We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lauradveltman

Luxe meets Grown Up Activities at Island Resort

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Aug 2023
After staying in Feb at a more up-market island resort, we searched far and wide for an adults only private island and found Royal Davui. It's a terrific compromise between super luxe and active resort holiday - if you a willing to compromise a bit on either. It's not posh, pretentious nor particularly tropical 'phoney' like some larger resorts. But a personal feel pervades with max of 32 guests. The owners are on hand to sort out most issues and coordinate staff and schedules.
The Sunset Villa with tremendous reef and water views was well designed and one of the most comfortable holiday accommodations we've had. The mosquito nets over the bed made it very romantic - plus there were probably no mosquitoes anyway!
But watch the extra activitie$$$. We were given almost no information about a sand cay snorkel that turned out to be a waste of time and money due to a strong current. You might need to be a very strong swimmer, if things don't go your way, so find out first! Plus the price includes a big picnic hampee you might not want, since the schedule seems to be about tide times not whether you are due to have lunch.
However the Fijian-Asian fusion style cuisine for all the resorts restaurant meals was was superb. Most evenings there was entertainment which helped break the ice,as is sometimes needed with the other guests and important at such a small resort. The drinks list was not too expensive or extensive. Generous hospitality was the general flavour.
And, as ever in Fiji it seems, the staff were fantastic. A trip to a local village school at nearby Beqa Island gave us a much better perspective than just hanging by the pool or snorkelling out front of the villa!
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 12 Aug 2023
Bula Lauradveltman,

Thank you for your thoughtful review of your recent stay at Royal Davui. We appreciate your candid feedback and are pleased to hear that you found our resort to strike a balance between luxury and an active holiday. Your appreciation for the personal atmosphere, comfortable accommodations, and our Fijian-Asian fusion cuisine is truly heartwarming.

We're sorry to hear about any misunderstanding with the sand cay picnic. We do advertise it as taking only one couple out at a time rather than it being a group activity. The Sand Cay is more about the picnic experience than it is a snorkelling excursion. We do offer group snorkelling tours either around the island and to the outer reef and definitely take your feedback into account.

We're glad that you enjoyed the entertainment, the drinks, and the generous hospitality provided by our staff. It's wonderful to know that the trip to the local village school added a meaningful dimension to your stay.

Vinaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$917
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $798
  • Agoda.com
    $658
  • ZenHotels.com
    $860
19.0 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$276
  • Expedia.com
    $301
  • Agoda.com
    $242
  • Priceline
    $317
19.7 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Trip.com
$196
  • Vio.com
    $91
  • Agoda.com
    $116
  • travelup.com
    $205
20.4 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
$1,030
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $1,031
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,030
  • Priceline
20.9 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Beqa Adv Divers boat leaving the dock
Agoda.com
$207
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
  • Lol.travel
21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$207
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • Agoda.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $207
21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Booking.com
$76
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $86
  • Hotels.com
    $78
  • Agoda.com
    $76
23.8 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Booking.com
$254
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $282
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Vio.com
    $254
32.2 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$163
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
    $194
32.7 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
ZenHotels.com
$386
  • StayForLong
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
37.4 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Royal Davui Island
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
551
49
19
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
551
49
19
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal davui plunge pool fish our honeymoon lunch and dinner other guests sand cay the managers shark dive pacific harbour welcome song nadi airport boat ride crab kava ceremony village visit low tide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2023

I recently had the privilege of staying at the Royal Davui Island Resort with my husband. The attention to detail, the ambiance, and the amenities, from private plunge pools to amazing spa treatments, are unparalleled. The resort exudes elegance and privacy, making it a perfect sanctuary. However, what truly differentiates Royal Davui is its team. Their dedication and warmth make you feel like family, creating an atmosphere where you arrive as guests but leave feeling like family. The culinary experience was top-notch, and the location in Fiji's Beqa Lagoon is simply breathtaking. If you're looking for the pinnacle of Fijian luxury, this is it!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ange M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

Bula Angem,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Royal Davui Island Resort. We're thrilled to know you enjoyed the warmth of our team. We're so pleased to read that we provided you with a memorable stay and a true family-like atmosphere. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon to continue providing exceptional experiences.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2023

My husband and I have travelled quite a bit, but we both agreed that this is by far the BEST resort we have ever stayed at!! We were there for 5 nights to celebrate our honeymoon, and it truly was out of a fairytale. Couldn't have imagined a better place for the dream honeymoon!

To start, we were in Villa 13 which we loved. It seemed that although that side of the island gets much windier in the afternoon, the mornings were filled with lots of warmth and sunshine - perfect to sun tan on our deck and use the plunge pool. This room also had great privacy, versus many of the others, even the more expensive sunset villas, were not nearly as private (ie. overlooking the dock where Royal Davui boats pull in and out of throughout the day). We would definitely stay in Villa 13 again, no doubt!

And of course, the villa itself was GORGEOUS. Beautiful interior but even more beautiful exterior overlooking a reef and Beqa Island. You can see every color of the ocean from up there, it was stunning. We spent a whole day up there sun tanning and swimming.

Now, we didn't come to Fiji for the food...I don't think most do. So we didn't know what to expect but Royal Davui blew it out of the water. We had started our trip at the Double Tree on the main island, and after eating there for 2 days, we were praying Royal Davui would be better, but we didn't know what to expect. Not only was the food better, it was some of the best meals I've had while staying at an all inclusive resort. All inclusives aren't typically known for their food but we were so pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was the same menu every day, but with so many options, we never got bored and each item was amazing. Lunch was 3 courses, and dinner was 4 - with different options to choose from each day. We started having to not order some of the appetizers later in the trip because were constantly so full and so well fed! But then we were sad because everything was so good, we just wanted to try it all. The bar is amazing as well - try the lychee daiquiri and the passion fruit margarita for sure! We were fueled on those for the whole trip :)

And of course the island itself - so many endless activities. We especially enjoyed all of the fun community activities each night. It was a great way to get to know the other guests, as it is such a small resort, you truly get to know everyone. From the Kava ceremony to the crab racing and the cocktail tasting. Every night was a new social event (optional of course) and it was great to have a place to be and hang out after the sun went down. We didn't splurge on too many of the extra activities because there were already so many free things to do, but we did do a couples massage and the Sand Cay trip - which was AMAZING. If there's anything you pay extra for, DO THE SAND CAY TRIP! Be sure to book activities early on in your stay because they can fill up. We also recommend making a reservation to eat lunch or dinner at one of the private dinner spots (free, but book early). This was super special!

However, the thing that makes Royal Davui so special is the staff - every review attests to it as well. Each and every staff member was warm and welcoming, they all made an effort to remember our names and chat with us and check in every day. They say you arrive at Royal Davui as strangers, but leave as family and that is the most true statement!! I can't list everyone who helped us or was kind to us, but we especially want to thank Sake, Lewa, Lini, Eva, Joe, Charlie, David, La, Kesa, and so many more...!!!

Lastly, for those that are wondering or reading through the reviews like I was before coming, filtered water is provided throughout the island so you don't need to worry about buying or bringing bottled water. At the Double Tree, we stuck to bottles, but at Royal Davui, everything was clean and safe - each villa is even equipped with its own water filter at the bar sink for you to drink from.

Overall, this was the most amazing honeymoon, and we can't wait to make this a tradition to come back to Royal Davui for future anniversaries!! It will always hold a special place in our hearts. THANK YOU ROYAL DAVUI TEAM!!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mikayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

Bula Vinaka Mikaylam,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Royal Davui Resort! We're absolutely delighted that your honeymoon surpassed expectations and that you found our villa, food, and activities to your liking. Your kind words about the team mean a lot, and we're thrilled to have made your honeymoon memorable.
Thank you once again for choosing Royal Davui Resort for such a special occasion. We can't wait to welcome you back for future anniversaries and continue creating unforgettable memories together. Until then, sending you warm wishes and congratulations on your journey as newlyweds!
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2023

Royal Davui was great, very relaxing, beautiful and a perfect getaway. My husband and I went in Oct the weather was perfect all day, the sunsets were amazing. We enjoyed our villa with a sunset view but I do believe each villa has great view. All the staff were very friendly and happy to help with anything. The food was great and different each day. We enjoyed snorkeling at least twice per day, we went once with a staff member and since we were stringer swimmers he snorkeled us around the entire island-we were tired when we got back that is for sure. We enjoyed the spa services as much as our time there would allow. The only thing we didn’t like is the scheduling of extra things to do. We found that we arrived on the island a couple hours late to do something that was only once a week. We also felt that we didn’t get all the times and things we wanted just because we couldn’t book until we got there. We would have done a massage everyday but the schedule was full.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S-JY95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2023

Bula Vinaka!
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Royal Davui with us.

We're thrilled to hear that you had a relaxing and beautiful stay with us, and that you enjoyed the perfect weather and stunning sunsets. We're glad to know that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the great food and snorkeling.

I'm sorry to hear that the Spa was fully booked on your arrival.
We offer guests the opportunity to pre-book their spa and activities via an online pre-arrival form. However depending on how guests book Royal Davui, we're not always able to get the form to them, as we're not always supplied with guest contact details.

We encourage anyone looking to stay (especially during our peak season) to contact the resort at least 4-5 weeks out from arrival to ensure we have your contact details to get the pre-arrival form to you.
Please visit the resort website (we're unable to post links in our replies) to contact the resort.

Given their popularity, I would recommend pre-booking the sand cay, spa, diving and dive courses ahead of time.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you back soon.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2023

This is an outstanding resort. The service before arrival and at the resort was excellent, both friendly and helpful. The resort itself was very well maintained with the Villas looking quite new (I understand after a recent renovation). The food choices were changed each day and were well presented. It also has a very good house reef with a good range of coral and tropical fish which makes it excellent for snorkelling. However while its more remote location makes it a great alternative to the more busy Denarau resorts it also makes it less straightforward to get there and back. Overall though it is definitely worth a visit for a great holiday.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2023

Bula Vinaka Chris
Thank you so much for your review!

We're thrilled to hear that you had an outstanding experience at our resort. We take pride in our friendly and helpful service and are glad to know that it showed before and during your stay.

It's also great to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated villas (with more in the works!) and the varied food options.

Getting around Fiji can be a little tricky if you want to explore the less touristy parts, so my recommendation would be to reach out to the resort to chat about your specific needs. We have a few tricks up our sleeves to make the transfer process as simple as possible.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon for another great holiday!

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2023

Bulla! This was our second trip to Royal Davui, and despite some apprehension about whether it would be as good the second time around, we were delighted to find it was even better than the first. Royal Davui ticks all our boxes, including no kids, peaceful, food inclusive, private plunge pool, and amazing staff. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

Reception
- When you arrive and depart Royal Davui, there are welcome and farewell songs. And for our anniversary, the team sang for us as well. So, so magical.
- The ladies at Reception - divine. So fun, and nothing is ever too much trouble.
- There are some traditional Fijian artefacts for sale in Reception, sun screen, personal hygiene products etc, but I would be keen to see some more locally made products ie necklaces, etc.

Food & drinks
- The food is plentiful, fresh, and divine. And sooooo many options to choose from. At breakfast, you are presented with options for lunch and dinner - usually three options for starters and mains. It is evident that the team is trying to cater to a variety of tastes. We are still salivating at the thought of some of those delicious meals we enjoyed.
- One day, I wasn't feeling so well, and we were able to have our food delivered to our room instead of in the main restaurant. Thanks Linny!
- Recommend doing the cooking course too (free). Always wonderful to hear from the team about Fijian way of cooking. We are looking forward to trying what we learned at home.
- Cocktails are delicious, and after attending the (free) cocktail tasting class, we tried a few more, different than we would normally try.
- If you haven't tried kava, we suggest trying it at the kava ceremony (free) for the experience. We don't fancy the taste (looks and tastes like dishwater), and it does numb your tongue. Fun!
- Also do the crab race (free), which is great fun! But watch your fingers. Crab bites hurt like h*ll!
- Fantastic, fantastic staff (including Jo #1, Jo #2, Linny, La, Laywa, Jale, and David) who are so friendly and incredibly intuitive.

Accommodation
- We were in villa 12 and it was heaven. The infinity pool was divine, although a little cool at times. But when the weather was hot, the cool water was breathtakingly refreshing. When we visit again, we may try another side of the island. The villa is totally private.
- Beautiful Pure Fiji products to use while there (free). Divine.

Spa treatments
- I organised the five day package, but the massages were definitely not long enough, so may not opt for this package next time, instead choosing massages individually and where they go forever.
- I had a pedicure, scrub, and four massages, and my husband, while initially reluctant, had several massages also and equally loved them.
- While there, we were expertly looked after by La Spa and Sharon. Gorgeous and incredibly professional ladies.

Housekeeping & maintenance
- Lovely, lovely, lovely staff (hi Sarah!). So kind, and the rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy. They are like Ninjas because you rarely see them.
- The grounds are exquisite. Such care is taken and it's obvious.

Marine
- We booked a visit to the Sand Cay (for a fee), and we highly recommend it. So beautiful.
- We hired the jet skis (for a fee) and Api took us (with some morning tea) for a couple of hours' ride. We had the time of our lives. It was such fun and we highly recommend it. Chris gave us great advice - don't put suncreen close to your eyes as the water splash will ensure the sunscreen ends up in your eyes. Unfortunately, I had already put sunscreen on and, as predicted, it ended up in my eyes. Gahhh.
- We organised to go out on the Hobie cat (no fee), but unfortunately, there was no wind, so poor Ben walked us back through the water. What a champion. A couple of days prior, another couple went far out because the wind was fantastic.
- We organised kayaks (no fee) one day. We asked how long it might take to go around the island.... 20-25 minutes apparently. It took us that long to go only about a quarter of the way. I might blame the wind, tide, or our level of fitness.
- The Hobie cat and kayaks are for high-tide only, so available until about midday I believe, but the Marine team will advise you.

Wifi
- There is Wifi on the island - in your room, and in the restaurant, so we were able to stay connected with family and work, as required.

Transport
- Because our arrival flight timing didn't align, we opted to arrive by helicopter. While a frightful experience, it was total decadence and the pilot was fantastic. We would do it again. The luggage allowance for the helicopter is also only 15kgs per person, so be mindful of that.
- The pilot of the small plane was equally fantastic, and I may have snoozed, such was the smoothness of the ride.
- The boat ride (if you are travelling by small plane) is fun but hot!
- When we arrived at Nadi International (after the small plane trip back), we continued to feel like VIPs. There was a gent who looked after our bags and because we had a few hours to kill, he kindly escorted us to the Arrivals. He showed us where we could leave our bags (for a fee) and then gave us some tips on which taxi to get back to the airport ie a white one and insist on a meter. He found us a taxi driver to take us to Jack's (shop in main street), where we did a little shopping. Such a lovely, lovely young man, and very helpful.

I could go on all day about how amazing Royal Davui is. However, in short, thank you Chris, Grant, and all the wonderful, kind, smart, and funny staff at Royal Davui (too many to mention individually) for the most magical and memorable holiday. We are so grateful for your excellent (wananavu) hospitality, and encourage everyone to go there at least once. Vinaka!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank stubbode
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2023

Bula Stubbode,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderfully detailed experience at Royal Davui. We are thrilled to hear that your second visit exceeded your expectations, and we appreciate your kind words about our resort, facilities, and staff.

It is always a pleasure to know that our guests appreciate the little touches we provide, such as the welcome and farewell songs, and the cooking course and cocktail tasting class. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the food and drinks, the accommodation, and the marine activities, including the Sand Cay visit, jet skis, and Hobie cat.

We hope to see you back on our shores soon!

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews