We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee!”
Review of The Trading Post

The Trading Post
Ranked #1 of 3 Quick Bites in Glenorchy
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A cozy shop/cafe which is the check in point for various tours and transport in the area. In addition to lots of information about the area and a ticket service, The Trading Post is filled with NZ made treasures and excellent food and drink offerings. There are books about our stunning country, pewter jewelry, delicious soaps, natural cosmetics, local art, gifts for kids and more. Our amazing coffee is complimented by home baked goods, featuring world-famous carrot cake, brownies, slices, huge chocolate chip cookies and scones with jam and cream. We have plenty of knowledge about the local area and are happy to help enhance your Glenorchy experience.
Restaurant details
Description: A cozy shop/cafe which is the check in point for various tours and transport in the area. In addition to lots of information about the area and a ticket service, The Trading Post is filled with NZ made treasures and excellent food and drink offerings. There are books about our stunning country, pewter jewelry, delicious soaps, natural cosmetics, local art, gifts for kids and more. Our amazing coffee is complimented by home baked goods, featuring world-famous carrot cake, brownies, slices, huge chocolate chip cookies and scones with jam and cream. We have plenty of knowledge about the local area and are happy to help enhance your Glenorchy experience.
Reviewed 29 November 2018

Great service, friendly staff and nice coffee.A great place to sit on the lovely sheepskin rugs in the sunshine and drink a coffee while looking at the spectacular views.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2018 via mobile

Visiting glenorchy on a rainy day made us look for some good hot coffee and we ended up at the Trading post. It's right near the wharf and it has that family run business feeling.The coffee was great... roasted locally and the kinloh carrot cake was great too.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Shailja_Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 November 2018

The Trading post is definitaly my favorite place in Glenorchy. The staff is always friendly and they sell an amazing caarrot cake that you should try !
You'll find yourself in a confy atmosphere, with lovely music que great books, souvenirs or post cards. I really hope to come back soon to enjoy the place, the carrot cake and the great books.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarieVanina2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinloch_Lodge, General Manager at The Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Thanks so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Not a lot happening in Glenorchy but we found this amazing coffee place. Carrot cake was superb as was the oat cookie.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank EileenStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinloch_Lodge, Manager at The Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks so much for your review Eileen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

This is a charming gem of a coffee stop. The Carrot cake is one of the best we have tasted in NZ, the setting is a delight and the large flat white is 'large'. They also have a small range of high quality souvenirs, far better than the average. But as with all such places the real key to success is the staff and here expectations were not only met but exceeded. Well Done

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim052
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinloch_Lodge, Manager at The Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks so much Tim!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trading Post also viewed

 

Been to The Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.