We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
13
15
9
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
15
9
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2023 via mobile

After a long old 13hr shift myself and my colleagues stopped by the Lumsden Hotel for food as it was the only place open. It was busy and we ordered food immediately. 55 starving minutes later we asked what the eta on the food was. There was a cranky couple stood next to us at the bar absolutely furious that they had been waiting 1.5hrs for their food for a party of 10 and it still hadn’t arrived. They had already decided to leave, hungry. With little to no sympathy from the staff we also got a refund and headed home where a jar of peanut butter and some riveted anxiously waited for us.

Will not be returning.

Room tip: Don’t go
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jackslater92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2023 via mobile

Hi there everybody

Never judge a book by it cover

We arrived at the Lumsden hotel it looks a bit rough at first

However upon entry that changed

The helpful staff and owners is second to none they are friendly approachable and no barriers what so ever

We take our hat off to the owners for giving it a go

They have three children and running pub which in it self is amazing

For all those people with kids would totally understand

The dinner was 8!out of 10 and and to be honest showed up some places that we would of expected more of

If you are after speedy service this is not the place but that is more than covered by the quality of what you receive when placed in front of you

For all you aussies battlers out there give the Lumsden a go you will not be disappointed

Once again I take my hat off to these guys for having a go

Signing off the travelling Toby’s

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank the_travelling_tobys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2021 via mobile

Super delicious food !!!

We ordered pizza, fish burger and chicken teriyaki wings.. All 3 items were yummy with the wings were simply heavenly…

Rooms beauuuuutiful & aesthetically decorated…Spacious with positive vibe in every corner.

Highly
Recommended

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Preeti222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2020

We stopped on our way to Invercargill for some lunch and a cheeky pint pizzas were homemade and absolutely beautiful fully recommend if your passing through nice old pub with friendly staff will definitely come back 🙂

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 71jordanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2020

Stopped here in early February following the huge rain storm that closed the Milford road. Staff helpful under pressure, food good and huge. Tasty tender steak and chips and camper vans can park opposite

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews