We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sue S

Regular Visitors great place to stay

Review of Celtic Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We’ve stayed at this motel many times with our kid this week for 5 days for a sporting event and it’s great👍 nice and quite just off the main road so you don’t hear any traffic ,heaps of parking ,very clean rooms wonderful host and just the right distance from the ferry when travelling only place to stay in the area and we’ve tried a few
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Andrews, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Sue
Thanks for posting your review.
Good to hear your weekend event all went well.
See you and the team next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Two units
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.8 km from Celtic Motel
Castletown Motel
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Celtic Motel
Double Bed
Booking.com
$110
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $110
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Celtic Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Cabin
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
5.8 km from Celtic Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $215
0.0 km from Celtic Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
14.8 km from Celtic Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $132
  • Booking.com
15.2 km from Celtic Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
51.5 km from Celtic Motel
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
33.1 km from Celtic Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.3 km from Celtic Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Foxton
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
102
33
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
102
33
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews electric blankets on the beds definitely stay here again host motel unit heater sh
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2023 via mobile

Stayed here on business and throughly enjoyed the short stay.
Very quiet stay that was relaxing enough to get you up for the next day.
Rooms spotless clean and well appointed.
Felt like I was on holiday and wished could have stayed longer.
Owners very pleasant and helpful.
Will certainly be back

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tour-Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Andrews, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2023

Good to hear you had an enjoyable stay.
Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2023

This motel is truly a gem. A little off the beaten track but still close SH 1 ,it is run an extremelyfriendly host who could not do enough for us. Adequate Continental breakfast served, extremely clean and bed linen of high class.
2 hours north of Wellington for those who are making Strait crossing

Room tip: We had unit 2 which would sleep 4comfortably
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Curiosity57385031971
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Andrews, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2023

Thank you for your review.
With the new motorway now operational with the next stage to start soon we will be 1.5 hours north of Wellington.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2022

We booked for 3 people, but at the last minute asked for an extra bed..... we showed up about 7pm.... and Paul couldn't have been nicer. Happy, chatty and very personable, gave us an extra bottle of milk and showed us how to work the heater (which was already going, so it was lovely and cozy in the unit, thanks so much for that). There was enough of everything for 4 people and the extra trundle was made up ready to go. The place was immaculate, so clean and the decor was tasteful. Electric blankets on the beds and they were so comfortable! Thanks so much, we will definitely stay here again, it was so quiet!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Chicibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Andrews, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

Thank you for the GREAT review.
Nice to hear you all had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Stayed here on a Saturday night, Linda was very welcoming. Room was good with a quiet location off the main road. My wife was going to a function while I stayed with my child. Linda was kind enough to provide a trip home for my wife later in the night, we paid her to do so as their are no taxis in Foxton so we were very appreciative of this special service. Also my wife left a cardie behind and the owners dropped it into our letterbox in Palmerston North, sensational service. The only thing we were surprised by was the cost of the unit at $220 for 2 adults and 1 child, only had a wall divider between main bed and singles and this was the off season. Especially when I can get a 2 bedroom apartment in a hotel in Manakau, Auckland at a similar cost.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Crazyfornewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Andrews, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

Thank you for your kind comments.
Re tariff, There is no longer a high and low season in the years calendar.
The earlier you contact us direct or book direct through our website the best price is achieved by the customer.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020 via mobile

We stayed just for one night with two children and our little dog. The owners were super friendly and helpful, and even posted our daughter’s soft toy back to us. Beds were comfy, room was clean and we’d definitely stay again.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank matop1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Andrews, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

Good to hear you received your child's soft toy back.
Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews