We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
13
15
9
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
15
9
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2020

We had booked 2 rooms both en-suite. At the time of booking there was no mention of an event for this particular night and we were not told about it,
We had to find someone when we arrived and were told that our keys were in the rooms so were unlocked.
The rooms were clean but untidy with appliances on the main drawer units. There were complimentary tea and coffee crammed into a small jar. Considering the size of the rooms and the use of microwave, toaster and kettle it seemed strange that we couldn’t open a window and keep it open for ventilation.
We discovered very quickly that there was live music as the room vibrated with every drum beat. We had dinner at the hotel and the food was good, the band was good and seemed to finish about 9.30 which was great as we had an early start the next day unfortunately the band started up again and continued until 3am !!
Overall it was a warm uncomfortable night without much sleep.
We stayed in a few hotels during our road trip and this one was one of the most expensive and least enjoyable.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2019 via mobile

We booked the en-suite room 9 which was comfortable and mostly clean. We had our own bath and shower with a view of the free campers across the road in the town park with the Railway cars. We were able to park our bikes in back of the pub and check in early which was nice. Had a delicious pizza in the hotel for dinner, with hand made dough and sauce. Service was good here, if somewhat disjointed. The only issue we had was noise from the trucks on the road at night as the hotel is right near a corner of two main highways. We would not want to stay on the nights the pub had events or bands, as it would be noisier, but we certainly found the hotel met our requirements and was a good stop over on the Around the Mountains Cycle Trail.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 501gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2019 via mobile

As this is one of the oldest Hotels around built in 1875 we thought we'd book in. The building is old but comfortable and clean with shared bathrooms.
The staff are friendly and helpful. Plus looks like they do live bands sometimes and do get a few people for the meals. We stayed for a drink and I enjoyed my Beef Cheeks with mashed potato and salad.
Had a walk around the town as Hotel on the Main Road.
Found an outside laundromat which has
recently just been built and noticed this is
the town to stop at if freedom camping.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 855karenb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

I have been fortunate enough to have eaten in a lot of high quality restaurants and the one at the Lumsden hotel, The Pot Stock and Barrel, compared fabulously. If you want a stop over or a location that gives you central access to Queenstown, Te Anau, fishing, hiking or relaxing in this town supported by fine dining or regular pub food... What a place. They even have music nights at the pub, which is an eclectic mix of professional musicians and talented visitors from the freedom camping across the road. .. Good Times and thoroughly recommend

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Moncriefscottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2019

Stayed here for roughly a week, super friendly atmosphere, amazing food - definitely recommend the homemade pizzas! Super comfy beds with everything you need inside (TV, heater, coffee and breakfast food). Would recommend to stay here if you are passing through. 5 stars

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Joeclayton95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews