We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding accommodation in a perfect location”
other traveller has booked this property
Infinity Pool in Big 5 Territory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Infinity Pool in Big 5 Territory
Lounge with PVR All Bedrooms look onto the River
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Infinity Pool in Big 5 Territory
Lounge with PVR
All Bedrooms look onto the River
Elephant
Buffalo
Elephant and Buffalo
Elephants
Lion's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Komatipoort, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Carolyn W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our party of 10 stayed at Hippo Hills for 5 nights. The purpose of the visit was to celebrate a 50th Birthday with friends and family ( From South Africa, Scotland, England and Australia) The accommodation was perfect for our group. There were 5 rooms each with separate bathrooms. 3 rooms were twin and 2 doubles which suited us very well as we were a mix of couples and singles.
The property was very well maintained both inside and out. The self catering facilities were excellent.
The day we arrived there was a herd of elephants passing through literally at the bottom of the garden! There were always hippos, buffalo and waterbuck in the area. We also saw a cheetah early one morning but sadly missed the pride of lions with cubs the previous day.
We arranged a full day game drive in a private vehicle and a Kruger sunset drive. Both were arranged via the desk at Ngwenya Lodge and this facility was well organised.
We are planning a return visit next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wi-fi only available in restaurant.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RThompson...
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was without a doubt one of the most comfortable self catering houses I’ve ever stayed in. The view over the river is magnificent, with the pool and veranda you can just lounge and enjoy the game viewing. Of our four days there we spent two full days at the house, and didn’t even feel the need to go explore the rest of the resort in which the house is situated.
What we’ve enjoyed the most was the total privacy of the house, kudos to whomever designed the place, you would believe you are all alone on a stretch of wild Africa at its best.
It is more a five hour drive from OR Tambo than a four hour drive, and the only other thing worth mentioning is that the 5th bedroom is not connected to the house via a indoor passage, but by an outdoor passage on the second floor.
We did some drives in the Kruger Park, and can highly recommend the road between Lower Sabie and Berg-en-Dal, where we’ve spotted everything except lion in one day.
We were three generations sharing the house, and if you are looking for a place with enough space for grannies and toddlers and everything in between, don’t look any further.
I'll book it again in a wink.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and privacy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie3125...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have the most fantastic time at Hippo Hills and will definitely be back. Chilling in the pool with cocktails watching game and bird life is a must for anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Single mattresses are far too narrow
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zgoody
brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in August 2014

Everything was excellent.
From dealing with owners, to checking in and out, easy
The place is just awesome. My children loved the place.
A must place to stay with the family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conker20
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I am writing this somewhat reluctantly because I have rented this property annually for a number of years and have always resisted reviewing it. The reason was that I didn't want everybody else finding out what a gem it is. Situated on the southern bank of the Crocodile River with extensive views over the Kruger Park which is on the northern bank, this house makes an ideal base for exploring the southern part of the park. Crocodile Bridge entrance gate is less than 10 minutes away.
Alternately you can just stay'at home' and enjoy the animals on the opposite bank whilst cooling off in the plunge pool. I,and some of my friends are keen photographers and artists and we can all pursue are interests without leaving our chairs or the wine fridge!
There can be no better recommendation than the fact that we keep coming back every year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing