We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ivalee9
Sydney, Australia

Beautiful but lacking life

Review of BLANKET BAY
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Dec 2022
Attentive staff, fabulous food but lacking a bit of life and quite formal. Also Glenorchy does not have that much to do apart from hikes and if it is raining it’s not so good. Blanket Bay rooms are also a bit gloomy and dark. Don’t get me wring - it is a stunning place but could do with a bit more vibe.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$250
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $250
  • Hotels.com
    $250
  • Vio.com
    $250
4.2 km from BLANKET BAY
Free parking
Restaurant
Bunk Hut
$398
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
    2.0 km from BLANKET BAY
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    $1,050
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
      $1,050
    • Expedia.com
      $1,050
    • Priceline
      $1,050
    2.1 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    No booking fees
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    1.7 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $2,100
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
      $2,100
    • Priceline
      $2,100
    • Vio.com
      $2,100
    0.0 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $138
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $138
    • Hotels.com
      $134
    • Expedia.com
      $138
    26.0 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The Superior River View Suite at the Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
    $275
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $275
    • Vio.com
      $184
    • Hotels.com
      $275
    26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free parking
    Pool
    Strike Bowl
    $188
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $172
    • Agoda.com
      $143
    • Expedia.com
      $188
    26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    $219
    Fully refundable
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Official Site
      $206
    26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
    $2,464
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
      $1,961
    • Trip.com
      $2,464
    • Expedia.com
      $1,961
    26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Glenorchy
    Reviews (306)
    Filter reviews
    306 results
    Traveller rating
    271
    18
    11
    6
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    271
    18
    11
    6
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews new zealand cocktail hour our honeymoon room was large attention to detail paradise suite meet other guests mind blowing incredible views out of this world wonderful lodge heaven on earth an absolute delight special place wings helicopter tom
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    16 - 21 of 306 reviews
    Reviewed 18 September 2022 via mobile

    This is a superb property - attention to detail was fantastic. Highlights (apart from the obvious - scenery, property) that makes this place special is 1) the staff and their personalised service. What a wonderful team - you really made our stay, and 2) the food - greatest respect to the chef and team. The flavours and creativity were out of this world. A very special stay, in a very special place with wonderful people looking after us with such care.

    Date of stay: September 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank meganfowler001
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 August 2022 via mobile

    Staying at Blanket Bay was such a special experience. The views were breathtaking, the location quiet and relaxing, the lodge beautiful and we felt very at home. Blanket Bay was such a contrast to our busy lives that we really unwound. The staff didn’t fuss or get underfoot, but took note and intuitively looked after us, right down to arranging special meal substitutes and dinner menus to suit my dietary needs. We felt so welcome and cared for, thanks to everybody on the team there. We are so pleased we ended up staying in the lodge rather than a separate villa. Why go overseas when there is such a fantastic designation here in Aotearoa!

    Room tip: Book the private dining options if available, outside in front of the fire even if its cold, downstairs in the wine cellar area.
    Date of stay: August 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Quest34680061236
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 June 2022 via mobile

    This was our second stay at Blanket Bay, we loved it so much the first time in 2021 we booked again for our 5th wedding anniversary. Staff are fabulous, very welcoming. We stayed in the Paradise Suite at the end again which is huge with a balcony and incredible views over the lake. We were able to launch our skis at Glenorchy and enjoy the glassy lake conditions that we had often over the 6 days we were there.

    We love the grand great hall with all the schist, high ceilings and old beams that have been repurposed, very Central Otago.

    The food is stunning with several courses each night, featuring seasonal local ingredients at their finest. Pre-drink canapés are a nice way to meet other guests and talk to staff.

    I highly recommend getting a massage from Yumi, she is an excellent therapist! We loved the main pool and enjoyed it most days being in late February.

    The year before we took a helicopter from Blanket Bay to Milford Sounds which was breathtaking. The jet boat ride up the river from Glenorchy was also a lot of fun.

    We can’t wait to go back! Thank you from Monique & Steve

    Date of stay: February 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank MonKaminski
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 August 2021

    We recently spent 3 nights at Blanket Bay with friends to celebrate my husband's birthday and had an absolutely wonderful time.

    We have stayed in some amazing places around the world and Blanket Bay can definitely compete on the world stage.

    The care, attention to detail and pride that each and every staff member took in their work was amazing. This particularly showed in the kitchen where every meal was different and the kitchen staff really went out of their way to showcase local produce and present something delicious each and every time.

    The service, atmosphere and warmth of welcome provided was second to none and neither my husband nor I could find fault in any aspect of our stay and that will definitely make this a trip to remember. We would most certainly recommend Blanket Bay highly to anyone that asks and we hope to be able to return again ourselves at some stage in the near future.

    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank adelecU4802BI
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 July 2021

    I spent one night in Blanket Bay. It was supposed to be a birthday present for a girlfriend but due to travel restrictions she was unable to make it. Blanket Bay was so flexible but allowing us to make amendments to the trip. I was a bit worried about travelling alone to such a luxurious place but, not one minute did I feel alone. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and lovely. The setting was magical. The food was delicious. The hotel room was super comfortable. I can't wait to go back and stay for longer. Thank you again Damien, Tom and Staff of Blanket Bay.

    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank SapnaD17
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews