We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$2,100
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
$2,100
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$2,082
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Iyabo W

MAGNIFICENT!!!!! Simply Fantastic!!!

Review of BLANKET BAY
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Nov 2023
Exceptional and Magnificent in every way. Excellent location, dreamy lake and mountain views, lots of pretty grounds to walk on, superb service, friendly and courteous staff, excellent food—breakfast, lunch and dinner. One of the best massages I’ve ever had—ask for Pascale!! This resort was just EVERYTHING LUXURY… and they paid attention to every little detail. Thanks to Andrew, Steph, Nina, Pascale and all the other amazing Blanket Bay staff.
My husband and I are very grateful to you for making our stay so delightful!!! We will be back!!
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$815
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $815
  • Agoda.com
    $775
  • Expedia.com
    $815
1.7 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$595
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $595
  • Hotels.com
    $595
  • Tripadvisor
    $595
4.1 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$1,050
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,050
  • Expedia.com
    $1,050
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,050
2.1 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$250
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $250
  • Vio.com
    $250
  • Hotels.com
    $250
4.2 km from BLANKET BAY
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$2,100
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $2,100
  • Tripadvisor
    $2,082
  • Vio.com
0.0 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$259
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    $273
  • Expedia.com
    $264
  • Priceline
    $336
26.0 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$1,834
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
26.2 km from BLANKET BAY
Free parking
The Superior River View Suite at the Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Booking.com
$204
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $178
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
    $180
26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
Free parking
Pool
Strike Bowl
Booking.com
$188
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $143
  • Algotels
    $140
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
Free parking
Restaurant
Priceline
$204
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
    26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
    View more hotels in Glenorchy
    Reviews (305)
    Filter reviews
    305 results
    Traveller rating
    270
    18
    11
    6
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    270
    18
    11
    6
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews new zealand cocktail hour our honeymoon room was large attention to detail paradise suite meet other guests mind blowing incredible views out of this world wonderful lodge heaven on earth an absolute delight special place wings helicopter tom
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 305 reviews
    Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

    This was the last lodge we stayed in on our two week tour of the South Island. We had previously just visited The Bay of Many Coves, The Lindis and Mahu Whenua, so had both been really spoiled and had our expectations ratcheted up.

    No fear - Blanket Bay did not disappoint, held its head up and in various respects poked it out of the top of the sunroof!

    The lodge is stunning. Think Old world charm with lots of reclaimed wood (I recommend flicking through the book on the history of the lodge in the sitting room). Our room - the smallest you can get - was lovely and more than large enough. The food was truly outstanding and the service was at another level. People you’d never met knew your name and what your food foibles were and everyone was both attentive and interesting. The Lodge has a number of chefs, which meant that even though we had 5 course dinners, they did not take 3 hours like at other lodges. I’m happy to linger, but by the time you’re on your 40th or so meal over a two week holiday, this was somewhat of a blessing.

    We only got to spend two days at Blanket Bay, but did get to hike for a couple of hours up the Routeburn Track. If you’re up to it, this is well worth it. The scenery is stunning.

    Due to jet lag, I’m typing this in the middle of the night having just got back to the UK. It is bringing a warm feeling of lovely memories that I will cherish. I don’t know when we’ll be back in the South Island, but I’m sure no trip will be complete without a stay at this fabulous lodge.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Londontripadviser
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 November 2023 via mobile

    Beautiful classic lodge in a wonderful private location. The rooms are very spacious and well taken care of. The service is very professional and extremely friendly. Nice set up for pre dinner drinks and the aus;it’s of the food is excellent. Only the gym could be upgraded. We will come back.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank TEU793
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 June 2023 via mobile

    A magical place!

    We eloped to Blanket Bay in June 2022 and it was an unbelievable experience.

    Firstly, we can’t thank the staff enough for everything, what a fantastic, genuine group of people.

    The lodge and surrounds are spectacular. The nightly degustation dinner was some of the best food we have ever eaten. (Goats cheese tortellini with honeycomb, burnt butter & pine nuts was addictive, thanks chef for the extra portion)

    Other highlights, the room with mountain views, dinner by the outdoor fireplace, the lake for a cold plunge, cocktail hour & the overall interior & ambiance throughout the lodge.

    Oh, and we were lucky enough to wake up and see Blanket Bay covered in snow.

    Thanks again Blanket Bay!

    Katie + Lawrence

    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Ellisthis
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 March 2023

    We spent our honeymoon here in November - an absolutely amazing, fantastic, blissful week we haven't been able to stop reminiscing about since! Glenorchy is my new favourite place on earth, and so is Blanket Bay.

    Accommodation - can I give more than 5/5 stars??? Gorgeous, cozy rooms that aren't stuffy or trying too hard to be elegant or fancy - they just are, mind-blowing views, and discreet turn-down service that makes you feel really cared for.

    Service - thoughtful, fast, friendly, funny, brilliant. We had so much fun talking and laughing with the staff who were all an absolute delight (and put up very good-naturedly with our shenanigans). they took amazing care of us and everything was so personal. they had our preferred coffee and drink orders memorized by the second day!

    Food/Wine - to DIE for. how do they not have a Michelin star yet is beyond me. The wine was fantastic and Damien (the sommelier) gave amazing after amazing recommendations!

    Amenities - unfortunately the pool wasn't open yet for the season when we were there, but the hot tub was awesome and the massages were amazing.

    Activities - the staff were so great helping us plan our excursions, and when one of them got rained out they worked overtime to help us find something else to do! Great hiking recommendations as well; we're huge nerds and had a blast visiting different Lord of the Rings filming locations (we hadn't even realized booking the vacation that there were so many close by!) Lothlorien, Isengard, and (closer to the airport) the Warg Rider/Rohan locations! So cool.

    Room tip: Don't arrive after dark and the rain 😅 the entrance is a bit hard to find
    Date of stay: November 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Elizabeth H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 March 2023 via mobile

    I would just say “speechless” but that’s not envoy to post a review. From the moment we drove onto the property we had an amazing experience. It feels like you are staying at someone’s very nice home. The staff is impeccable. It is very romantic as everything is suited for couples to relax, have a little day time adventure and then meet others doing the same.

    Room tip: Be ready to relax in this peaceful property.
    Date of stay: January 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank ATravelNow
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews