We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
395
250
83
41
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
250
83
41
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clover bar on site mar menor pool view italian restaurant nomad restaurant whirlpool bath main restaurant pool bar golf resort the actual hotel star hotel beautiful hotel hotel restaurants plenty of sunbeds public areas late check
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2016

My friends and i visited the resort in July this year. 2 adults and 2 children stayed in the hotel and the other 3 adults and 8 children stayed in the apartments. The service was dreadful from start to finish. Not to be expected from a 5* hotel. The hotel staff were not rude, just disinterested in helping you with any small thing. Kids club is non existent and there is nothing, i mean nothing for a teenager to do but play tennis on overpriced courts. Several times we had to chase food and drinks orders. The restaurants are limited, bland and faceless. There seem to be more than there actually are as they each swap between day and night. For example, the golf bar adds sombreros to the wall and bright table clothes and ta da!!! It is transformed into the Mexican !! The customers in the apartments were not allowed to see the guests at the hotel pool and the apartment hotels lacked sun beds. The 3rd pool available to all was at a cost - this clearly added to our woes as we had to pay for each of us to enter. This meant we barely saw the people we had gone on holiday with!!! We often ate a picnic at lunchtime and were asked to leave the pool area to sit on the grass by the pool to eat. In principle, i understand not eating by the pool but, each time, we were asked to take everything off the sunloungers as they couldn't be reserved - so we moved 5 adults and 10 children's things to sit 2 paces away on the other side of the fence only to move back 10 minutes later. There were also too few parasols. We were promised regular cleaning - we were there for 10 days and my apartment was cleaned once on the 7th day and my friend's on the 9th day!!! The on-site taxis cost 10-20% more than all the others. There was actually a catalogue of various minor points which added together made for a really unpleasant stay. We complained to the manager as we left who, informed us that the hotel and apartments were always fully booked and so he was unconcerned. My final question was "do you care that we have had an unpleasant stay?" And his response was "I do not care" i feel that sums up pretty much everything about the place. They are always full, so why bother to go the extra mile. Will never, ever return nor will my friends.

Room tip: Go to another hotel
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IRWood297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinentalmm, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations.
The hotel pool its for the hotel guest, for the apartments guest we have the apartments pools, where we have a minimum of 30 sunbeds and 10 parasols for each of the 3 pools. For the apartments if you like to have a periodical clean you can have it for a small fee, if you don't contract this we clean them once every 7 days.
We do care all our customers and we always try to go the extra mile.
We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Martin, M
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

My friend and I visited the hotel at the beginning of October. Unfortunately there was a wedding booked at the hotel which we weren't pre-warned about which meant that the swimming pool area (including the use of sun loungers) was completely out of bounds for our stay due to a huge marquee being erected. In addition, there was lots of noise and disruption to hotel guests from both the wedding and the marquee being dismantled! The hotel staff & management did not want to listen to our concerns and we were passed from pillar to post. Would never stay here again!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Loobie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinentalmm, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay.
Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.
We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Martin, M
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Intercontinental used to be a good brand but many other hotel brands have raised their standards but not this one.

I haven't been to Spain for a few years and it seems that despite the downturn in business they have not raised their standards to encourage British holiday makers to return.

Very few staff make any effort to make any attempt to speak English so any communication is difficult. The reception staff in this hotel were the only mildly pleasant staff in the entire hotel.

The rooms are nice but are beginning to show their age.

The hotel proudly advertises a number of on site restaurants, but two in particular an Italian and the other, a Bar BQ steak house leave a lot to be desired. Our group consisted of over 30 people but there was little interest by anyone to make sure we enjoyed any of the hotel facility nor their own restaurants.

The service in both was without any exaggeration awful. The food quality in the Italian was nothing special and they were severely under staffed. As for the Bar B Q restaurant, it was worse. The service was really appalling and the food when it arrived having waited well over an hour for a steak was cold and tough. We weren't the only complainers, there was a continuous queue at the till with diners complaining.

Would I Return? No, give me Portugal any day.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Traff111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinentalmm, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thank you for your candid review. Firstly I would like to thank you for choose InterContinental Mar Menor for your recent stay at Murcia. Regarding your experience in our Hotel we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience.
I will be sure to share your feedback with our team so that future guests aren't inconvenienced by this. Certainly I love to have you as our guest again.


Sincerely,

Martin, M
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Used the Intercontinental Mar Menor as our base for a golf tour in the Murcia Region. Our room & bed was comfortable & the bath superb. The food in the Hotel's Italian, Japanese & Steak restaurants was excellent. What let the hotel down were the breakfasts & pool area. At breakfast, there was a lack of staff & unless one went to the "Egg Station" the cooked food was cold. Making one's own coffee may be okay at home but not in what purports to be a 5-star hotel. There were sun-beds around the pool but no cushions or towels available. In summary, the Intercontinental Mar Menor fell short of the standard we expected & we were left wondering how the 5-star rating was achieved given we have stayed in a number of 3-star hotels, which were better.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Bowring14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinentalmm, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Firstly I would like to thank you for choose InterContinental Mar Menor for your recent stay at Murcia. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding your experience in our Hotel we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service.

Sincerely,


Martin, M
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Lovely hotel with great facilities, including one of the nicest outdoor pools I have seen and good quality on site restaurants. Friendly staff and modern rooms. Only downside is location which requires either hire car or taxi to visit local villages, outside the resort, but only 5-10 minutes, for example, to Los Alcazares.

Room tip: Rooms facing the pool are best
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinentalmm, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
We are glad to see that our service contributed to your well-being during your stay, and that the hotel commodities meets your expectations.
It will be a pleasure to share your feedback with our staff and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again.


Best regards,

Martin, M
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews