We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The return visit was just as delightful as the...”
Gite 2 Front, patio overlooking the Douffine valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gite 2 Front, patio overlooking the Douffine valley
Gite 2 Living Area Gite 2 Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Gite 2 Front, patio overlooking the Douffine valley
Gite 2 Living Area
Gite 2 Bedroom
Gite 2 Kitchen/Dining Room
Gite 2 Shower Room
River valley from gite
Gite 1 Living area
Gite 1 Living/ Dining and Kitchen Area
Gite 1 Shower room and Bedroom
Wood burner, fitted in each gite
Woodland walk down to the river
The river Douffine a short walk
The Douffine valley
Christmas lights at Chateaulin near us.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chateaulin, Finistere, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
HamiltonK...
Saint-Chinian, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The return visit was just as delightful as the first.”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

After a two year hiatus, we returned to France, Finistre, and Penland Gites; each was as rewarding as it was two years ago. Richard is the consummate host, providing transitional needs such as jams, wine, bread for the first night along with his ability and willingness to listen to what one might enjoy and providing information enabling one to do so. The gite is quite comfortable, fully equipped, set in a rural environment that provides peace without compromising ready access to all one might want to do in Western Finistre. We are already laying plans to return with friends for more coastal hikes at some point in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam-Cross...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely French countryside holiday”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Everything promised in the advert. Lovely scenery and good space for a couple. In easy reach of Crozon Peninsula, interesting rural towns and villages to explore. Good value. All in very pleased with accommodation and holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wonderful scenic countryside location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HamiltonK...
Saint-Chinian, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation with knowledgeable and gracious hosts”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I stayed two delightful weeks at Penland Gites. We were greeted with a warm smile, homemade jams and fresh eggs, a bottle of Brittany cider, and helpful suggestions based upon questions we asked about proposed sites to visit and activities of interest to us. This pattern of gracious assistance continued throughout our two weeks; Richard and Claire were always available but never intrusive. The Gite is nicely situated for visiting all points of interest in Finistere; that said, an auto is essential; furthermore, it is nicely appointed for self-catering--morning coffee and evening drinks on the patio are strongly recommended! Brittany itself is a compelling destination with varied attractions and points of interest; Penland Gites provide the ideal accommodations to see them all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See above: The hosts were superb; the accommodation clean and comfortable; the rural setting beautiful beyond words.
Liked least: We have no complaints or suggestion for improvement.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Reviewed 21 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing