We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”

Review of DDG Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
242 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Casares, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 242 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Harky21
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 7 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

A highly recommended secluded retreat an hours drive from Malaga airport from which the retreat can organise a pick-up for around €120 each way.

For our three night break we chose Casa Cipres, the smallest casa, which is in an elevated position reached by a steep stairway (not recommended for anyone with limited mobility). It is small and cosy and has a large outside area to relax with sun loungers, daybed and table and chairs and has spectacular view of the mountains. The website accurately describes the room.

The infinity pool is beautifully quiet and tranquil presumably as some of the casas have their own private pools. Small fridges filled with beer, wine and soft drinks are dotted around the pool and spa area, and a trunk full of DVDs and books are there for your use.

There are a number of restaurants within a short distance - we can highly recommend The Forge - and the retreat will happily taxi you there and back for around €14 each way. However, you should at least stay at the retreat for one night and sample Olga’s delicious home cooking which is taken in the romantic garden.

The quaint white-washed village of Casares is worth a visit and just a 15 minute walk on a track from the retreat (sturdy shoes are recommended). There are a restaurants, bars and a few shops within the village.

Thank you to Daria for her organisation and to Alex and Olga for their hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Reviewed 29 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southern Germany
Reviewed 21 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Horsham
Reviewed 4 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Teeandtee
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A small and perfectly formed "hidden gem"”
Reviewed 3 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Escaping the hurly burly of our hectic lives, a relatively short plane journey transported us straight to Paradise. From start to finish DDG Retreats was, for us and our two children (12 and 14), a perfect holiday experience.

It’s hard to pick out the highlights from so many lovely surprises that awaited us. So in no particular order - there’s an amazing infinity pool where those seeking privacy can find fabulous chill-out zones to hideaway in. The spa is set amidst natural woodland where we enjoyed treatments that were to-die-for. There’s a great all weather tennis court with far reaching views across to Gibraltar and North Africa. And to while away those hammock moments there are glossy coffee-table books galore.

Slaving over a hot stove wasn’t our idea of a rest but with Olga’s cooking and a very pretty terrace restaurant for dining in, luckily we didn't need to. The menu was varied, the meals were delicious, and the sea-food soup was the tastiest we'd ever had. So successful was Olga’s cooking that our budding 12-year-old gourmet pestered incessantly to eat there.

The whole ambience is one of peace and calm allowing us rare distraction-free quality time as a family. And the attention to detail wowed us. There were Nespresso machines in each villa, a ready-stocked wine cabinet, and even His and Hers straw hats, sarongs and cotton robes were supplied, meaning we needn’t have bothered with the excess baggage we'd struggled through the airport with!

As for the place itself, the architecture’s been inspired by an exotic melting pot of cultures. Olga and Alex have travelled extensively – and we loved the influences that came from every corner of the Globe. Bali, Thailand, Africa, Ibiza, they were all here to be enjoyed.

At DDG Retreats Olga and Alex have put their hearts, souls and a bucket-load of passion into creating a very special place. We found DDG by chance. We went with no expectations and were blown away by our "hidden gem" of a discovery! We’ll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing