We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$1,084
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downsfield(Carbis Bay)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oystercatcher(Carbis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast B&B(Carbis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Atlantic(Carbis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
308
74
23
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
308
74
23
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelcarbis bay hotelcarbonaraspa facilitiescomplimentary upgradethrough secret escapeslovely hotelhigh standardgannet restaurantst ivesbeef wellingtonlounge areamashboutique hotelunderfloor heatingbeautiful decorlady on reception
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Pro: The best thing about The Gannet Inn is their staff - all very friendly and helpful.

Location: The hotel is located on a busy street far from the town centre. There aren't many parking spots for guests. We arrived late one night and had to park at the sister hotel in front, which was also almost full.

Room: We stayed in a room on the third floor without lifts or handrails on the stairs. The bath/shower was also NOT suitable for elderly people who need extra support or handrails like my mother. The head shower didn't work properly (only dripping). We asked the lady at reception about this. She told us she had fixed it, but it did not make any difference whatsoever. Our room was incredibly hot. There is no air conditioner. We asked to provide 3 water bottles in the room as we were 3 adults, but only 2 bottles of water were provided daily. On Sunday, the room was not properly cleaned (no replacement of water, cleaning of mugs etc).

Breakfast: The breakfast was OK, but I think it was totally unnecessary to charge extra for special coffees like latte and cappuccino as most hotels nowadays don't charge for them.

I know that hotels in Cornwall are expensive, especially in the Summer, but for the price we paid and the reviews on TripAdvisor, I was expecting much more from The Gannet Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raphael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGannetInn, Manager at The Gannet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank-you for reviewing your stay at our quirky little Inn. We're so pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful and are so sorry that we weren't quite what you expected. We will look into the few issues that you experienced, thank-you for bringing these to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

The service here was excellent, the food is amazing, although a little rich for the children but my 2 like bland food so don’t let that put you off going! This is a very upmarket place but no one looked at us twice at us in flip flops and hoodies. The half chicken was huge and well cooked, the well done steak was extremely tender, the chips were a little dry but that’s just being nit picky because we ate them all!! We didn’t wait longer than 10 minutes for the kids food which they bought out first because our steak would take a while but that followed shortly after and is the fastest well done steak we have ever had.
It’s not cheap, but good food and service is never cheap, it was certainly good value.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Lucylocket831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGannetInn, Manager at The Gannet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

"Excellent", "amazing" and "good value" - what a great review of a Gannet dinner thank-you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a superior double. Room was a nice size, nicely decorated and clean. Reception was very helpful. Hotel is a short walk from Carbis bay which has a beautiful beach. Breakfast was included which was one of the best I've had in a long time. Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Aled H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGannetInn, Manager at The Gannet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

What a lovely review - thank-you! We're pleased that you enjoyed your Gannet breakfast and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed in Beechwood Guest House, walked up the road looking for some dinner! Found this beautiful, elegant eatery - fabulous! Great welcome from wonderful, helpful, very professional staff who served us great food and wine - can’t wait to go back! Thank you xx

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ushers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGannetInn, Manager at The Gannet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank-you so much for your "amazing" review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We had never visited Carbis Bay before and obviously due to our own ignorance (and through no fault of the hotel) thought that the Gannet Inn would be by the sea, so we were disappointed to find that instead it was situated on a busy main road! the Inn itself was beautifully designed and the reception staff very welcoming and friendly. our room was lovely but overbearingly hot and stuffy, as the windows had been kept closed all day and there was no air conditioning. we were told there was a fan in the wardrobe but unfortunately there wasn't one. the lady on reception did find us a fan the following day which we were grateful for, but there did not seem to be any fresh air coming into this area of the hotel which was extremely uncomfortable at times. we had booked dinner for the first night, and although it was beautifully presented there was not enough to eat. my scallop starter which cost about £9 consisted of exactly 3 scallops ( at my reckoning £3 per scallop!). I would definitely recommend La Casita just down the road for evening meals if you are not eating at the Inn. the breakfasts were much better with a beautiful choice of granola etc.

Room Tip: try and get a room (if possible) at the front of the hotel where it might be a little cooler, or take your own fan!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeteCowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGannetInn, Manager at The Gannet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank-you for taking the time to write such an informative review. We're sorry that you found the hotel a bit hot, but hope that you enjoyed the gorgeous sunshine during the heat wave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews