We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
22
57
31
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
57
31
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzathe pubrooms are smallglass of wineboarroom was cleancooked breakfasthokianga harbourseafoodlive musicgreat atmospherelarge showerlovely locationacross the roadstayed here for nightsbalconylocals
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

The rooms are small but well appointed, each has a little veranda and even better, air con. Rooms are right next to the hotel so can be a little noisy but not for long. Great atmosphere and right across the road from the beach . If you want a slice of old school NZ then stay here. Friendly staff and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleJM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

The room was clean and the furnishings very modern and fresh looking. The bathroom was also very clean and the shower large. The food in the bar or the restaurant was excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Stayed with my mother for one night in February as part of a wider trip round the area. Hotel was notable for the wonderful views out to sea, very comfortable beds and good food. Of special note were the staff who couldn’t have been more obliging, including reuniting us with our lost property!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank R0se3655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Yesterday we had the pleasure of enjoying lunch at the Opononi Hotel. We have enjoyed eating here many times over the years and have never been disappointed. We had a very good coffee, followed by a Guinness (for him) and a glass of wine for me while we waited for our fish and chips. The barman/waiter came to tell us there would be a delay as the gas had just run out - the previous day was Valentines Day - but when our food came the Gurnard was delicious. A lovely location to pass a sunny, Wednesday lunchtime.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Went there from Cooper Beach for lunch 230 km return. I had Sea food chowder and it was OK. My wife had a gluten free chicken burger and it was really good. Will only recommend to go there for a beer.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Finn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews