We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Travel Lover
Los Angeles, California

Great Getaway

Review of BLANKET BAY
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Mar 2023via mobile
I would just say “speechless” but that’s not envoy to post a review. From the moment we drove onto the property we had an amazing experience. It feels like you are staying at someone’s very nice home. The staff is impeccable. It is very romantic as everything is suited for couples to relax, have a little day time adventure and then meet others doing the same.
Date of stay: January 2023
Room Tip: Be ready to relax in this peaceful property.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $815
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.1 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
King size suite
    2.0 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    4.2 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free parking
    Restaurant
      2.0 km from BLANKET BAY
      Restaurant
      Bar/Lounge
      No booking fees
        7.8 km from BLANKET BAY
        The Superior River View Suite at the Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
        • Hotels.com
        • Expedia.com
          $254
        • eDreams
        26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
        Free parking
        Pool
        Strike Bowl
        $201
        • Booking.com
        • Priceline
        • Algotels
        26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
        Free parking
        Restaurant
        $1,940
        • Hotels.com
        • Expedia.com
          $1,961
        • Booking.com
        26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Glenorchy
        Reviews (305)
        Filter reviews
        305 results
        Traveller rating
        270
        18
        11
        6
        0
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        270
        18
        11
        6
        0
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews new zealand cocktail hour our honeymoon room was large attention to detail paradise suite meet other guests mind blowing incredible views out of this world wonderful lodge heaven on earth an absolute delight special place wings helicopter tom
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        11 - 16 of 305 reviews
        Reviewed 1 February 2023

        Blanket Bay was the final “luxury country lodge” at which we stayed, and in many ways I feel like we saved the best for last. Located about 45 minutes from Queenstown, it has a completely different feel. The lodge has a spectacular setting on the lake with amazing mountain views. Our room was large and well-appointed. The food was wonderful, as was the service. Special mention to our breakfast/lunch server Natalie who outshone everyone (and that’s a very high bar.) The lodge has a family feel to it as well—the owners came by to talk with us one night. In terms of activities, we took a number of walks and hikes in the area, we did a photography excursion with Glen Howey, we used the fitness center at the Lodge, and we also made sure to have plenty of “lodge time” for reading and relaxing. Blanket Bay is a truly special place and we hope to return some day.

        Date of stay: January 2023
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Location
          • Service
        1  Thank Peter W
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 11 January 2023 via mobile

        Just wanted to say how much we loved Blanket Bay. It was incredible - every day was better than the day before and they were all exceptional. We had the most amazing time!!! Our activities were arranged by Walk into Luxury including heli- hiking a section of Milford Track & Earnslaw plus a day walk on the Routeburn. The lodge was heaven on earth. The dining was next level with lovely staff and incredible facilities. Highly recommend this experience.

        Room tip: To do the walks we did will require a good level of fitness and mobility as some of the tracks are rough in parts and the weather can change
        Date of stay: January 2023
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        2  Thank finsavvy
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 7 January 2023 via mobile

        PERFECTION! I would give Blanket Bay as many stars as possible. The accommodations, the grounds, the food, the service and the staff were all exceptional. From the moment we arrived at the gate, we felt like cherished guests. Every need was met, and the staff members tended to any need or request. We so enjoyed the team: Tom, Andrew, Steph, David, Brooke, Paul, Charlotte, Rafael, etc. We also enjoyed all the activities and opportunities Blanket Bay affords, as well as conversing with the other fascinating guests. To cap it off, we loved meeting the owners, Tom and Pauline, who could not have been kinder or more welcoming. Blanket Bay feels like you’re in someone’s exquisite, yet warm and comfortable home with Michelin-starred cuisine and fabulous wines. We are counting the days until we can come back!

        Date of stay: January 2023
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        2  Thank calbrat
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 23 December 2022

        Attentive staff, fabulous food but lacking a bit of life and quite formal. Also Glenorchy does not have that much to do apart from hikes and if it is raining it’s not so good. Blanket Bay rooms are also a bit gloomy and dark. Don’t get me wring - it is a stunning place but could do with a bit more vibe.

        Date of stay: November 2022
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank ivalee9
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 18 September 2022 via mobile

        This is a superb property - attention to detail was fantastic. Highlights (apart from the obvious - scenery, property) that makes this place special is 1) the staff and their personalised service. What a wonderful team - you really made our stay, and 2) the food - greatest respect to the chef and team. The flavours and creativity were out of this world. A very special stay, in a very special place with wonderful people looking after us with such care.

        Date of stay: September 2022
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        1  Thank meganfowler001
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews