We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hannover9600
Sydney, Australia

A good location for adjacent towns and attractions

Review of Lumsden Motel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jun 2019
This is an older style motel. The proprietor was very nice. The room was comfortable, has a small kitchenette and an ensuite. It is conveniently located for other activities eg cycling around the lakes and travelling on one day excursions eg Kingston for looking at old railway, going around the lake to Queenstown or to Te Anau.
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Bedroom
Booking.com
$110
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $110
  • Agoda.com
29.3 km from Lumsden Motel
Booking.com
$119
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $119
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
35.5 km from Lumsden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$130
  • Agoda.com
45.8 km from Lumsden Motel
Booking.com
$185
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
46.3 km from Lumsden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
46.3 km from Lumsden Motel
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$91
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $99
  • Vio.com
    $99
  • eDreams
    $91
49.6 km from Lumsden Motel
Free parking
Croydon Lodge Hotel Gore
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $172
  • Expedia.com
    $180
54.1 km from Lumsden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $155
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $158
54.6 km from Lumsden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$200
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
55.1 km from Lumsden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$171
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $171
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $176
55.2 km from Lumsden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lumsden
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
5
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
1
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2019 via mobile

Stayed here over Easter on our way from Te Anau to Glenorchy. Great motel, we had a family room which had 2 bedrooms and spacious lounge, full kitchen facilities with a four square across the road. A couple of nice bars in the town too for a meal if you don’t want to cook. I left my book and Tracy kindly posted it back to me.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 468vickyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2019

Stayed here for 2 nights, we were very pleased with the accommodation, clean and comfortable and well appointed kitchen - even had a teapot essential for me!! Lumsden is quiet but found good food at the Hotel. Well placed for a visit to Te Anau and Manapouri

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Stayed here two nights during a fly-fishing excursion and was very happy! The room was appointed nicely, spotless, and well-stocked with all dishes and appliances one could need. As mentioned, there is also a laundry facility. It is an easy walk from the motel to restaurants and grocery store. The owners were friendly and very nice. Special thanks to Tracey for your assistance!!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marinco2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We chose to stay at the Lumsden motel as we had three days left on our trip and wanted to stay in one location, yet visit both Milford Sound and Queenstown. Lumsden Motel was reasonably priced and one of the few options afforded us. It was clean and tidy and centrally located in Lumsden (a very small town). It included heaters to ward off the cold and a decent wee kitchen for cooking meals, dining table and couches. The TV was old and we did not use it. The shower pressure was low, but everything worked and was clean. The wifi internet while free was slow and sometimes cut out. The only downside was the contractors staying in the adjacent room made a lot of noise when they left early in the morning and voices could be heard outside the unit late at night. Sound proofing was not fantastic. While there are not many choices in Lumsden this motel is adequate as a place to stay and would still recommend, though B&B's may be a better option in the wider region for travellers like us.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank APTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here when travelling from Stewart Island to Queenstown. A spotless, warm and roomy motel unit - ideal for an overnight stay or longer. Close to pub, supermarket and café. A friendly welcome by the owners. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Edwina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews