We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gatehouse

The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings
The dining area in the living room
The open-plan kitchen is well-equipped with dishwasher
The large double bedroom overlooks the private garden
Another view of the double bedroom
The triple bedroom has a single bed and bunks
The bathroom with WC, hand-basin and bath (shower above)
The Gatehouse from the courtyard
Decking in private enclosed garden  with picnic table
The wildlife pond has lots of frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
The play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including wild ponies, goats, deer and birds of prey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colette E
Gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Loved it”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

As a family with children (aged 14, 11 and 2), we loved our stay at the cottage. It was clean, tidy and very accommodating - definitely a home from home.

I would definitely recommend a visit to the local pub (delicious food and very friendly staff) and a visit to the local shop (again, really friendly staff).

Apart from the gorgeous walks all around, there isn't a huge amount to do in the immediate vicinity. However, the location of the cottage is very central and everything is very reachable by car.

Whilst my "teenagers" struggled not having the full capacity of their phones, I loved being able to get away from it all! Bliss! Thank goodness for the Wi-Fi - the kids just about survived it.

Not a single bad thing to say about the property. Didn't meet the owners but they had left loads of really useful information handy on the dining table. Also, a lovely idea to leave some essentials such as tea, coffee, milk and toilet roll!

Will definitely be making a return visit - ideally in the spring/summer time.

Thanks for really lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The dishwasher didn't work! Such a tiny thing though - barely worth mentioning!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you and your family 'loved it'.

We are sorry that we did not get to meet you - we usually try to meet each guest personally.
The dishwasher has been fixed - we apologise for any inconvenience.

Exmoor really is beautiful all year round, we hope that you manage another visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, comfortable
Liked least: Chilly first night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay - the weather certainly has been interesting!
We are sorry that your cottage was a bit chilly on your first night - we try to have all the heaters on for at least one day before guests arrive but sometimes previous guests turn the night storage off. We are glad that you soon got the fire going.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jo D
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

16th Sept - 20th Sept 2013
This is our second stay at Gatehouse Cottage and it is absolutely lovely, well equipped and cosy, lovely wood burner with free logs. Excellent base to explore North Devon with lovely village shop and Pub which does excellent food. The owner John and Melanie are really helpful and friendly and most importantly they allow our dogs to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2013
Thank you for your good review - we look forward to welcoming you again, and your dogs of course!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Cornwall, England
1 review
“Secluded cottage getaway”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I have stayed several times at Town Tenement Farm, in both the Gatehouse and Inglenook Cottages, with our two dogs. We always enjoy our stay and are due to visit again shortly. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable, John & Melanie are lovely hosts. We have come to know the area around and find it a good base to explore Exmoor. There is no mobile phone signal and we have not had wifi access whilst staying so it is a real getaway from our busy working lives. Would highly recommend and very much looking forward to our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

We have now got WiFi (but you don't have to connect to it if you don't want to ;-) )

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, quiet and get away from it all holiday”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have stayed at Town Tennent Farm on many occasions and now twice at the Gatehouse. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable with plenty of space for 4/5 people. It has very good facilities in the cottage to make it home from home. The cottages are situated in a great location, close to a lovely pub that serves great food and beer. Next door to the pub is a local shop where you can get all your necessities like bacon and eggs for breakfast. Melanie and John are lovely hosts and are very accommodating at all times, nothing is to much for them to make your stay even more enjoyable. This is a must place if you want to explore the North Devon countryside and beaches, we love it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Gatehouse, we are glad that you enjoy your 'home from home' and look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing