We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JenandRobFuller
Steamboat Springs, Colorado

Small, Intimate and Relaxing Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We had a wonderful stay at Little Polynesian. The staff was welcoming, and the check-in process was seamless. The initial view of the pool, surrounded by palm trees with the blue lagoon in the background, instantly made us feel like we were in paradise.

The resort is small and intimate and never felt crowded. The property is immaculately clean and has lush tropical gardens, and the beach is great for long walks.
We stayed in a garden bungalow with two private courtyards – one with an outdoor shower and the other with two sun lounges in a garden setting. The bungalow was spacious and included a small sitting area, a large bathroom, and a kitchenette with everything we needed (mini fridge, coffee machine, and filtered water replaced daily). Next time, we would upgrade to a beachfront bungalow to enjoy the beautiful lagoon view from our room.

We spent most days swimming in the ocean and lounging by the pool. Getting around Rarotonga without a car was easy, as there was a bus stop outside the hotel. Check the bus timetable and have cash (NZ $5 per person for each trip).

The dining experience was poolside with a beautiful lagoon view. A generous continental breakfast was included with the room rate, and our dinner favorites included the Island-Style Sashimi, Mongolian Beef Sizzler, and Seafood Special. The food was very flavorsome, generously portioned, and of very good quality.

We enjoy smaller properties, so it was perfect for us.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
0.2 km from Little Polynesian Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
$378
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $378
0.2 km from Little Polynesian Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Our deck
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Little Polynesian Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
0.7 km from Little Polynesian Resort
Free parking
Pool
Views from Hibiscus Villa
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Little Polynesian Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Beachfront Villa private pool and view
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Little Polynesian Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Lol.travel
  • Destinia.com
  • Expedia.com
0.4 km from Little Polynesian Resort
Free parking
Pool
View from Veranda
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Little Polynesian Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Heavenly bed looking to the lagoon.
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    you can rent bicycles and scooters through Polynesian Car rental - they are super nice. I rented a bicycle and road all over Rarotonga!
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    0.4 km from Little Polynesian Resort
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Titikaveka
    Reviews (714)
    Filter reviews
    714 results
    Traveller rating
    558
    98
    31
    14
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    558
    98
    31
    14
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews infinity pool garden room cook islands remembered our names beachfront bungalow ika mata outdoor shower fish paddle boards muri beach spent nights lunch or dinner private deck coconut trees peace and quiet tuna little things
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 714 reviews
    Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

    Stayed 5 nights at the Little Polynesian and agree with many prior reviews. Firstly, the location is fantastic and offers amazing swimming and views of the reef and ocean. The snorkeling is good, not great. Some fish to be seen but you will find much better in other countries.

    What makes the resort special is the staff. They are truly amazing and will go out of their way to make you feel at home. What also is excellent is the food. Never had a bad meal and the setting overlooking the pool is lovely.

    To be constructive, I do feel the value proposition could be improved considering the nightly room rate charged. It’s simply not in line with other similar properties in other countries that no doubt they are competing with for the tourist dollar.

    Firstly, only offering a continental breakfast is pretty stingy. I would also add that a nightly turndown service would be well served . If for no other reason than to change towels. It seems towels are on short supply here because it was always hard work to get replacements. They don’t have beach towels by the pool, you always have to ask. They don’t give you extra towels in the room and sometimes didn’t even get a bath mat.

    The rooms are nice, although the bed and bedding was average in quality and the general condition of the room was just ok. Some wear and tear and no attention paid to fixing things was evident.

    All in all we had an enjoyable stay, however they could easily go to the next level if they put some value and focus into addressing the points above.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Russell2374
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 May 2024

    Very nice location, modern style beachfront bungalows, with all you need for a nice stay and easy snorkeling in the laguna. Warm hospitality. Nice swimming pool with a view over the ocean. What else can I tell you? Relax and enjoy the sound of the ocean against the coral barrier!

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank elenamR1488SX
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 May 2024 via mobile

    Amazon place to stay. The service, the food and the room is great. We can’t recommend this place enough. Our target for this holiday was having a great time and relaxing and for sure we achieved it. We really enjoyed every day and every single moment there

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Mobile47510498783
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 May 2024

    Little Polynesian exceeded our expectations. All our needs and wants were catered for with a meticulous eye to detail. The staff were friendly and informative, happily advising of places to visit. The resort is quiet and our privacy was respected. We didn't want to leave.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Linda W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 April 2024

    I have been to over 50 countries which means countless hotel stays. Little Polynesian is by far one of the best experiences I have ever had. From the minute you arrive the staff is so welcoming. They made it a point to learn our names. The wonderful service continued throughout our stay. The rooms were beautiful, modern, and clean. The pool area was extremely relaxing. The highlight is definitely the food at the hotel restaurant, everything was delicious. I want to shout out Meri and Tom for going above and beyond for us during our stay. I hope I am lucky enough to go back one day.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Lauren L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews