We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charlie's cafe is a must do in Rarotonga!”
Review of Charlie's

Charlie's
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Fast food, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Charlies Cafe and Bar is on the edge of the Akapuao Marine Reserve. Enjoy light meals of chicken teriyaki cheese melt paninis tuna cheese melt paninis, fresh fish sandwiches, island infused fruit smoothies, beef, chicken and fish burgers, fresh salads, teas, milkshakes. We are now open for dinner untill 8pm Monday through untill Friday with live music EVERY one of those nights. Saturdays we open at 11 and close at 3.30pm. Try our cocktails, Charlies lager on tap- brewed by the Rarotonga Brewing Company, Matutu Ale and lager, Vaima still water and a selection of beers- corona, Heinken, Speights, Steilarger- wines- Sav, pinot gris, chardonnay, pinot noir, shiraz and merlot. Kayaks and paddleboards are available for hire. Bookings recommneded for large groups :) ka kite
Reviewed 13 March 2015

A fantastic little local family run cafe.Best smoothies, milkshakes and melts on the island and excellent value!!! We go there loads and recommend it to all our guests.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Jade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,320 - 1,324 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2015

Love Charlies. You are welcomed with warm Kia Oranas and big smiles. Love the chicken paninis, Charlie's home made muffins and smoothies. Best ever with one panini big enough for two people. Can sit for hours on a lazy Sunday afternoon enjoying the food and drink, beautiful location chatting with the owners Mary and Charlie (who are the most amazing hosts ever). Highly recommend a stopover at the blue container on the beach as a must do when in Raro.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank gamt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

The best smoothies and Fish Burgers ever. A view to die for and service is so wonderful! We've been to Raro many times and look forward to seeing this great venue expand. A bar is coming soon .... A great place to catch the sunset.

Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We ate at Charlies three times when we were recently in Rarotonga. It is a little blue container right on the beach in Titikaveka (on the Southern coastline).

We were told about it by another couple, and they were correct in saying it was the best fish sandwich on the Island. It was huge too! And only $10.

One day we got a burger and a chicken teriyaki panini, and they were also absolutely delicious.

Their fruit smoothies are also damn good as well.

The owners Charlie and Mary are so lovely and it was our favourite place to eat.

Definitely highly recommend to all.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Little_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Charlie's also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Charlie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.