarrassing to not to be able to return the respect of being able to call staff by their first names.

You could do as little or as much as you liked while on the island. We chose the "little" option and simply chilled and refreshed after a hard year's work. We did the Sand Cay picnic which was well worth it, but otherwise we simply chilled, ate, drank and slept. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the nicest but apart from one very chilly day (and it was actually COLD!) the weather did not stop us from doing anything.
The plane trip back to Nadi was a great experience with stunning views of the inner reef, although having to do two trips to get our bags to Nadi had us a little worried about meeting our flight connection. The bags did arrive in time to have a sneaky drink in the Nadi Koru before flying home.
The island is superbly run, the staff are unfailingly warm, engaging, friendly and helpful, the food is sumptuous, the location is totally amazing and the Villas are fit for a King (or Queen). We will be back

Room tip: Just chill!
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 154JohnC154
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

After staying in Feb at a more up-market island resort, we searched far and wide for an adults only private island and found Royal Davui. It's a terrific compromise between super luxe and active resort holiday - if you a willing to compromise a bit on either. It's not posh, pretentious nor particularly tropical 'phoney' like some larger resorts. But a personal feel pervades with max of 32 guests. The owners are on hand to sort out most issues and coordinate staff and schedules.
The Sunset Villa with tremendous reef and water views was well designed and one of the most comfortable holiday accommodations we've had. The mosquito nets over the bed made it very romantic - plus there were probably no mosquitoes anyway!
But watch the extra activitie$$$. We were given almost no information about a sand cay snorkel that turned out to be a waste of time and money due to a strong current. You might need to be a very strong swimmer, if things don't go your way, so find out first! Plus the price includes a big picnic hampee you might not want, since the schedule seems to be about tide times not whether you are due to have lunch.
However the Fijian-Asian fusion style cuisine for all the resorts restaurant meals was was superb. Most evenings there was entertainment which helped break the ice,as is sometimes needed with the other guests and important at such a small resort. The drinks list was not too expensive or extensive. Generous hospitality was the general flavour.
And, as ever in Fiji it seems, the staff were fantastic. A trip to a local village school at nearby Beqa Island gave us a much better perspective than just hanging by the pool or snorkelling out front of the villa!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lauradveltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

Bula Lauradveltman,

Thank you for your thoughtful review of your recent stay at Royal Davui. We appreciate your candid feedback and are pleased to hear that you found our resort to strike a balance between luxury and an active holiday. Your appreciation for the personal atmosphere, comfortable accommodations, and our Fijian-Asian fusion cuisine is truly heartwarming.

We're sorry to hear about any misunderstanding with the sand cay picnic. We do advertise it as taking only one couple out at a time rather than it being a group activity. The Sand Cay is more about the picnic experience than it is a snorkelling excursion. We do offer group snorkelling tours either around the island and to the outer reef and definitely take your feedback into account.

We're glad that you enjoyed the entertainment, the drinks, and the generous hospitality provided by our staff. It's wonderful to know that the trip to the local village school added a meaningful dimension to your stay.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews