We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Alan toby
Newcastle, Australia

Travelling Toby’s stay at the Lumsden hotel

Review of Lumsden Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Feb 2023via mobile
Hi there everybody

Never judge a book by it cover

We arrived at the Lumsden hotel it looks a bit rough at first

However upon entry that changed

The helpful staff and owners is second to none they are friendly approachable and no barriers what so ever

We take our hat off to the owners for giving it a go

They have three children and running pub which in it self is amazing

For all those people with kids would totally understand

The dinner was 8!out of 10 and and to be honest showed up some places that we would of expected more of

If you are after speedy service this is not the place but that is more than covered by the quality of what you receive when placed in front of you

For all you aussies battlers out there give the Lumsden a go you will not be disappointed

Once again I take my hat off to these guys for having a go

Signing off the travelling Toby’s
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Lumsden Hotel
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Agoda.com
52.3 km from Lumsden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Croydon Lodge Hotel Gore
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $192
  • eDreams
54.3 km from Lumsden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • eDreams
55.4 km from Lumsden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Apartment
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $270
  • eDreams
55.6 km from Lumsden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
64.4 km from Lumsden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
62.7 km from Lumsden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
67.2 km from Lumsden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
66.7 km from Lumsden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
66.5 km from Lumsden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lumsden
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
13
15
9
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
15
9
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2021 via mobile

Super delicious food !!!

We ordered pizza, fish burger and chicken teriyaki wings.. All 3 items were yummy with the wings were simply heavenly…

Rooms beauuuuutiful & aesthetically decorated…Spacious with positive vibe in every corner.

Highly
Recommended

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Preeti222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2020

We stopped on our way to Invercargill for some lunch and a cheeky pint pizzas were homemade and absolutely beautiful fully recommend if your passing through nice old pub with friendly staff will definitely come back 🙂

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 71jordanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2020

Stopped here in early February following the huge rain storm that closed the Milford road. Staff helpful under pressure, food good and huge. Tasty tender steak and chips and camper vans can park opposite

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2020

We had booked 2 rooms both en-suite. At the time of booking there was no mention of an event for this particular night and we were not told about it,
We had to find someone when we arrived and were told that our keys were in the rooms so were unlocked.
The rooms were clean but untidy with appliances on the main drawer units. There were complimentary tea and coffee crammed into a small jar. Considering the size of the rooms and the use of microwave, toaster and kettle it seemed strange that we couldn’t open a window and keep it open for ventilation.
We discovered very quickly that there was live music as the room vibrated with every drum beat. We had dinner at the hotel and the food was good, the band was good and seemed to finish about 9.30 which was great as we had an early start the next day unfortunately the band started up again and continued until 3am !!
Overall it was a warm uncomfortable night without much sleep.
We stayed in a few hotels during our road trip and this one was one of the most expensive and least enjoyable.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2019 via mobile

We booked the en-suite room 9 which was comfortable and mostly clean. We had our own bath and shower with a view of the free campers across the road in the town park with the Railway cars. We were able to park our bikes in back of the pub and check in early which was nice. Had a delicious pizza in the hotel for dinner, with hand made dough and sauce. Service was good here, if somewhat disjointed. The only issue we had was noise from the trucks on the road at night as the hotel is right near a corner of two main highways. We would not want to stay on the nights the pub had events or bands, as it would be noisier, but we certainly found the hotel met our requirements and was a good stop over on the Around the Mountains Cycle Trail.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 501gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews