We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$3,100
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
$3,046
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$3,100
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
sunny a
Washington DC

Magnificent Mountain View

Review of BLANKET BAY
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jan 2024via mobile
The arrival sequence is magnificent, and the wow never ceases. Views are majestic and serene- the rooms designed to optimize comfort. It’s hard to leave that cocoon, but the whole place invites you to partake. Casual leather sofas nested our conversations after magical mountain hikes. The heli tour took off from the front lawn. Meals were served in cozy intimate nooks that felt private but lively. Staff was entirely gracious and welcoming. We always looked forward to the happy hour preceding dinner. The rustic elegance invites you to stay, and I’d love to return.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Earnshaw Suite was fabulous, with fireplace and private end views. the spa felt great after long...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$815
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $815
  • Expedia.com
    $815
  • Priceline
    $815
1.7 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$595
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $595
  • Hotels.com
    $595
  • Priceline
    $595
4.1 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$150
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Vio.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $150
4.2 km from BLANKET BAY
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$1,050
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,050
  • Expedia.com
    $1,050
  • Priceline
    $1,050
2.1 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$3,100
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $3,046
  • Expedia.com
    $3,100
  • Vio.com
    $3,100
0.0 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$336
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $242
  • Expedia.com
    $264
  • Priceline
    $492
26.0 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$584
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
26.2 km from BLANKET BAY
Free parking
The Superior River View Suite at the Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Booking.com
$204
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $204
  • Vio.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
    $204
26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$269
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Algotels
    $127
  • Priceline
    $152
26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
Free parking
Restaurant
Priceline
$180
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
    26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
    View more hotels in Glenorchy
    Reviews (305)
    Filter reviews
    305 results
    Traveller rating
    270
    18
    11
    6
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    270
    18
    11
    6
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews new zealand cocktail hour our honeymoon room was large attention to detail paradise suite meet other guests mind blowing incredible views out of this world wonderful lodge heaven on earth an absolute delight special place wings helicopter tom
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 305 reviews
    Reviewed 20 December 2023 via mobile

    I had my expectations set extremely high due to the positive reviews of the property and my previous experiences in New Zealand lodges and Relaix and Chateau properties. Unfortunately I was left feeling disappointed.

    Positives:
    1. The location of the lodge is breath-taking. Set on the shores of lake Wakatipu overlooking snow-capped Mount Bonpland your first impression is Wow! The beauty and serenity of the location is undoubtedly unique and impressive, and I couldn’t get enough of the view.

    2. Arrival and check-in was seamless. In fact there was no formal check-in but rather just a tour of the property whilst they quickly placed our luggage in the room. No forms to complete or credit card exchange.

    3. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, greeting you with smiling faces and eager to assist.

    4. The beds, pillows and linens are incredibly soft and comfortable, and combined with the silence of the location you will have an amazing sleep.

    5. Breakfast has a nice mix of cold buffet items (cold meats, cheese, pastries, yoghurt) and your choice of hot dish including a traditional full breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage, hash brown and black pudding, eggs Benedict, omelette or really anything you choose. It’s relaxed and uncomplicated.

    Negatives:
    1. The lodge room is just that, a rather small, drab room with no living/sofa area, no desk, no fireplace. This compares unfavorably with the base category at Huka Lodge which is a junior suite almost 50% larger with sofa, fireplace and French doors which open on to the lawn and river.

    2. Whilst the bedding is soft and enveloping the towels unfortunately are course and scratchy.

    3. The lodge has an odd mix of woods which aesthetically don’t match. The floors and doors are a highly glossed orange color wood whilst the roof and timbers are a rustic unvarnished dark brown. They clash.

    4. The main living room has high ceilings with amazing views and is beautiful. However the bar is unappealing and the games room in the basement has zero ambience or charm and feels drab.

    5. There are very few areas to sit and relax outside despite there being vast lawns to utilize. In fact, it’s really only poolside that has loungers, and the cushions for these were away being cleaned during our stay. They should invest in comfortable loungers / steamer chairs placed in the gardens overlooking the lake.

    6. Unlike Huka Lodge where there are at least 6 locations throughout the property where you can dine, Blanket Bay really only offer the indoor restaurant and patio outdoor area. That’s a shame given the size of the property.

    7. Dinner at Blanket Bay is a 4-course set menu which changes every evening. Be prepared for complicated dishes which utilize anything and everything the chef was able to source that day. This means that sometimes the flavors become confused and what should be the star of each dish becomes overtaken by other elements.

    If location is the deciding factor for your choice of lodge then it’s difficult to beat the location of Blanket Bay. However, in terms of accommodation, food and value for money I would recommend Huka Lodge over Blanket Bay. Huka Lodge feels smaller and more intimate. Its base category rooms are beautiful junior suites on the river with living areas and fireplaces to curl up in front of. It has multiple distinct dining areas dotted around the property to give you privacy and the dining is less complicated whilst retaining the high quality and flavors unique to New Zealand. When you consider the price point is similar for both properties the choice is clear.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    5  Thank LondonMark_UK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 November 2023

    Exceptional and Magnificent in every way. Excellent location, dreamy lake and mountain views, lots of pretty grounds to walk on, superb service, friendly and courteous staff, excellent food—breakfast, lunch and dinner. One of the best massages I’ve ever had—ask for Pascale!! This resort was just EVERYTHING LUXURY… and they paid attention to every little detail. Thanks to Andrew, Steph, Nina, Pascale and all the other amazing Blanket Bay staff.
    My husband and I are very grateful to you for making our stay so delightful!!! We will be back!!

    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank iyab00
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

    This was the last lodge we stayed in on our two week tour of the South Island. We had previously just visited The Bay of Many Coves, The Lindis and Mahu Whenua, so had both been really spoiled and had our expectations ratcheted up.

    No fear - Blanket Bay did not disappoint, held its head up and in various respects poked it out of the top of the sunroof!

    The lodge is stunning. Think Old world charm with lots of reclaimed wood (I recommend flicking through the book on the history of the lodge in the sitting room). Our room - the smallest you can get - was lovely and more than large enough. The food was truly outstanding and the service was at another level. People you’d never met knew your name and what your food foibles were and everyone was both attentive and interesting. The Lodge has a number of chefs, which meant that even though we had 5 course dinners, they did not take 3 hours like at other lodges. I’m happy to linger, but by the time you’re on your 40th or so meal over a two week holiday, this was somewhat of a blessing.

    We only got to spend two days at Blanket Bay, but did get to hike for a couple of hours up the Routeburn Track. If you’re up to it, this is well worth it. The scenery is stunning.

    Due to jet lag, I’m typing this in the middle of the night having just got back to the UK. It is bringing a warm feeling of lovely memories that I will cherish. I don’t know when we’ll be back in the South Island, but I’m sure no trip will be complete without a stay at this fabulous lodge.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Londontripadviser
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 November 2023 via mobile

    Beautiful classic lodge in a wonderful private location. The rooms are very spacious and well taken care of. The service is very professional and extremely friendly. Nice set up for pre dinner drinks and the aus;it’s of the food is excellent. Only the gym could be upgraded. We will come back.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank TEU793
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 June 2023 via mobile

    A magical place!

    We eloped to Blanket Bay in June 2022 and it was an unbelievable experience.

    Firstly, we can’t thank the staff enough for everything, what a fantastic, genuine group of people.

    The lodge and surrounds are spectacular. The nightly degustation dinner was some of the best food we have ever eaten. (Goats cheese tortellini with honeycomb, burnt butter & pine nuts was addictive, thanks chef for the extra portion)

    Other highlights, the room with mountain views, dinner by the outdoor fireplace, the lake for a cold plunge, cocktail hour & the overall interior & ambiance throughout the lodge.

    Oh, and we were lucky enough to wake up and see Blanket Bay covered in snow.

    Thanks again Blanket Bay!

    Katie + Lawrence

    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Ellisthis
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews