We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chris
Brisbane, Australia

A great place for a tropical holiday

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2023
This is an outstanding resort. The service before arrival and at the resort was excellent, both friendly and helpful. The resort itself was very well maintained with the Villas looking quite new (I understand after a recent renovation). The food choices were changed each day and were well presented. It also has a very good house reef with a good range of coral and tropical fish which makes it excellent for snorkelling. However while its more remote location makes it a great alternative to the more busy Denarau resorts it also makes it less straightforward to get there and back. Overall though it is definitely worth a visit for a great holiday.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 18 Apr 2023
Bula Vinaka Chris
Thank you so much for your review!

We're thrilled to hear that you had an outstanding experience at our resort. We take pride in our friendly and helpful service and are glad to know that it showed before and during your stay.

It's also great to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated villas (with more in the works!) and the varied food options.

Getting around Fiji can be a little tricky if you want to explore the less touristy parts, so my recommendation would be to reach out to the resort to chat about your specific needs. We have a few tricks up our sleeves to make the transfer process as simple as possible.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon for another great holiday!

Vinaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$821
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    $937
  • Expedia.com
    $814
  • Agoda.com
    $808
19.0 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$324
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $284
  • Agoda.com
    $255
  • Expedia.com
    $346
19.7 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$1,025
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $922
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
20.9 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Beqa Adv Divers boat leaving the dock
$181
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
  • Lol.travel
21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Pool
Restaurant
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $147
  • Agoda.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $159
21.3 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
$76
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $76
  • Expedia.com
    $89
  • Hotels.com
    $104
23.8 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
$288
  • Agoda.com
    $258
  • Expedia.com
    $346
  • Hotels.com
    $312
32.2 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$158
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Agoda.com
    $143
  • Vio.com
    $156
32.7 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free parking
Pool
  • ZenHotels.com
    $432
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
37.4 km from Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Royal Davui Island
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
554
49
19
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
554
49
19
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal davui plunge pool fish our honeymoon lunch and dinner other guests sand cay the managers shark dive pacific harbour welcome song nadi airport boat ride crab kava ceremony village visit low tide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2023

Bulla! This was our second trip to Royal Davui, and despite some apprehension about whether it would be as good the second time around, we were delighted to find it was even better than the first. Royal Davui ticks all our boxes, including no kids, peaceful, food inclusive, private plunge pool, and amazing staff. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

Reception
- When you arrive and depart Royal Davui, there are welcome and farewell songs. And for our anniversary, the team sang for us as well. So, so magical.
- The ladies at Reception - divine. So fun, and nothing is ever too much trouble.
- There are some traditional Fijian artefacts for sale in Reception, sun screen, personal hygiene products etc, but I would be keen to see some more locally made products ie necklaces, etc.

Food & drinks
- The food is plentiful, fresh, and divine. And sooooo many options to choose from. At breakfast, you are presented with options for lunch and dinner - usually three options for starters and mains. It is evident that the team is trying to cater to a variety of tastes. We are still salivating at the thought of some of those delicious meals we enjoyed.
- One day, I wasn't feeling so well, and we were able to have our food delivered to our room instead of in the main restaurant. Thanks Linny!
- Recommend doing the cooking course too (free). Always wonderful to hear from the team about Fijian way of cooking. We are looking forward to trying what we learned at home.
- Cocktails are delicious, and after attending the (free) cocktail tasting class, we tried a few more, different than we would normally try.
- If you haven't tried kava, we suggest trying it at the kava ceremony (free) for the experience. We don't fancy the taste (looks and tastes like dishwater), and it does numb your tongue. Fun!
- Also do the crab race (free), which is great fun! But watch your fingers. Crab bites hurt like h*ll!
- Fantastic, fantastic staff (including Jo #1, Jo #2, Linny, La, Laywa, Jale, and David) who are so friendly and incredibly intuitive.

Accommodation
- We were in villa 12 and it was heaven. The infinity pool was divine, although a little cool at times. But when the weather was hot, the cool water was breathtakingly refreshing. When we visit again, we may try another side of the island. The villa is totally private.
- Beautiful Pure Fiji products to use while there (free). Divine.

Spa treatments
- I organised the five day package, but the massages were definitely not long enough, so may not opt for this package next time, instead choosing massages individually and where they go forever.
- I had a pedicure, scrub, and four massages, and my husband, while initially reluctant, had several massages also and equally loved them.
- While there, we were expertly looked after by La Spa and Sharon. Gorgeous and incredibly professional ladies.

Housekeeping & maintenance
- Lovely, lovely, lovely staff (hi Sarah!). So kind, and the rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy. They are like Ninjas because you rarely see them.
- The grounds are exquisite. Such care is taken and it's obvious.

Marine
- We booked a visit to the Sand Cay (for a fee), and we highly recommend it. So beautiful.
- We hired the jet skis (for a fee) and Api took us (with some morning tea) for a couple of hours' ride. We had the time of our lives. It was such fun and we highly recommend it. Chris gave us great advice - don't put suncreen close to your eyes as the water splash will ensure the sunscreen ends up in your eyes. Unfortunately, I had already put sunscreen on and, as predicted, it ended up in my eyes. Gahhh.
- We organised to go out on the Hobie cat (no fee), but unfortunately, there was no wind, so poor Ben walked us back through the water. What a champion. A couple of days prior, another couple went far out because the wind was fantastic.
- We organised kayaks (no fee) one day. We asked how long it might take to go around the island.... 20-25 minutes apparently. It took us that long to go only about a quarter of the way. I might blame the wind, tide, or our level of fitness.
- The Hobie cat and kayaks are for high-tide only, so available until about midday I believe, but the Marine team will advise you.

Wifi
- There is Wifi on the island - in your room, and in the restaurant, so we were able to stay connected with family and work, as required.

Transport
- Because our arrival flight timing didn't align, we opted to arrive by helicopter. While a frightful experience, it was total decadence and the pilot was fantastic. We would do it again. The luggage allowance for the helicopter is also only 15kgs per person, so be mindful of that.
- The pilot of the small plane was equally fantastic, and I may have snoozed, such was the smoothness of the ride.
- The boat ride (if you are travelling by small plane) is fun but hot!
- When we arrived at Nadi International (after the small plane trip back), we continued to feel like VIPs. There was a gent who looked after our bags and because we had a few hours to kill, he kindly escorted us to the Arrivals. He showed us where we could leave our bags (for a fee) and then gave us some tips on which taxi to get back to the airport ie a white one and insist on a meter. He found us a taxi driver to take us to Jack's (shop in main street), where we did a little shopping. Such a lovely, lovely young man, and very helpful.

I could go on all day about how amazing Royal Davui is. However, in short, thank you Chris, Grant, and all the wonderful, kind, smart, and funny staff at Royal Davui (too many to mention individually) for the most magical and memorable holiday. We are so grateful for your excellent (wananavu) hospitality, and encourage everyone to go there at least once. Vinaka!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank stubbode
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2023

Bula Stubbode,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderfully detailed experience at Royal Davui. We are thrilled to hear that your second visit exceeded your expectations, and we appreciate your kind words about our resort, facilities, and staff.

It is always a pleasure to know that our guests appreciate the little touches we provide, such as the welcome and farewell songs, and the cooking course and cocktail tasting class. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the food and drinks, the accommodation, and the marine activities, including the Sand Cay visit, jet skis, and Hobie cat.

We hope to see you back on our shores soon!

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2023 via mobile

Bula! Royal Davui is a beautiful private island perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all and a great spot to disconnect.

First a bit about the resort. There are only a few villas on the entire island and the staff to patron ratio is like 3:1. This makes the personal service beyond outstanding. The staff really gets to know you and your personal preferences. You also get a chance to know the other patrons and we met and made a few new friends which was nice!

Villas. The villas are well appointed and so comfortable and spacious. We had a Lagoon view with a beautiful view of the Beqa island. It was gorgeous and we could see reef sharks swimming below at high tide. So cool. Accommodations were comfortable. We did not really use the plunge pool or the hot tub but they are a nice touch. Wifi worked well for those that need to check on kids and work. Fiji brand care products (full size) was a nice touch.

Food. The food here is fantastic and there is so much of it. I felt like we were constantly eating three and four course meals and Chef George was great. I actually had to cancel parts of my dinner or lunch orders because I was too full. I learned a little too late that the Asian variety on the menu was my favorite and started ordering all the Asian choices by the end. So good! Service was always outstanding. Shout out to La and Lewa and others for excellent service and the two Joes for excellent bartending. We are not big drinkers but the bar had some nice selections. Go to the bar sampling activity so you can learn about drinks you might not otherwise try.

Things to do. Saki does a great job checking in to make sure you are doing what you want to do. We did the island with the snorkeling. It was fabulous. There is nice snorkeling right off the island by the pier which is pretty amazing. And we did some kayaking (water was a bit rough). My husband did a fishing trip and he didn’t love it because they didn’t catch much. But we did get to eat one fish he caught - it was good. We tried to do another snorkel trip but weather didn’t allow for it. Otherwise we felt relaxed and chilled out on the island.

Spa. I had five treatments and they were all heavenly.

Beach/pool. By the end we hung out at the pool in one of the beach beds for a lot of the day. It was nice and very relaxing. There are games you can borrow and play and I also got to read which was lovely. They bring drinks down there which can’t be beat. And there are gorgeous ocean views from the pool. If you are a beach person, there is not a lot of area to sit out and enjoy the beach. The beach is kind of rocky though there are stretches of sand. This is why the Island has such great snorkeling though. We did walk the beach on a few occasions.

Service. Every single person was gracious and kind and so helpful. The service is next level. And they are somehow all amazing singers. They need to get on American Idol.

Getting to and from the island. They arrange it all. We took a short flight in a very small plane and the views were gorgeous.

Rain. We went in February, which was the rainy season. I was nervous about this but it was a nonissue. while it rained on most days, the rain was generally short bursts. We never felt like the rain interfered with our day or plans. Even on one day when it rained for a few hours it was nice to look out and watch the rain from our rooms.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sanfran21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

Bula sanfran21,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Royal Davui with us. We are thrilled to hear that you found our resort to be the perfect private island getaway for couples looking to disconnect and relax.
We are delighted to hear that you had a great time snorkeling, kayaking, and relaxing by the pool. We also appreciate your feedback about the beach. The spell of westerly winds recently pushed the sand around the island, however I can report that it is already making it's way back to it's normal position in front of the pool.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Royal Davui in the future for another wonderful private island getaway.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2023

This place is something else! I have so much to say about this stunning resort and the Fijian people. We spent 7 incredible days on the island and I cried when I left because I made so many lifelong friends with the staff! We stumbled upon Royal Davui on Luxury Escapes (it was cheaper to book direct though)- we'd never heard of it. The key features for us were "adults only", "plunge pool villas" and "only 16 villas on the island". We also loved that it was down south away from the clusters of resorts around Nadi and the Coral Coast. The food is magnificent and included in the price- it's so clean and full of flavour. We don't like noise on our relaxing holidays so this place just seemed perfect for us. I had no idea we would be walking into so much magic. We will 1000% percent be back and we wouldn't even entertain the idea of staying anywhere else in Fiji.

Here are my tips:

ACTIVITIES
Note that if you snorkel, kayak or do anything unguided, the cost is included, however guided activities are an additional cost, but SO WORTH IT! I would recommend getting all the water activities done early in your stay in case the weather turns bad. The snorkelling around the island itself is so beautiful- baby black tip reef sharks included. The jetski tour to the outer reef for snorkelling is NEXT LEVEL! So stunning. We were so amazed and found it far more impressive than both the inner and outer reef snorkelling at Great Barrier Reef. No shark sightings, so I was happy. The sand cay trip is equally as wonderful. They drop you out there with a picnic for a couple hours and the snorkelling is stunning. We saw a very playful family of Nemos and a magnificent eagle ray. The sunset cruise is magical. Also, you must do the night snorkelling! It's at the reef by the resort so you're not heading out anywhere scary- nice and close to shore. There's something different on every night so all the guests (max 32) meet at the bar, drink cocktails and partipate in whatever is happening- crab racing, Fijian serenading, and the best one, kava drinking!

ALCOHOL
It's an island. It's Fiji. The booze is expensive. The cocktails at the bar are delicious and fairly priced but they are not strong at all so if you're American, be prepared- there is no such thing as free pouring. I preferred to drink from the wine list. Liquor in the mini bar is also expensive- champagne is crazy priced. We brought 2 bottles of champagne with us duty free but we should have taken liquor. You are limited with weight on the flight transfer from Nadi so it's hard to bring a couple bottles unless you pack light. Or you can take the ground transfer with no luggage limit but you're looking at 3.5-4 hours on the road (I think).

FOOD
Again...food is SENSATIONAL!!!!! You choose from the lunch and dinner menu each morning. I love this because it prevents waste. You can dine in your room or at the restaurant.

VILLAS
Villas are unbelievably secluded and have the most breathtaking views and so much space. We stayed in the sunset plunge villa no. 5. We couldn't see or hear our neighbours from any point in the villa. The reef below is so clear from the balcony.

MOZZIES
Take your bug spray! They treat the island with repellant which is a huge help but if you're anything like me, the mozzies will find you, so just take your spray and you'll be fine.

STAFF
Oh the staff!!! I cannot speak highly enough about these people- Pau, David, Veresa, Sake, La, Jale, Mess, Api, Bulou, Jimmy, all the housekeeping staff and all the wonderful people working behind the scenes. These beautiful humans are so accommodating, so polite, so caring, so thoughtful, so DAMN WONDERFUL!!! They are by far, what made this trip perfection for us. Many of them have never left Fiji. They live in small villages with none of the mod cons we take for granted. They work so hard. They speak so highly of their resort and their employers. They never complain. They go above and beyond every, single time and they SMILE ALL THE TIME!!! Take your time to get toknow them personally- don't be shy.

VILLAGE VISIT
If you have the time, you can ask the resort to set up a village visit to Naceva on Beqa Island. 80% of the staff are from this village and they do not get regular visits from tourists so please take the time to go and experience how they live, drink kava with them and see first hand what they need for their people, their village, their schools and their church and you can contribute if you choose either by cash donation or purchasing handicrafts. You will never feel so welcome!

KAVA
You are better off buying direct from a village if you can, rather than the packaged stuff. Get your kava mixing bowl, ladle and drinking bowls from the handicraft stores in the villages or on the mainland. If you leave it to the airport like we did, you'll be paying crazy prices. If you drive back to Nadi after your stay, you can stop at the handicraft stalls along the way. Alternatively the resort offers day trips to Suva.

STAY AT ROYAL DAVUI! You will NOT regret it!!

Room tip: We loved the sunset plunge villa number 5 but I really don't think you can go wrong with any of the 16 villas.
Date of stay: March 2023
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmkmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

Bula Vinaka gmkmorrison,
Thank you for taking the time to share your incredible experience at Royal Davui! It's heartwarming to hear that you had such a wonderful time on the island and made lifelong friends with the staff.
We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back to Royal Davui in the future!
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2023 via mobile

We can’t say enough good about this place. Our flight was canceled to the island due to weather, no problem-a driver was sent immediately to the airport to pick us up and during the trip our whereabouts were monitored to make sure our water transport was ready and waiting. Upon our arrival, the entire staff broke out into song and this atmosphere of welcome, happiness and service prevailed. The villas were very beautiful and yet felt like home. Living in a lush paradise, excellent food at every meal and smiles all around we’re 5 star. What really made this resort stand out—the people and their love-we came as strangers and left as family.
Bob and Elaine

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ehimdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2023

Bula Vinaka Bob & Elaine,
Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay at our resort. The team always goes above and beyond to ensure your safe arrival at the resort despite the weather challenges.

It's wonderful to hear that the atmosphere of welcome and happiness permeated your entire experience with us.

Most importantly, we are thrilled that you felt like you came as strangers and left as family. We take great pride in creating a welcoming and inclusive environment for all of our guests, and we're delighted that we were able to achieve this with you.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another wonderful stay.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2023

We stayed at The Royal Davui Island Resort in October 2022, our first excursion outside the UK since the Covid Epidemic and we were determined to spoil ourselves on a truly luxurious holiday. The Royal Davui met every expectation and more. Absolutely faultless in every way and child free.

Our short flight from the Nadi Airport to Pacific Harbour and then boat to the island was seamless. We found Rosie Holidays at Nadi Airport very efficient and helpful.

Upon arriving at Royal Davui we received a very warm Fijian welcome and from that moment on we felt that we had been embraced into the arms of warm Fijian Family. Our Sunset Villa was out of this world and was everything we had imagined and more. The most magical location, looking out to sea with no other properties in our view and not overlooked by anyone else. Our Villa was very spacious and designed to perfection. Everything we required to enjoy our holiday, including gorgeous Pure Fiji Bathroom Products, which sadly we cannot buy in the UK. We love the sea and did not actually see the point of a private plunge pool on the deck of our Villa, but being able to sit in the plunge pool after dinner, looking out over the ocean and stars in the sky, was the most amazing experience. This is a small exclusive resort with only sixteen Villas. Very unpretentious and peaceful. Somewhere you can truly relax and get away from the outside world. The Island’s tropical landscape was simply breathtaking, with Mango, Papaya, Coconut Trees, plus many more, growing. One morning walking up from our Villa to the main building for breakfast, there was a whole bed of Orchids in flower.

Our meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner every day were delicious. We felt very pampered with such a variety of different foods and experiences. The only decision we needed to make every day, was selecting out menus for lunch and dinner. We tended to eat inside the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, which was open to the gardens and sea, so lots of fresh air and ocean breezes, but tended to sit outside for dinner. The Chef’s Banana Bread, was delicious and we very much enjoyed his cooking demonstration, how to make Kokoda.

The management and staff went out of their way to make us feel pampered, but not intrusive. A perfect balance. They were all so happy with beautiful smiles.

We spent nine nights at this resort and could easily have stayed longer, but sadly had to depart. We cannot wait to return and being pensioners, this will be as soon as we can afford another luxury holiday. Our journey back to Nadi Airport was equally as smooth as our arrival. We had a few hours to wait for our international flight and Christopher had suggested trying the Bone and Fish Seafood Restaurant at Port Denarau, which we thoroughly enjoyed. A great suggestion and the staff made us feel very welcome. Rosie Holidays at Nadi Airport kindly looked after our cases, while we caught a taxi out to Port Denarau. Approximately a thirty minute drive.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 06kat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Southwick, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort - Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2023

Bula Vinaka,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Royal Davui Island Resort. We are thrilled to hear that you had a luxurious holiday experience and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Our team works hard to create a peaceful and unpretentious environment where guests can truly relax and unwind, and we are delighted that you experienced this during your stay.

Thank you for your kind words about the delicious meals you enjoyed during your stay. Our chef will be thrilled to hear that you appreciated his cooking and the variety of different foods on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future and creating more unforgettable memories for you. Thank you again for your lovely review.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews