We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Douglas F
Whakatāne, New Zealand

Unbeatable view

Review of EcoScapes
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Sept 2022
This was our third stay at Ecoscapes - the first in winter. The units aregreat with an amazing tranquil view that changes with the weather. We were 2 couples (the only guests) and as the restaurant was closed for dinner our hosts insisted on us eating our meal in our rooms on our knees. Last time we were at least allowed to eat around a table together in the empty restaurant - a small compromise which would have made a big difference to our stay. Disappointing!
Date of stay: August 2022
Room Tip: The front Ecoscape room as way better than the back one.u
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$250
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $250
  • Hotels.com
    $250
  • Vio.com
    $250
0.1 km from EcoScapes
Free parking
Restaurant
$815
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $815
  • Expedia.com
    $815
  • Hotels.com
    $815
3.3 km from EcoScapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,050
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,050
  • Priceline
    $1,050
  • Expedia.com
    $1,050
2.7 km from EcoScapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
$398
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
    3.0 km from EcoScapes
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    $2,100
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
      $2,100
    • Priceline
      $2,100
    • Expedia.com
      $2,100
    4.1 km from EcoScapes
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $595
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $595
    • Expedia.com
      $595
    • Hotels.com
      $595
    0.0 km from EcoScapes
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $2,824
    Fully refundable
    Go to your Happy Price
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    30.3 km from EcoScapes
    Free parking
    The Superior River View Suite at the Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
    $244
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $244
    • Agoda.com
      $197
    • Hotels.com
      $244
    30.4 km from EcoScapes
    Free parking
    Pool
    Strike Bowl
    $227
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $207
    • Agoda.com
      $174
    • Expedia.com
      $225
    30.4 km from EcoScapes
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    $215
    Fully refundable
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Official Site
      $203
    30.4 km from EcoScapes
    View more hotels in Glenorchy
    Reviews (59)
    Filter reviews
    59 results
    Traveller rating
    52
    4
    3
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    52
    4
    3
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews beautiful breakfast projector screen stunning views special location dietary requirements comfortable stay beautiful spot everyday life kinloch lodge hot tub spa pool course dinner next morning netflix blind cabin toni
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    9 - 14 of 59 reviews
    Reviewed 5 July 2022 via mobile

    Couldn't have had a better experience, worth every cent! Toni is a fabulous host and cook, we had the most delicious hearty 3 course dinner and breakfast in the morning was divine. 10/10 recommend, we can't wait to come back! It's absolute paradise! Support local and book your night away with these guys!

    Room tip: Bring sandfly repellent!!
    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Flyer40262061891
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 March 2022

    Toni and John looked after us from the first call to book through to the exit. Nothing was too difficult to manage. We had the most amazing vegan food delivered to our room, a beautiful breakfast made with vegan yoghurt.

    The view was awesome, we lay in bed and relaxed, didn’t need TV the view constantly changing sky and the views of the river delta changing throughout the day into dusk were spectacular. This place is a hidden gem and if you are pausing thinking about booking. Book it!

    Truely grateful for the opportunity to experience this wonderful place and the humble beautiful owners and hospitality we experienced.

    Date of stay: March 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank janinvanleeuwen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 March 2022

    We stayed in an ecocabin for 2 nights. What wonderful facilities for a relaxing weekend away. Couldn't fault the cabin or the staff at the Lodge. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away from the stresses of every day life.

    Date of stay: March 2022
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank juliehM1449LG
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 February 2022

    My husband and I stayed in an ecocabin on our wedding night (we booked the rest of our small wedding group in the Heritage lodge and had dinner in the restaurant). The staff were super friendly and helpful in accommadating all our needs. It was a stunning loaction and made our day super easy and memorable. The EcoScape was amazing, would highly recommend. It was extremely clean.
    I would highly recommend staying here and we will definately come back again!

    Date of stay: February 2022
    Thank 412gillm
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Toni Glover, Owner at EcoScapes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2022

    Thank you so much for your lovely review Gill, we're very happy you came to stay and celebrate with us and look forward to you returning!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 February 2022

    We stayed here for one night in the Ecoscape cabin and absolutely loved it. We arrived late, after a long days walking, and Toni and John were great, accommodating this and serving up some amazing venison. The food is really good and being able to eat it on our cabin's terrace and drink in the evening view over the lake and mountains, followed by a dip in the hot tub, was a perfect way to finish the day and relax. The cabins are perfect - simple, efficient , cosy, very well presented and everything you need. Love the single large window at the end of the bed - forget closing the blind at night, keep it open and look out over the lake, mountains and skies throughout the night and watch them change! Its worth going there for that alone!! A big thank you to Toni and John for sharing this special location with us.

    Room tip: Go for the Ecoscapes - more expensive, but thoroughly worth it and Mohua has un-interrupted views
    Date of stay: January 2022
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Zebby_of_London
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Toni Glover, Owner at EcoScapes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2022

    Thank you for your lovely review, we love when people enjoy our special part of the world

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews