We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
3
15
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
15
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here for one night the bus timetable station bed breakfast japanese
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017

OK, they have some sign on arrival but only in Japanese. We arrived by car and left it overnight to nearest parking - not run by hotel, but still... Reception staff could have told that nearest parking is horrible expensive, 60% of the room rate.
Room was standard, clean and working with very 1970s-style shower. Rather warm, 24,5 centigrades.
We had booked only room and breakfast prices and times were unclear.
Location by station, on weekend most servces were closed.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
フロントデスク, 準社員 at APA Hotel Yamagata Tsuruoka Ekimae, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you very much for staying with APA Hotel YAMAGATA TSURUOKA-EKIMAE.
And thank you again for the valuable comments.
The comments we receive will be shared inside our hotel and used as our important references.
We are looking forward to seeing you next time.
APA Hotel YAMAGATA TSURUOKA-EKIMAE SATO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel was lovely, everything you could need in a room, clean and the entrance lobby was very nicely decorated. Rooms were quite small (by English standards, by Japanese standards they were about average) and the bed was a full size double bed (which is nice - unless you book 'large double' they are usually smaller than UK beds!)
Breakfast was nice, a good range of Japanese style foods and tea/coffee. I don't think I'll ever get used to having fish for breakfast though!
It loses a star because the room was absolutely boiling - we were on the 6th floor so our window only opened a fraction and the air conditioning seemed to blast hot air even if we put it on a colder setting.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
圭将 田, フロント at APA Hotel Yamagata Tsuruoka Ekimae, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you very much for staying at APA Hotel 【Yamagata Tsuruoka Ekimae station】 this time.
We received compliments such as hotel lobby and all the staff are thrilled.
However, we are sorry for the inconvenience that it was very hot for air conditioning in the room.
Our hotel's air-conditioning system is central management of the entire facility building.
Therefore, in winter, it is setting only for heating.
It is thought that this is why it did not become a cooling operation even if the temperature setting was lowered.
From now on, we will make a detailed contact confirmation with the hotel side with the building management and we will respond promptly so that we can take a good rest for our customers.

We will continue to strive towards a better hotel while reflecting and incorporating customer opinions and voices.
Thank you for your precious opinion while I was busy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

This hotel is one minute's walk from Tsuruoka station, which was very important given we arrived in freezing cold weather with a strong icy wind! The hotel itself was very warm inside, and the staff were very helpful. They spoke some English and when we asked about how to reach Dainichibo temple from Tsuruoka they printed out the bus timetable from station bus stop 2 and showed us exactly which bus to take and which stop to get off (Oami) given the schedule was all in Japanese. They also printed a map of Oami for us! This was very useful given there are minimal signs in English at the station for this bus and the tourist information centre was closed until 9.30am the following morning. They also upgraded us to a larger twin room, which was more spacious and comfortable. While Tsuruoka itself seems a bit of a sad town (or perhaps that was just our impression, given the bad weather!) the APA staff were warm and kind! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
宿泊 A, フロント at APA Hotel Yamagata Tsuruoka Ekimae, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you very much for staying with APA Hotel YAMAGATA TSURUOKA-EKIMAE.
What a great feedback we have received here, thank you so much for valuable comment.
We are extremely happy to hear that you have a good time at our hotel.
We hope you have nice trip in Japan this time.
We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with another stay.
              APA Hotel YAMAGATA TSURUOKA-EKIMAE SAITO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The hotel is directly in front of the Tsuruoka Station (JR) and within close proximity to S-Mall. I only stayed here for one night as my main goal was to visit Kamo Aquarium.

The hotel was close to a main stop for buses, which made it easy to get around the city, especially to the aquarium too. I suggest getting a day pass as it's cheaper.

Some pros about the hotel is the size of the room and it's facilities. I booked a single room but got given a twin which is more than enough for a solo traveler. Bed was comfy, TV was big, there was a kettle as well for tea. Although there weren't that many outlets for charging (phones/PCs etc...) there was an extension cord which was very convenient.

Some cons, the shower water gets weaker and weaker if the nobs are not turned far enough (quite far). You'll notice this as you wait for the hot water to arrive (it decreases to a small dribble from the shower head). Walls were pretty thin, I could hear all the going-ons in the room next door (I couldn't sleep until later)

Apart from that, it was a pleasant stay. Staff were friendly and patient with my broken Japanese. Around the corner (in the same building) is also a souvenir shop to buy last minute gifts for home.

There is also a tourist information office attached to the station.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
宿泊 A, フロント オフィス マネージャー at APA Hotel Yamagata Tsuruoka Ekimae, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Thank you to stay.
Also please have stayed if there is an opportunity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews