We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, slow service”
Review of SottoSopra

SottoSopra
Price range: US$16 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Food was delicious. Enjoyable authentic pizzas were served downstairs and lovely steaks upstairs. The service is way too slow. The staff was inattentive and hasty.

Thank Lena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived just after opening on a Friday and were told it would be a 15 minute wait for a table of four which was perfectly acceptable. After 20 minutes we were shown to our table and our order was taken promptly. This is the end of the positives.
3 of us ordered food to eat in (2 pizzas, one meat platter) and the 4th person ordered a pizza to take home. After waiting 40 minutes with no communication from anyone in that time, a waiter brings over 3 take away pizza boxes. We explained that only one was supposed to be takeaway, the others wanted to eat in but the waiter said it was our mistake so we must take them to go.
When we went to pay the meat platter still hadn't been given to us so I said I'd like to cancel it as I didn't have time to wait for it. The management was very rude straight away and said we must pay because it can not be cancelled now as it was being boxed. The manager also told us it was our fault for 'suddenly' wanting to take away all of the food which wasn't the case at all - 3 people had still wanted to eat in.
As we were individually paying the staff added a service charge for being at the table even though we subsequently weren't allowed to stay and eat. They also got one of the pizzas wrong and refused to acknowledge this or remove the service charge. When the meat platter came it was shocking that I had to pay €12 for it.
The staff were so incredibly rude, none more so than the manager who clearly needs to learn a thing or two about customer service and manners in general!
In short, we waited an hour in total to be told it was our fault that the order was incorrect, that they'd refuse to correct it, and that we'd have to pay a surcharge for a table that we weren't even allowed to eat our food from.
Disgraceful all round.

Thank snoogleberryjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReplicaSottosopra, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at SottoSopra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear sir, from your previous rating, waiting times dropped from 50 mins to 40 as we already stated ( 20' for the sitting and 20 for the food). Now you are questioning the waiter's mistake without mentioning your rude and arrogant manners towards him, and the restaurant 's guests that couldn't help but notice it! Next time Before you'll rate a restaurant I suggest you to learn respect for others people hard work otherwise you could go to your nearest supermarket. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Really slow service nearly an hour for a pizza. When it arrived it had no basil on it. Ordered a meat platter to take away picture is attached. When confronted the staff were so rude. Pizza was sloppy you can get better from the supermarket counter across the street.

Thank johnbrent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sivia M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at SottoSopra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017
Google Translation

Dear Sirs, why don't you say things as they really went. When you got here we didn't have any available tables because they where all reserved, so we told you that you would have to wait at least 20 minutes for the table. On a Friday night, with a full restaurant the wait for pizzas can get up to 20 minutes. At this point you decided to take away the food you had ordered, the meat platter you had ordered isn't normally served in the way your picture shows, and i would like to remind you that you didn't even want to pay for it. The manners you showed to our staff were rude, so the colleague that was with you apologized many times for your manners. The next time i suggest you call and make a reservation for your table or, you can go directly to the supermarket across the street.

Gentili Clienti,
perché non espone i fatti come sono realmente andati? quando siete arrivati vi è stato detto che non c'era posto e il tempo di attesa per il tavolo era di almeno 20 minuti.
Di venerdì sera con il locale pieno l'attesa per le pizze può arrivare sino a 20 minuti. A questo punto avete deciso di portare via ciò che avevate ordinato compreso il tagliere di salumi che ovviamente non viene servito in quel modo e la foto riporta solo una metà del tagliere che vi è stato servito in due contenitori. La sua arroganza nel voler non pagare il piatto e del lamentarsi per l'attesa vedendo il locale pieno è stata fuori luogo, tanto che il suo collega si è scusato più volte per lei.
La prossima volta le consiglio di prenotare o andare direttamente al supermercato.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We had pizza and some beer, beer is good.
The pizza was not good, in Italy I want to have an Italian pizza...u guys are far from a good pizza.

Thank corneliawarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The best pizza that you can think about/ easy place/ big parking for cars - if you like German food just go up to the first floor and you will find a good German restaurant/ price reasonable / near linate airport
I suggest to try

Thank marcopoloairways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SottoSopra also viewed

San Donato Milanese, Province of Milan
 
San Donato Milanese, Province of Milan
San Donato Milanese, Province of Milan
 
San Donato Milanese, Province of Milan
San Donato Milanese, Province of Milan
 

Been to SottoSopra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing