We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Trip”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Tomas

Main living room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living room.
Fireplace Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Main living room.
Fireplace
Dining area
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom
Master Bedroom and balcony.
Second bedroom.
Casa San Tomas.
Basement / garage - games room.
Outdoor seating for 8 people
Nordic Jacuzzi hot tub
Wood fired jacuzzi hot hub
Hot tub with lighting.
Local pool 5 minute walk away.
Lake at sunset
Salobrena beach
La Herradura beach
La Herradura
Ski resort in winter.
Sierra Nevada ski.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Guejar Sierra, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Michael W
1 review
“Wonderful Trip”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I've seen a lot of reviews about this place which have all been good, but pointing out the downside of not having WIFI. My Wife and I didn't see it as a downside but more of a plus that we could get away from the fast paced life of our jobs and social media, and relax (instead) in a lovely authentic Spanish village.

The house is amazing and has everything you need, which isn't surprising considering this is more of a second home than a holiday rental for the Francis'.

The communication between ourselves, Mel and her husband; before during and after our stay was brilliant. Whenever we had a query we just needed to ask and information was provided quickly via email. The instructions from Malaga airport and to Sierra Nevada worked a
treat.

We spent a week in this house and done 5 days skiing. I've skied in Austria and the Chamonix valley on several occasions and can honestly say that these are the best conditions I have ever skied on. The Snow was there in vast amounts but it shocked me at how warm it was whilst on the slopes; I'll definitely be going back. The hot tub in the garden of the house was such a treat to come back to and soothed those aching muscles after a long day skiing. It was a novelty having a table tennis table in the garage but made for great fun with the family competions each night.

The village of Guejar Sierra is as authentic Spanish as your going to get (which we loved) and they still have a tradition of serving Tapas with each round of drinks. Overall the food and drink in the restaurants within the village was lovely and really inexpensive. The village of pradallano where the ski lifts are, is more modern and purpose built for the pistes it serves. The surprising thing about this village was that it too was inexpensive.

All in all the the village, the house and the ski area get a big thumbs up from us and we will be back again.

One thing you do need to be wary of is The Supermarkets are closed on a Sunday. Also if you are wanting to book Alhambra Palace tickets pre book them online or you stand a good chance of being disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the skiing and would have to agree that the conditions really are something else in Sierra Nevada. The warm sunshine really makes for great skiing! The house is intended to be a real 'get away from it all' experience and that is what Guejar is all about. For that reason we intentionally do not have WIFI but if you really do need it then it's widely available in the village. The emphasise is all about relaxation and we have furnished the house with that in mind. We are glad you enjoyed the hot tub which is particularly welcoming after a days skiing, walking or biking. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Cath...
Strasbourg, France
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to suay with your family and enjoyb the countryside”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Great place with firework and a large kitchen, perfect for family with teenagers.
Location very easy to travel from Granada and to spend time in the Sierra Nevada skiing.
Nice small restaurants in Guejar.
We will come back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
It was wonderful to welcome you to our home Casa San Tomas for Christmas and we are delighted that you had such a great time and found the house perfect for your family. The close proximity to the ski resort makes Guejar ideal for a ski holiday, whilst at the same time enjoying the charms of this lovely Spanish village. We hope to welcome you back again. Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise R
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“A great place to stay in Sierra Nevada”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Casa San Tomas is excellent - from the three beautifully decorated and comfortable bedrooms, the cosy dining and lounge area with open fire, the fully equipped and well-appointed kitchen and laundry, spotlessly clean and situated in the lovely village of Guejar Sierra, what more could you want for a holiday in the Granada area!
We stayed for 6 days in October and had fun eating at the excellent restaurants in the village and were able to choose between a day in the mountains or a day at the Mediterranean which was a pleasant drive away. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings made it feel very homely and comfortable.
Liked least: Not staying there long enough!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you all from Australia and we are delighted that you were pleased with the accommodation and that you enjoyed the charms of beautiful Guejar. The beauty of Casa San Tomas is that you are close enough to enjoy so many different things, from the skiing to the beaches and of course the stunning city of Granada. We are also glad you got to experience Cordoba and the nearby Alpujarra mountains. The standard of accommodation and cleanliness of are great importance to us and we are pleased you found this to be of a high standard. We hope to see you again. Mel and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren B
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home from home in a beautiful Spanish village.”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Guejar Sierra at the villa Casa San Tomas which had all we needed to make our stay comfortable. The bedrooms were a good size and the table tennis was extensively used :). The area has a lot to offer from hill walks to beach days or just have a lazy afternoon in the village a 2 minute walk from the villa. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves (2 x adults and 3 x children under 16). Hope to return either for the ski season or next summer, thank you soooo much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes the area really does have something for everyone. We are glad you made use of the table tennis and found the facilities at the house to be good. We hope to welcome you back to experience the area in the winter so you can enjoy some skiing! Mel and Matt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen_Pau...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent a week in Casa San Tomas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have rented accommodation in many parts of Spain in the past few years and this is probably the best we have found. The house is a fine size, is very tastefully decorated and well equipped. The patio area has a nice amount of sunny and shady areas, and the tub is a real bonus. We had stayed in the village before so we knew our way around. Its a great place to experience everyday Spanish life and is also a good base for walking or exploring that part of Andalucía.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. That really is a wonderful compliment. Standard of furnishings and ensuring the house is well equipped is very important to us. The hot tub is a new addition and we are continually looking at ways to improve and enhance the holiday experience. We really hope to see you all back again in the future. Matt and Mel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing