We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
365
89
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
89
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short walk waipoua forest kauri trees new zealand amazing tree sheer size viewing area board walk well worth the stop down the road local guide car park large trees bucket list biggest tree parking area an easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Love this attraction. It is nestled amoungst a beautiful forest of native trees and the air is so fresh and clean.
It is such a quick walk in and is very sheltered from the elements which makes it perfect for a sunny or rainy day.
Love how there are now cleaning stations for shoes as well to protect the forest.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank J9421NBannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

What a magnificent specimen. The tree was so large in height and width. Was well worth the stop to go in and see. The surrrounding forest was also interesting. Great care was taken to make sure the forest was not contaminated from soil on our shoes

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The drive through the Waipoua Forest is beautiful no matter what the weather. Tane Mahuta is a must do, it's a truly magnificent tree. Its a really easy, 5min walk. If you have time (and you only need about 20mins) stop at The Kauri Walks, the four sisters walk is only about 10mins, on boardwalks, to see four large kauri trees growing together.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Gabrielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

An amazing try, I wouldn't at all be surprised if this is where the inspiration for the tree in Avatar came from. You just have to stand back and take in the height and breadth of the tree. Please remember to clean your shoes, protect our Kauri.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Glen_fm_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We weren't even thinking of heading south along the west coast until our guide at the Treaty Grounds told us about this amazing tree. After taking it all in we were so glad we did, it's breathtaking. The hygiene process to enter the walkways is interting and fun. The raised boardwalk is well maintained and let's the vegetation remain where it should be. A great free attraction which you will never forget.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank SSMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews