We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
31
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
31
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2019

We had a wonderful stay at Five Rivers Retreat on March 16th and 17th, 2019. Paula and Roger are an amazing couple, and the accommodation and hospitality were beyond our wildest expectations. We were warmly welcomed and after dropping our bags in our immaculate and beautifully appointed room we were ushered into the cosy lounge room where Paula lit a wood fire and supplied us with a glass of wine and cheese platter. The gardens and surroundings were just magic. Every morning, Paula set out an amazing breakfast with everything you could possibly want on the table.
I couldn't recommend this place more highly. Leonie Ganivet

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Departure492747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

Paula & Roger were so warm and welcoming; we all felt at home.
Roger showed us around the paddocks and let us watch the sheep shearing and see the dogs work the sheep.
Paula is a fantastic cook and knows all the best places to visit. She prepared the most delicious roast lamb with mint sauce and roasted vegetables, complete with a glass of wine and finished with fruit cobbler and warm custard. Each morning started with lovely breakfast and helping us plan our day.
We enjoyed it immensely and it was difficult to leave.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 1026jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Arrived here after a 90km ride on one of the hottest days in Southland and found a perfect place for the night. Lovely decorated room, large ensuite and wonderful hosts.
Not to mention the home-cooked dinner as well as the hearty breakfast Paula prepared for us. We definitely felt more than welcome and would surely stay again when next time in Southland.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TouringCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Paula, Roger and their charming daughter Ruby were the perfect hosts in their very comfortable b & b. We ate dinner there 2 nights and Paula is a fabulous cook. We particularly liked the lamb roast, which we ate with the 3 of them. Our room was spacious and comfortable and there's a lovely common area for guests, complete with a complimentary refrigerator that has beer, wine and other drinks. We particularly enjoyed talking to them about their farm life and we thoroughly enjoyed a demonstration of their dogs with the sheep and explanation of how the farm operates in raising sheep, deer and cattle. We'd definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wearetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Our recent 2 day stay at Five Rivers Retreat was a blissful, relaxing time enjoying the very best of country life. Staying on a working sheep farm in luxurious accommodation with scenic views and enjoying superb hospitality was a very special experience. Paula and Roger were excellent hosts who went out of their way to ensure we had the best experience possible. Paula is a fabulous cook providing sumptuous breakfasts of homemade jams, cooked fruits, homemade muesli, fresh eggs etc and the evening meal was a gourmet dining experience. Our room was very comfortable with lovely decor and we also enjoyed the use of the very elegant guest lounge area. Whilst my husband enjoyed fly fishing several of the world renowned fly fishing rivers in the area I enjoyed walks and participating in activities on the farm, watching Roger and the dogs working with the sheep.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MoyraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews