We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent friendly and relaxed accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
The stables, a charming 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Normandy France, perfect for all of  the family
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stables, a charming 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Normandy France, perfect for all of  the family
The Stables open plan ground floor - kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The stables, a charming 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Normandy France, perfect for all of  the family
The Stables open plan ground floor - kitchen area
The Stables first floor double bedroom
The Stables first floor twin bedroom
View of front garden from The Stables
The Stables first floor family bathroom with bath, washbasin and toilet
The Stables ground floor twin bedroom (with ensuite)
The Stables ground floor twin bedroom ensuite with extra large shower, washbasin and toilet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Villedieu-les-Poeles, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
nikki s
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent friendly and relaxed accomodation”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner and I stayed at The Stables 11th - 18th July and found it to be a lovely clean spacious cottage, with everything you may need, making it home from home.
We found The Stables well positioned for access to the main auto route and also lots of attractions, D Day Beaches, Mont St. Michael and the seaside town of Granville - there were also many other places of interest nearby.

We had a great week there and will definitely be returning next year as a week is not enough to fit everything in.

Paul and Lisa were great hosts and could not of been more helpful.
We would definitely recommend this as a great place for a family holiday.

Thank you Paul and Lisa - we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the home comforts and the relaxed atmosphere together with the views.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danhoo151
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family accommodation.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and I together with a son and his wife and teenage daughter had an excellent week's holiday here at the Stables. With one large bedroom and ensuite on the ground floor and two other bedrooms and bathroom on the first floor, the stables is ideally suited to a three generation family. Owners, Paul and Lisa offered friendly advice on the many local attractions within easy reach: le mont st.michael, Caen, Avranches, and D Day Landing beaches. A car is necessary but we all also enjoyed the walk into villedieu les poeles which has a number of restaurants, shops and is renouned for its interesting copper products. There is a good market there on Tuesday. A great base to explore Normandy. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Separation of bedrooms.
Liked least: Only a bath in upstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahernafe...
Leighton Buzzard
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Child-Friendly Accommodation”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My family and I had a fantastic week in Normandy in August 2014.

The Stable is very comfortable, well-equipped and ideal for a family. The extensive grounds allowed our two young sons to let off steam and the availability of CBeebies and CBBC was a massive bonus when we needed them to calm down again.

Paul and Lisa were extremely welcoming and friendly, while my elder son was particularly taken with Buster the dog.

The property is well placed to cover the best of Manche and Calvados (Bayeux and the D-day beaches were about 1 hour away, while Mont St Michel was about 40 minutes).

Overall I would highly recommend this property and will definitely consider returning soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollins20...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this property, the owners Paul and Lisa are extremely helpful, particularly for us Australians with very little French. The accommodation was everything one could wish for and was very clean, comfortable and it suited our purposes perfectly. Close to a huge range of historic towns which had a lot of interest. Also nice places to go for walks around the area.If we were ever to get to France again we would definitely put this place on our list. I might add that Paul and Lisa went out of their way to help us when we had car problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen2947
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in La Haute Haugue for 10 days in July. It was paradise! The gite had everything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday and was very comfortable. It was in a great location (although a car is essential) with lots to see and do within easy drives. In addition, Paul and Lisa (and the infamous dog Buster) were incredibly welcoming and they really made us welcome and were always on hand for a chat and advice of where to go and what to do. We can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$73
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing