We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most fabulous, romantic weekend retreat!”
Badger Set, Luxury Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badger Set, Luxury Lodge
Large 4 person hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Badger Set, Luxury Lodge
Large 4 person hot tub
King size chunky bed
Trendy wet room
The Lodges
Dinner Party
Breakfast
One of the many lovely shots of the lake
View from the bank closest to the lodges
One of our glorious sunsets
Morning mist
Another beautiful season
Tranquil lake side shot
A cold day, quickly return to the log burner
Sunset over the Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
March, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SandraFul...
Rushden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The most fabulous, romantic weekend retreat!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend and it was amazing. Such a beautiful place, friendly and fantastic value for money. The lodges are so well decorated and the added bonus of a hot tub made it an incredible 3 days. Will be booking again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Thank you for a lovely review, we are glad you had a great time, and look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denisemel...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Relax in Luxury”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break with my husband. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Charlie who is so friendly and explained everything that we needed to know. The lodge is gorgeous and has a real cosy feel and you can't help but relax. The hot tub was the icing on the cake at the end of the day of sightseeing or just walking. if you are looking for tranquility and lovely scenery then look no further than the Badgers Set .....I guarantee you won't be disappointed. A must is a visit to Ely and Cambridge to see the colleges. Thank you once again we hope to come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review and to also recommend what there is to do in the area, I hope that other guests take your advice, Ely is a lovely small city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubiaxxx
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely and Relaxing”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back yesterday from Badger set Lodge. I can only say we absolutely loved it. Went with my partner and our two dogs with the idea of relaxing and fishing and it was perfect for both.

SETTING
The whole area is countryside and set out lovely. We went on a bank holiday weekend and the campsite was busy with caravans and tents but the lodges were in a section on their own, a little set back from everybody else and it was so quiet, we never felt crowded or heard noise from anybody else. The lodges are not overlooking the lake (you can see the bank from the side windows) but badgerset is the nearest to the lake (30 seconds if that) set to the side of the lake. The lodges are surrounded by green but I do believe they will be building some more soon but that should still leave lots of space.

DOGS!
We took our 2 labradores who are extremely well behaved but all around the lakes and the park all dogs had to be on the lead. This is fair enough as many people who are not fishing do walk around the lakes with their dogs and if they were not on the lead this could lead to mayhem. Our dogs were happy to sit under the shade and watch us fish but if you dogs are not calm like this it could be a problem. There is a lovely fen walk 2 minutes from the site where we could let them off the lead to let off steam and you could walk for miles. The lodges could benefit from a small enclosed garden .

The Lodge.
Beautifully clean when we arrived and lovely set out. The kitchen has everything you could need and the whole lodge still has the "new" feeling. Lovely furniture. There is a log burner and a flat screen TV, though BBC channels were not available for some reason ! We didn't really watch the TV so not a problem. There are leather sofas and chunky wooden furniture. Really nice windows and large doors leading to the veranda. Lots of light into the open plan living/kitchen area. The veranda has a lovely hot tub , the lighting on the veranda is perfect in the evening and we had a lovely meal out there on the terrace table and chairs. There is also a gate to the veranda that is ideal when the dogs are on there. The veranda is quite spacey and perfect to sit and watch the sun go down. The bathroom was lovely with a wet room shower that was perfect. The towels that they supplied were clean and fluffy and there is carpet in the bedroom. Bed and pillows comfy and wardrobe with plenty of hangers and a hoover and sponge mop hidden in there.There is a dishwasher in the kitchen and the fridge was perfectly adequate for all of our food.

FISHING AND OTHER RESIDENTS
The fishing was great here though I myself only caught a few everyone around me were catching lots, I saw 18lb Mirror carp and some others, Mine wernt that big! Still had fun though and it was the first time I had been fishing since I was a little girl, I will say I have the "bug" back and will be fishing as often as I can now. The other people fishing were lovely, chatty and friendly and We had such a good time. It was relaxing and when we checked out of our lodge we carried on fishing for the day (our neighbors in the next lodge made us teas and coffees all day, Thanks if you are reading this! Very appreciated) The 2 lakes were beautiful and even to walk around were lovely, especially when we had sun.

STAFF
Brilliant staff, from when we got there til when we left we were made so welcome. Charlie is lovely and his wife makes wonderful brownies that I wish I had got the recipe for,These are put as a welcome along with wine in the lodges. The lady and her husband (sorry never got the name) who are in the shop/reception are so nice and recommended the chinese meal that we had the first night that was lovely (they deliver to the park). The is a little shop in reception where they sell fishing supplies and milk and ice cream etc. The staff are all so approachable and are always on hand should you need advice etc.

So, did we have a good time? Yes we did and we will be back. I like my luxury and comfort and this place pleased me, I was relaxed and didn't have to worry about doing my hair,make-up clothes etc which I usually have to do in my job!
We both enjoyed the fishing and we wished we could have stayed longer.
The lodge is perfectly equipped for cooking a good meal and would be really cosy in the winter .Mmmm now that's made me think, must check availability!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy,cleanliness and position.
Liked least: No private garden to lodge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the excellent review, it has taken me a about 5 minutes to read it, so I am guessing much longer to write it. We are so pleased, you had a great time and we really look forward to your return. Best wishes from the team at Fields End Water.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAspina...
Oldham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat! !”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a great 4 day break at Fields End Water. We stayed in the lovely Badger Set. Everything about it was perfect...clean, tastefully furnished and a beautiful location. The staff are lovely and helpful and the lodge itself was great....especially the hot tub. I would highly recommend anyone to visit and stay in the lodges and we will definitely be returning in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you here too. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellro
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Completely chilled out - highly recommend”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Me & my wife stayed at the Badger Set Lodge at Fields End Water last weekend and really wish we had stayed for longer.

The lodge was perfect and everything you could want was provided. The lodge was clean, well presented and very homely from the moment you step on the porch. The owners were friendly and helpful from the moment of check-in and left you to get on with enjoying yourself at this fab place.

The lodge is south facing with fantastic views of the sunset made even better to watch with a glass of bubbly from the hottub!

There are 3 lodges set side by side but enough distance away from each other so there was no issues with noise or privacy. There are 2 fishing lakes to take a stroll around and a little woodland area, a small town a couple of miles away and other places within reach to go visit - we went to Ely which was pleasant and a wash with morris dancers - but don't let that put you off! There is a little shop onsite or a Co-Op within 5 miles - Tesco's superstore within 7 miles at March.

We went with one purpose - to do nothing and completely chill out - and that is exactly what we got. We would highly recommend this lodge and will certainly return.

Only thing was you had to pay for the wifi - as it was I wanted to keep away from the office so didn't use it but for lodges this might be something that could be included - although it wasn't that expensive.

Many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxation of the property
Liked least: 10am check out - felt slightly rushed on departure but understandable to turn property round for next guests
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to write one. We are very pleased that you had a great time, sorry about the wi-fi. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing