We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Adele C
Christchurch, New Zealand

Absolutely Outstanding !

Review of BLANKET BAY
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Aug 2021
We recently spent 3 nights at Blanket Bay with friends to celebrate my husband's birthday and had an absolutely wonderful time.

We have stayed in some amazing places around the world and Blanket Bay can definitely compete on the world stage.

The care, attention to detail and pride that each and every staff member took in their work was amazing. This particularly showed in the kitchen where every meal was different and the kitchen staff really went out of their way to showcase local produce and present something delicious each and every time.

The service, atmosphere and warmth of welcome provided was second to none and neither my husband nor I could find fault in any aspect of our stay and that will definitely make this a trip to remember. We would most certainly recommend Blanket Bay highly to anyone that asks and we hope to be able to return again ourselves at some stage in the near future.
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.7 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,048
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
$594
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $594
4.1 km from BLANKET BAY
Free Wifi
Free parking
King size suite
    2.0 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    4.2 km from BLANKET BAY
    Free parking
    Restaurant
      2.0 km from BLANKET BAY
      Restaurant
      Bar/Lounge
      No booking fees
        7.8 km from BLANKET BAY
        $2,096
        • Hotels.com
        • Booking.com
        • Priceline
        0.0 km from BLANKET BAY
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        $143
        • Booking.com
        • Hotels.com
        • Priceline
        26.0 km from BLANKET BAY
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        The Superior River View Suite at the Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
        $241
        Fully refundable
        • Expedia.com
          $232
        • Agoda.com
          $192
        • Hotels.com
          $232
        26.3 km from BLANKET BAY
        Free parking
        Pool
        View more hotels in Glenorchy
        Reviews (306)
        Filter reviews
        306 results
        Traveller rating
        271
        18
        11
        6
        0
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        271
        18
        11
        6
        0
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews new zealand cocktail hour our honeymoon room was large attention to detail paradise suite meet other guests mind blowing incredible views out of this world wonderful lodge heaven on earth an absolute delight special place wings helicopter tom
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        20 - 25 of 306 reviews
        Reviewed 31 July 2021

        I spent one night in Blanket Bay. It was supposed to be a birthday present for a girlfriend but due to travel restrictions she was unable to make it. Blanket Bay was so flexible but allowing us to make amendments to the trip. I was a bit worried about travelling alone to such a luxurious place but, not one minute did I feel alone. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and lovely. The setting was magical. The food was delicious. The hotel room was super comfortable. I can't wait to go back and stay for longer. Thank you again Damien, Tom and Staff of Blanket Bay.

        Date of stay: July 2021
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Service
        1  Thank SapnaD17
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 4 June 2021

        Had my husbands 60th birthday here. The staff were so friendly views are amazing a great getaway. Food was amazing. Lots to do a great pool room . Will recommend if in queenstown. Great views of snow capped mountains

        Date of stay: June 2021
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        1  Thank Gayle O
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 4 May 2021

        I've stayed at some nice places all over the world and for the first time in NZ can truly say the service and accommodations at BB were world class. As noted in many of the reviews here the lodge, rooms and facilities are outstanding but the people are what make the difference. Friendly, attentive, helpful and attention to detail from start to finish. Damien (#1) opening the door and welcoming us, Tom, Tom, Damien#2, Sam, Marisol, Enrique everyone used your name and was so friendly. Never saw the chef but big props as the food from breakfast to each nights 5 course degustation (different every night) was just terrific. The food was superb, so much so I tapped out one night and just asked for a burger (no problem, a great burger appeared along with my wife's 5 course degustation menu...) The drinks and chat each night at 6pm was fun and a great way to chat with other guests and staff. High end price but worth every $$ imho....
        Staff made super recommendations on the Heli trip and Dart river Jet,(both pickup from the lawn). Very impressed. We stayed for 4 nights and loved every one of them. Weather helped and was amazing but even if it was not we would have loved just a sit in the great room. Wife and I both had massages (Yumi) was also excellent. All in all nothing I could fault. Thanks for making our joint 50th BDay trip one to remember.

        Room tip: We had a regular lodge room facing the lake - perfect.
        Date of stay: May 2021
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank russellp837
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 4 May 2021

        I can't compliment our stay here enough. Spectacular location with beautiful accommodation, exceptional service and delicious meals. You're truly made to feel special when you stay here. We've haven't been able to wipe the smiles from our faces since leaving. Blanket Bay is worth every cent.

        Date of stay: May 2021
          • Value
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank DPiper76
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

        Stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived, the service was exceptional, as was the ambience and the food.
        We stayed in a room facing the lake on the second floor. The room was large with a nice seating area as well as an outdoor patio with sun loungers. The bathroom had a full size bath as well as a separate shower and two basins. My husband is a wheelchair user but we chose to stay in a standard room facing the lake rather then the disabled access room which faces towards the mountains at the back.
        The Games Room was a nice place to relax and spend some time - loads of choices including shuffleboard, pool table and board games; as well as complimentary drinks and snacks!
        The food was exceptional - canapés, 5 course dinner and breakfast are included each night. We certainly didn’t need any lunch!
        The staff are what really make this place outstanding - every single person introduced themselves and remembered our names, they went out of their way to cater to our every need.
        The whole experience was sublime - we would certainly love to come back.

        Date of stay: April 2021
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank Megan M
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews