We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TEU793
Munich, Germany

Beautiful location and great service

Review of BLANKET BAY
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2023via mobile
Beautiful classic lodge in a wonderful private location. The rooms are very spacious and well taken care of. The service is very professional and extremely friendly. Nice set up for pre dinner drinks and the aus;it’s of the food is excellent. Only the gym could be upgraded. We will come back.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $807
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
4.2 km from BLANKET BAY
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.1 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
King size suite
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.0 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
No booking fees
    7.8 km from BLANKET BAY
    Tripadvisor
    $264
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    26.0 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The Superior River View Suite at the Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $204
    • eDreams
    26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free parking
    Pool
    Strike Bowl
    Booking.com
    $269
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $173
    • Destinia.com
      $160
    • Expedia.com
      $169
    26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $638
    • Priceline
    26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
    View more hotels in Glenorchy
    Reviews (305)
    Filter reviews
    305 results
    Traveller rating
    270
    18
    11
    6
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    270
    18
    11
    6
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews new zealand cocktail hour our honeymoon room was large attention to detail paradise suite meet other guests mind blowing incredible views out of this world wonderful lodge heaven on earth an absolute delight special place wings helicopter tom
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 305 reviews
    Reviewed 12 June 2023 via mobile

    A magical place!

    We eloped to Blanket Bay in June 2022 and it was an unbelievable experience.

    Firstly, we can’t thank the staff enough for everything, what a fantastic, genuine group of people.

    The lodge and surrounds are spectacular. The nightly degustation dinner was some of the best food we have ever eaten. (Goats cheese tortellini with honeycomb, burnt butter & pine nuts was addictive, thanks chef for the extra portion)

    Other highlights, the room with mountain views, dinner by the outdoor fireplace, the lake for a cold plunge, cocktail hour & the overall interior & ambiance throughout the lodge.

    Oh, and we were lucky enough to wake up and see Blanket Bay covered in snow.

    Thanks again Blanket Bay!

    Katie + Lawrence

    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Ellisthis
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 March 2023

    We spent our honeymoon here in November - an absolutely amazing, fantastic, blissful week we haven't been able to stop reminiscing about since! Glenorchy is my new favourite place on earth, and so is Blanket Bay.

    Accommodation - can I give more than 5/5 stars??? Gorgeous, cozy rooms that aren't stuffy or trying too hard to be elegant or fancy - they just are, mind-blowing views, and discreet turn-down service that makes you feel really cared for.

    Service - thoughtful, fast, friendly, funny, brilliant. We had so much fun talking and laughing with the staff who were all an absolute delight (and put up very good-naturedly with our shenanigans). they took amazing care of us and everything was so personal. they had our preferred coffee and drink orders memorized by the second day!

    Food/Wine - to DIE for. how do they not have a Michelin star yet is beyond me. The wine was fantastic and Damien (the sommelier) gave amazing after amazing recommendations!

    Amenities - unfortunately the pool wasn't open yet for the season when we were there, but the hot tub was awesome and the massages were amazing.

    Activities - the staff were so great helping us plan our excursions, and when one of them got rained out they worked overtime to help us find something else to do! Great hiking recommendations as well; we're huge nerds and had a blast visiting different Lord of the Rings filming locations (we hadn't even realized booking the vacation that there were so many close by!) Lothlorien, Isengard, and (closer to the airport) the Warg Rider/Rohan locations! So cool.

    Room tip: Don't arrive after dark and the rain 😅 the entrance is a bit hard to find
    Date of stay: November 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Elizabeth H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 March 2023 via mobile

    I would just say “speechless” but that’s not envoy to post a review. From the moment we drove onto the property we had an amazing experience. It feels like you are staying at someone’s very nice home. The staff is impeccable. It is very romantic as everything is suited for couples to relax, have a little day time adventure and then meet others doing the same.

    Room tip: Be ready to relax in this peaceful property.
    Date of stay: January 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank ATravelNow
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 February 2023

    Blanket Bay was the final “luxury country lodge” at which we stayed, and in many ways I feel like we saved the best for last. Located about 45 minutes from Queenstown, it has a completely different feel. The lodge has a spectacular setting on the lake with amazing mountain views. Our room was large and well-appointed. The food was wonderful, as was the service. Special mention to our breakfast/lunch server Natalie who outshone everyone (and that’s a very high bar.) The lodge has a family feel to it as well—the owners came by to talk with us one night. In terms of activities, we took a number of walks and hikes in the area, we did a photography excursion with Glen Howey, we used the fitness center at the Lodge, and we also made sure to have plenty of “lodge time” for reading and relaxing. Blanket Bay is a truly special place and we hope to return some day.

    Date of stay: January 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Peter W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 January 2023 via mobile

    Just wanted to say how much we loved Blanket Bay. It was incredible - every day was better than the day before and they were all exceptional. We had the most amazing time!!! Our activities were arranged by Walk into Luxury including heli- hiking a section of Milford Track & Earnslaw plus a day walk on the Routeburn. The lodge was heaven on earth. The dining was next level with lovely staff and incredible facilities. Highly recommend this experience.

    Room tip: To do the walks we did will require a good level of fitness and mobility as some of the tracks are rough in parts and the weather can change
    Date of stay: January 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank finsavvy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews