We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
CA-OKLA
Tulsa, Oklahoma

Just GO!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Oct 2023
Trip of a lifetime! No regrets! It's worth every penny! Just GO! Sunset Villas are DEFINITELY worth it. Opt for Villa 5 if you can...has sunset views off the end of the deck (so the lowering sun isn't direct into the villa), and full ocean views across all the decks. Turn off the lights and go out at night to gaze at the stars. UNBELIEVABLE. The service...could NOT ask for better. Go to the bar early before dinner...you'll make friends for a lifetime. If you're up for adventure, take the day trip to raft the Upper Navau River... oh... my... heavens... never seen so many waterfalls! The Sand Cay...just WOW! We went to celebrate our 30th Anniversary and my husband's survival of a major medical crisis. We simply could not have picked a better place to celebrate! Just GO!
Date of stay: November 2022
Room Tip: The sunset villas are the best!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$301
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
19.7 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
travelup.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • Trip.com
20.4 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$1,030
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,030
  • Priceline
20.9 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • Agoda.com
21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Priceline
32.2 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $205
  • Hotels.com
32.7 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $389
  • Priceline
37.4 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $158
  • Trip.com
  • Destinia.com
39.2 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $434
  • Algotels
42.9 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Royal Davui Island
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
551
49
19
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
551
49
19
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal davui plunge pool fish our honeymoon lunch and dinner other guests sand cay the managers shark dive pacific harbour welcome song nadi airport boat ride crab kava ceremony village visit low tide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2023

We had the pleasure of staying here for our 1 year anniversary/honeymoon and what a stunning place and time we had!

We took a small plane from the airport and then a quick boat ride over to Davui. The grounds are beautiful and extremely well maintained. The staff sings their beautiful welcome song and we were also treated to a rocking version of Happy Birthday for Sake, a guest experiences manager. We were given our schedule for the week of scuba, massages and other activities. Sake & Nia were absolutely wonderful in accommodating our requests and schedule.

We stayed in Villa 9 which is set essentially right on the beach. We opted for a lagoon plunge pool bungalow - and honestly, I think all of the villas are gorgeous, well appointed with amazing views. We were typically at the restaurant/bar around sunset so did not feel the need to splurge on the sunset villa view. The housekeeping staff (Marica, Sera, Cathy and Uwe) did an excellent job and our mini bar and banana bread/cookies were always plentiful. The retractable roof was such a gift and wonderful feature. The plunge pool was cold but super refreshing and we had AMAZING snorkeling right outside of our door. One thing to note at least the time of year that we were there, it was quite windy at our villa but once you got back up to the main reception/bar, it was much more calm. We enjoyed it but may not be for everyone.

The restaurant/bar absolutely exceeded our expectations. The cocktail menu is quite extensive and Joe and David took excellent care of us every night! Joe made us classic Manhattans and one of the best espresso martinis we have enjoyed! Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all delicious. Definitely try the pineapple upside down cakes! It is a LOT of food - 3 courses for both lunch and dinner but we really enjoyed everything and sometimes opted to share some courses as we were getting full! A big big thank you to the front of house staff who knew your name day 1, knew your likes and dislikes quickly and were always a welcome smile to see morning, noon and night. To La, Linny, Eva, Lydia, Charley, Joe & David - thank you for making our trip so memorable! We loved getting to know all of you. To the kitchen staff, Jope, Una, Pete & Sam - thank you for all of the delicious options!

Do not skip the spa - we enjoyed 3 massages from Sharon and La in a gorgeous setting. They were so kind and wow - we left feeling so relaxed and grateful. We also did the sunset cruise which was AWESOME. So gorgeous, you are treated to traditional Fijian music played by someone from the staff, a charcuterie board and champagne on the boat. We were so happy we chose to do that.

Part of the reason why we chose Royal Davui is because we wanted to do the shark dive of the Beqa Lagoon and we were not disappointed. It was freaking epic! The diving in general was really exquisite and we saw a number of sea creatures that I didn't know I would see in a lifetime. This includes the electric clam, octopus, different types of nudibranchs, barracuda and sharks. Appy was our divemaster for the majority of the week and it was such a pleasure to dive with him and get to know him. We also dove with Fraiser who found a Flabellina nudi which thrilled me to no end! A huge thank you to the entire marine team including Kesa, Jim, KB, Simi, Bill, Ben, Seko and Mes - they assisted us with taking out the little hobie cat, supplying towels, keeping our dive gear ready and clean - and made us feel totally at home, comfortable and excited to see all that Fiji has to offer in the sea.

If you are considering visiting the Beqa Lagoon, we would absolutely recommend Royal Davui and can't wait to return for another visit. From the hospitality of the staff, the warm smiles and genuine desire for you to enjoy their country, to the absolutely gorgeous reef footsteps from your villa, the excellent food and beverage options, and the beautiful villas, you would have to work pretty hard to be disappointed here. We certainly felt like family during our stay at Royal Davui. A big thank you again to everyone who made our honeymoon so memorable! To Chris and Grant, you have created a really special place and we can't wait to come back!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 990emiliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2023

After searching for the right place for a week's escape to Fiji, our internet search couldn't go past Royal Davui. The booking was seamless over the internet with the booking process giving us a wide range of options for travel to and from the island as well as for excursions over our stay.
Pick up at Nadi was simple as. We had chosen to take the road trip to try and see a little more of Fiji on the way to our holiday island and, if you have the time, this is a good call to learn a little more about what the buzz is in Fiji. Pick up from Pacific Harbour was simple and we were soon heading across the lagoon to Royal Davui.
Our welcome was warm and inviting and we were soon happily exploring our stunningly beautiful Sunset Villa. We were suitably gobsmacked at the Villa. From then on, for the next six days, we were simply pampered beyond belief. As many have mentioned, the dining is superb. You simply had to go to breakfast each day simply to try to pick your menu items for lunch and dinner from the amazing menu which changed every day. The dining area was superb, looking out over Beqa lagoon. Of course, the staff were all amazing, with everyone greeting you by first name within the first 24 hours of your arrival. It might be a little helpful if the staff name badges were a little more obvious as it was embarrassing to not to be able to return the respect of being able to call staff by their first names.

You could do as little or as much as you liked while on the island. We chose the "little" option and simply chilled and refreshed after a hard year's work. We did the Sand Cay picnic which was well worth it, but otherwise we simply chilled, ate, drank and slept. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the nicest but apart from one very chilly day (and it was actually COLD!) the weather did not stop us from doing anything.
The plane trip back to Nadi was a great experience with stunning views of the inner reef, although having to do two trips to get our bags to Nadi had us a little worried about meeting our flight connection. The bags did arrive in time to have a sneaky drink in the Nadi Koru before flying home.
The island is superbly run, the staff are unfailingly warm, engaging, friendly and helpful, the food is sumptuous, the location is totally amazing and the Villas are fit for a King (or Queen). We will be back

Room tip: Just chill!
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 154JohnC154
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

After staying in Feb at a more up-market island resort, we searched far and wide for an adults only private island and found Royal Davui. It's a terrific compromise between super luxe and active resort holiday - if you a willing to compromise a bit on either. It's not posh, pretentious nor particularly tropical 'phoney' like some larger resorts. But a personal feel pervades with max of 32 guests. The owners are on hand to sort out most issues and coordinate staff and schedules.
The Sunset Villa with tremendous reef and water views was well designed and one of the most comfortable holiday accommodations we've had. The mosquito nets over the bed made it very romantic - plus there were probably no mosquitoes anyway!
But watch the extra activitie$$$. We were given almost no information about a sand cay snorkel that turned out to be a waste of time and money due to a strong current. You might need to be a very strong swimmer, if things don't go your way, so find out first! Plus the price includes a big picnic hampee you might not want, since the schedule seems to be about tide times not whether you are due to have lunch.
However the Fijian-Asian fusion style cuisine for all the resorts restaurant meals was was superb. Most evenings there was entertainment which helped break the ice,as is sometimes needed with the other guests and important at such a small resort. The drinks list was not too expensive or extensive. Generous hospitality was the general flavour.
And, as ever in Fiji it seems, the staff were fantastic. A trip to a local village school at nearby Beqa Island gave us a much better perspective than just hanging by the pool or snorkelling out front of the villa!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lauradveltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

Bula Lauradveltman,

Thank you for your thoughtful review of your recent stay at Royal Davui. We appreciate your candid feedback and are pleased to hear that you found our resort to strike a balance between luxury and an active holiday. Your appreciation for the personal atmosphere, comfortable accommodations, and our Fijian-Asian fusion cuisine is truly heartwarming.

We're sorry to hear about any misunderstanding with the sand cay picnic. We do advertise it as taking only one couple out at a time rather than it being a group activity. The Sand Cay is more about the picnic experience than it is a snorkelling excursion. We do offer group snorkelling tours either around the island and to the outer reef and definitely take your feedback into account.

We're glad that you enjoyed the entertainment, the drinks, and the generous hospitality provided by our staff. It's wonderful to know that the trip to the local village school added a meaningful dimension to your stay.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2023

I recently had the privilege of staying at the Royal Davui Island Resort with my husband. The attention to detail, the ambiance, and the amenities, from private plunge pools to amazing spa treatments, are unparalleled. The resort exudes elegance and privacy, making it a perfect sanctuary. However, what truly differentiates Royal Davui is its team. Their dedication and warmth make you feel like family, creating an atmosphere where you arrive as guests but leave feeling like family. The culinary experience was top-notch, and the location in Fiji's Beqa Lagoon is simply breathtaking. If you're looking for the pinnacle of Fijian luxury, this is it!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ange M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

Bula Angem,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Royal Davui Island Resort. We're thrilled to know you enjoyed the warmth of our team. We're so pleased to read that we provided you with a memorable stay and a true family-like atmosphere. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon to continue providing exceptional experiences.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2023

My husband and I have travelled quite a bit, but we both agreed that this is by far the BEST resort we have ever stayed at!! We were there for 5 nights to celebrate our honeymoon, and it truly was out of a fairytale. Couldn't have imagined a better place for the dream honeymoon!

To start, we were in Villa 13 which we loved. It seemed that although that side of the island gets much windier in the afternoon, the mornings were filled with lots of warmth and sunshine - perfect to sun tan on our deck and use the plunge pool. This room also had great privacy, versus many of the others, even the more expensive sunset villas, were not nearly as private (ie. overlooking the dock where Royal Davui boats pull in and out of throughout the day). We would definitely stay in Villa 13 again, no doubt!

And of course, the villa itself was GORGEOUS. Beautiful interior but even more beautiful exterior overlooking a reef and Beqa Island. You can see every color of the ocean from up there, it was stunning. We spent a whole day up there sun tanning and swimming.

Now, we didn't come to Fiji for the food...I don't think most do. So we didn't know what to expect but Royal Davui blew it out of the water. We had started our trip at the Double Tree on the main island, and after eating there for 2 days, we were praying Royal Davui would be better, but we didn't know what to expect. Not only was the food better, it was some of the best meals I've had while staying at an all inclusive resort. All inclusives aren't typically known for their food but we were so pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was the same menu every day, but with so many options, we never got bored and each item was amazing. Lunch was 3 courses, and dinner was 4 - with different options to choose from each day. We started having to not order some of the appetizers later in the trip because were constantly so full and so well fed! But then we were sad because everything was so good, we just wanted to try it all. The bar is amazing as well - try the lychee daiquiri and the passion fruit margarita for sure! We were fueled on those for the whole trip :)

And of course the island itself - so many endless activities. We especially enjoyed all of the fun community activities each night. It was a great way to get to know the other guests, as it is such a small resort, you truly get to know everyone. From the Kava ceremony to the crab racing and the cocktail tasting. Every night was a new social event (optional of course) and it was great to have a place to be and hang out after the sun went down. We didn't splurge on too many of the extra activities because there were already so many free things to do, but we did do a couples massage and the Sand Cay trip - which was AMAZING. If there's anything you pay extra for, DO THE SAND CAY TRIP! Be sure to book activities early on in your stay because they can fill up. We also recommend making a reservation to eat lunch or dinner at one of the private dinner spots (free, but book early). This was super special!

However, the thing that makes Royal Davui so special is the staff - every review attests to it as well. Each and every staff member was warm and welcoming, they all made an effort to remember our names and chat with us and check in every day. They say you arrive at Royal Davui as strangers, but leave as family and that is the most true statement!! I can't list everyone who helped us or was kind to us, but we especially want to thank Sake, Lewa, Lini, Eva, Joe, Charlie, David, La, Kesa, and so many more...!!!

Lastly, for those that are wondering or reading through the reviews like I was before coming, filtered water is provided throughout the island so you don't need to worry about buying or bringing bottled water. At the Double Tree, we stuck to bottles, but at Royal Davui, everything was clean and safe - each villa is even equipped with its own water filter at the bar sink for you to drink from.

Overall, this was the most amazing honeymoon, and we can't wait to make this a tradition to come back to Royal Davui for future anniversaries!! It will always hold a special place in our hearts. THANK YOU ROYAL DAVUI TEAM!!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mikayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

Bula Vinaka Mikaylam,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Royal Davui Resort! We're absolutely delighted that your honeymoon surpassed expectations and that you found our villa, food, and activities to your liking. Your kind words about the team mean a lot, and we're thrilled to have made your honeymoon memorable.
Thank you once again for choosing Royal Davui Resort for such a special occasion. We can't wait to welcome you back for future anniversaries and continue creating unforgettable memories together. Until then, sending you warm wishes and congratulations on your journey as newlyweds!
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews