We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stop over holidays in Sauternes”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Villandraut, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Richard B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Stop over holidays in Sauternes ”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great location if wish visiting Sauternes or Graves wine yards
Very friendly owners, speaking English & German :)
Nice old renovated residence
Super sauna which we could use in the evening before sleeping
Very good, creative and delicious breakfast
User friendly WIFI good speed internet
Payment by credit card possible

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing, beautiful, stunning, fabulous; not enough superlatives to justify how good La Cordonnerie is.”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A friendly and warm welcome greeted us on our arrival. Armelle and Michel are superb hosts who have thought of every small detail to ensure your stay at La Cordonnerie is perfect. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable with little details that enhance the homely feel. Rooms are accessed by a narrow, external staircase which has a child safety gate at the top, very useful if travelling with small children. I would not recommend this for hose who struggle with staircases, there is no disabled access to the bedrooms.

The courtyard area is as beautiful as the photographs suggest and it is a perfectly tranquil area to relax and unwind with a cooling glass of Lillet whilst chatting to the hosts about the local area and the small town of Villandraut. The spa pool is a lovely, but not essential addition but I would be lying if I said it wasn't a lovely place to relax!

One thing that I cannot compliment enough was the EXCEPTIONAL breakfast provided in the morning. From the locally sourced, organic honey to the homemade marmalade and jams and the delicious array of smoothie, cream cheese, fresh bread, freshly pressed apple juice, warm chocolate chaud, organic, local yoghurt, home marinaded apricots......the list goes on. This is quite simply the best breakfast I have ever eaten and all the ingredients are locally sourced which makes it a true taste of France.

In terms of location, villandraut is situated on the edge of the Forrest area of Landes de Gascogne, about an hour south of Bordeaux. It is a nice area of France with short drives to some beautiful chateaux and, if you are more interested in regional delicacies, about 45 minutes to sample Sauternes, Armagnac or the beautiful red wine of the Bordeaux region. We travelled with small children and La Cordonnerie is very welcoming to families.

One hint we did ask of Armelle is for a recommendation for dinner. She booked us into a restaurant a short distance from La Cordonnerie called Le Pont Gourmand. It is not mentioned on trip advisor but this restaurant is fabulous. Clearly frequented by the locals the food is exquisite utilising some fabulous French delicacies; snails, foie gras, quail and more. Again, fabulous local produce used in the cooking and the service was very friendly. No English is spoken by the staff so take a dictionary if your French is not of a reasonable standard.

All in all this was a wonderful find and I couldn't recommend it enough to any visitor. You will be well looked after.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm and friendly welcome
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thank you so much Chris! It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family. Should you drive again nearby, we hope we will see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El3n
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2018
Muchas gracias Elena!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel33...
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2018
Merci Michel ! Votre satisfaction nous fait grand plaisir et nous serons heureux de vous recevoir à nouveau.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean phli...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2018
Merci pour ces compliments JP! Nous serons toujours heureux de vous recevoir!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing