We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little place to eat in the Southland”
Review of The Bafe - CLOSED

The Bafe
Description: All goods baked fresh on site daily. Delicious cream donuts, home-made pies and wholesome sandwiches made with our own fresh breads.
Restaurant details
Description: All goods baked fresh on site daily. Delicious cream donuts, home-made pies and wholesome sandwiches made with our own fresh breads.
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We were charmed with the bakery/cafe in the town of Lumsden. Chris and Judy and pure New Zealand--welcoming, entertaining and excellent at their craft. When we return to NZ, we will definitely come back to the Bafe for the donuts, for sure, and pies, bread and apple dessert. Lumsden is lucky to have this memorable local restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2012
1  Thank Fish-Catchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 97 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

The Bafe is a cool little cafe/bakery in the town of Lumsden.
All the food is baked on the premises and the couple that run the place, Judy and Chris are always very cheerful and welcoming.

The doughnuts in this place are just amazing, once you try one you're just going to want more.

They do coffee, great sandwiches, also pies, toasties, the usual. Oh and fresh baked bread if you get there early enough!!

The walls of the Bafe have been decorating with lovely comments from customers so if you love what you eat there then you can grab a pen and write on the wall about it.

Will keep going back to this place because I love it.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markandsharonford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2016
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris Judy P, Public Relations Manager at The Bafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Bafe also viewed

Lumsden, Southland Region
Lumsden, Southland Region
 
Mossburn, Southland Region
Mossburn, Southland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.