We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down to earth but very good”

Roasted X Toasted by ROAR Coffee
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Lumsden
Price range: $3 - $18
Description: One of Lumsden’s oldest buildings fully refurbished to become the new home and HQ of ROAR Coffee Roasters. Serving ‘roasted’ coffee and epic ‘toasted’ sandwiches along side the roastery. Casual, cosy and comfortable. Stay a moment, stay a while. Special, Not Specialty! Also selling quirky fun and yummy NZ and locally made goodness, see you there!
Restaurant details
Description: One of Lumsden’s oldest buildings fully refurbished to become the new home and HQ of ROAR Coffee Roasters. Serving ‘roasted’ coffee and epic ‘toasted’ sandwiches along side the roastery. Casual, cosy and comfortable. Stay a moment, stay a while. Special, Not Specialty! Also selling quirky fun and yummy NZ and locally made goodness, see you there!
Reviewed 17 April 2024

Very popular stop off for coffee and snacks. Only had a coffee and sat at a table already occupied by a motorbike rider. He chatted and gave us lots of information about places to see and things to do on our travels. Really nice guy - having a breakfast that looked really good! Recommend this place - but it's very busy - coffee is excellent as they seem to be also roasters and suppliers of beans

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2024

The carrot cake was hard and dry, nasty, harder and dryer than the carrot cake at Coffee Bomb, Garston. Otago / Southland needs to sort out its carrot cakes - should be moist. A matter of National concern.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Go63498193537
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

The food, drinks and service here is awesome. Also some gorgeous local foodie stuff for sale, great gifts. Defo work a stop here.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Roving66205501920
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Little Gem of a café/brunch spot in Lumsden. We had a delicious flat white each and two toasties. Five stars. Lumsden has been an unexpected delight on our travels around New Zealand and we would recommend that anyone who can (especially those staying at the adjacent freedom camp spot) try out this gorgeous cafe and support the local community.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emmeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2024

This was such a lovely cosy spot to come across in Lumsden. We stayed at the campsite right by ROAR while we were doing a trip down to the Milford Sound.

The coffee and hot choc we had was great, the jam doughnut I tried was delicious and the selection of artisan products being sold here was very cool. We came back the next day because we liked it so much!

It’s well worth trying one of the pretzels too! I had mine with pesto, a great combination.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Georgie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelly Taylor, Owner at Roasted X Toasted by ROAR Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

Thank you so much xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roasted X Toasted by ROAR Coffee also viewed

Lumsden, Southland Region
Lumsden, Southland Region
 

Been to Roasted X Toasted by ROAR Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.